RSS Feed

Vintage Cameras, Galvanized Metal Trays and Not Getting a Tan

After being  grey, cold and rainy it has been absolutely beautiful in Los Angles.  Sunny, mid 70s -the kind of weather that makes you call your relatives back East and gloat.

On the rainy days I worked outside – damp and freezing (OK, California freezing – meaning I had to wear pants…  you know, true suffering*).

And during these sunny days?

Never left the house.

So I don’t have much of a tan but I did get a lot done!

I’ve been working on a new set of Vintage Typewriter Coasters.green-typewriter-coaster-by-cheltenham-road

While I struggle to comprehend Snapchat and Instagram I’m pretty much 100% down with any sort of vintage technology -typewriters, cameras, old phones….

Plus I thought they  would make the perfect gift for writers.

And you may recall the image transfer project I did on that metal tray I got from Michaels diy-michaels-crafts-tray-transformation

Well, I liked it so much and it was so easy to do that I went back and snapped up all the ones they had left in stock and played with some more designs.

I pulled a free camera graphic from The Old Design Shop (a terrific graphics resource) and combined it with the text of an actual old advertisement:industrial-style-metal-tray-image-transfer-by-cheltenham-road

And I thought I’d see how it came out if I added a fair amount of color so I used a vintage 20th Century Limited train graphic:

diy-metal-tray-image-transfer-by-cheltenham-roadAnd finally I was curious about if the details on an old photo would make the transfer so I resurrected my favorte Balboa Bathing Girl Parade image.  And it came out just how I wanted it.  I actually had to add some distressing as it looked a bit too new.balboa-beach-girls-tray

I think I’m gonna have a lot of fun with these!

If you wanted to do your own, it’s pretty simple and you can find my tutorial for it here.

And finally, back to  coasters.

My brother-in-law, Rich, collects vintage Tom Swift books and asked for a coaster set for his office.

Do you know about Tom Swift?  He’s sort of along the lines of The Hardy Boys or Nancy Drew only it’s science not mysteries.

ts-and-airline

They were published from the early teens through, I believe the 50s or 60s.  The early covers are great!  I mean, how could you not be fascinated by Tom Swift and his Giant Magnet or Television Detector!!  It’s a Thrilling Read!!!!!ts-coaster-set

Rich actually did all the photoshop work to fix up the old covers and I think he did an amazing job.   I hope he likes the final result.

Well, it’s supposed to be another beautiful day today!

I plan to hide in the bathroom.

Hope everyone has had a good weekend.

*just to be clear – I don’t mean to imply that I usually work naked.  I just mean that more often than not I wear shorts rather than pants.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

16 responses »

  1. Shorts It’s 5 deg. F here with the wind chill today! Love all your coasters but those trays are fabulous. I’d be worried that some big company is going to steal your idea.

    Reply
  2. Truly awesome work!

    Reply
  3. Cool stuff. I’ve heard of the Tom Swift series, but I never read it. I do have a collection of the Bobbsey Twins, Nancy Drew, and Hardy Boys books.

    d

    Reply
  4. Those metal trays look great! What a cool new product line.

    Reply
  5. Love the “JUST MY TYPE” band around them. And the graphics really pop! And the metal trays are just awesome! ps. I’m over in KY and I’m wearing my pants today lol.

    Reply
  6. Those trays with your added graphics are too cool! I’ve used a lot of transfer methods, but I didn’t realize you could use polycrylic to do it – gotta tray that one!

    Reply
  7. LOL – I meant “try” that one, not tray. I loved your trays so much, my fingers automatically typed the word!

    Reply
  8. Chris (formerly MN but now in AZ for the winter)

    I kept thinking about that whole working naked thing. It explains why you got that fancy table saw that turns off if a body part gets too close.

    Reply
  9. Hi David,

    I’m not sure if anyone else has noticed, but the coaster that says American Flyer has “Typewirter”.

    thanks,

    Phil

    Reply
  10. I absolutely adore those typewriter coasters!! AAAHH! So great!

    The trays are cool, too. I keep expecting to see the Altoids graphic on one of them for some reason…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

