RSS Feed

Custom Made Tray, New Coasters and Vintage Graphic Heaven!

Today was supposed to be another chapter in Spite Crafting with Cheltenham Road.

But, my sisters were visiting this week and it felt like it would kill the vibe (we laugh A LOT when we’re together)…….and also, spite crafting sometimes takes longer than anticipated….

So, emotionally questionable making is postponed – custom crafting to the front of the line!

My friend Bernie Shine of Shine Gallery wanted a vintage matchbook tray.

(and now a momentary plug).

 If you’ve never visited the Shine Gallery site and you’re a lover of all things vintagy you owe it to yourself.  Bernie is a terrific guy and has been collecting for decades.  He has, no exaggeration, thousands of postcards, stickers, matchbooks, posters, patches, signs…. and on and on.  For me it’s vintage graphic heaven and for anyone even marginally interested just touring the site it is a feast of fun images and glimpses of the past!

OK, back to the tray.

Bernie wanted to use actual, old matchbooks from his collection.  I’d never done that before and was a bit worried if it would work but it came out great.

I simply glued the matchbooks in place on a thrift store tray, trimming some and allowing others to overlap – no plan in mind just kinda winging it.

With everything in place I sealed them with three coats of Mod Podge and poured the Envirotex-Lite

It’s hard to see in the pic but the varying levels give it a really nice depth and texture.

It was easy, and I think Bernie was pleased.

Up next a customer who liked my Jet Set Vintage Luggage Tag Drink Coasters asked me to do a few custom ones for her.

I had a blast coming up with the new designs.

And now I have many more to offer customers…

As soon as I do more official pics.

OK, the sisters have returned home and it’s time to return to my true self – petty and spiteful!

Stay tuned!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

8 responses »

  1. I find it amazing that someone actually gets excited about vintage luggage tags, and then I start finding it amazing how each of us gets excited over the oddest things that others think are so dull. Case in point: I love seals, but I have yet to meet another person in the flesh who shares my fascination of big blobby brown sea mammals….Having admitted that, luggage tags don’t seem quite so weird anymore…

    Also, cool matchbook tray.

    Reply
  2. Love the finished product!

    Love your friend’s website, too. I could get into so much trouble.

    When I was a kid, it used to seem like such drudgery to go yard saling and flea marketing, then at a point I liked it, but then I went to college, life, etc… sometimes, I miss it when I see cool stuff like that. I used to have a really good eye for that stuff and wasn’t shy about haggling for a better price. (still have a few boxes of stuff in the basement–Marx doll houses/Wolverine pink kitchen set)

    denise

    Reply
    • “wolverine pink kitchen set?!” I’m picturing Hugh Jackman, claws out, in an apron making a pot roast……..
      I used to really love poking around yard sales and vintage stores in the pre-Ebay world – before everyone decided that every scrap of old stuff was worth a fortune. Kinda took a lot of the fun out of it for spending-challenged-me. But Bernie has good, reasonable prices I think – I’m so glad you visited the site!

      Reply
  3. That tray is fabulous, the graphics and colours on those matchbooks are amazing. I have a matchbook collection myself from when I was a teenager, hoping they would be useful or valuable someday.

    Reply
  4. Funny how we try to hide our “true selves” from friends and family. As if they don’t know…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

