RSS Feed

2017 Meet 2002!

Happy New Year one and all!

I hope the beginning of 2017 is treating you all well.

The big new here is that it’s raining in Southern California.

THIS. IS. AWESOME!

THIS. IS. MESSING. UP. ALL. MY. PLANS!

So, rather than working outside I’ve been hibernating a bit and binge watching Parks and Recreation on Netflix*

While hibernating I’ve been setting up goals for 2017 and one of them is to do a bunch of projects that I’ve been putting off since, well, about 2002.

I think that’s a perfectly reasonable turn-around time on a project wouldn’t you agree? (rhetorical question)

First up (no pictures, sorry) are my father’s cabinets.

My dad designed and built two perfect wall cabinets to make my tiny New York City kitchen be functional.  When I moved to LA they came with me but there was no place to put them in my new house and they’ve been moldering away in the garage ever since.  But I’ve found a spot!  (OK, I found a spot about 3 years ago) and this is the year they get refurbished and rehung!

Up next, I acquired these chairs when Geralyn’s office was remodeled.chair

They have survived every garage purge since 2002 because I keep vowing that I was going to do a makeover on themchair-back

They are nice, solid wood, and I think they have nice lines and lots of potential (I may be wrong).chairs

I’m not much an upholstery guy but I’m determined to at least give it a shot.

And finally, I salvaged these two end tables from a beyond-repair vanity.end-table

They are beautiful, solid wood, dovetail jointed pieces.end-tables

Lots of damage to the finish on the sides but not a hugely difficult project.  A fact which does not in any way help to explain why it has taken me so long to do it since I need them in my living room.

So, I’m posting this in the hope that you will keep me honest.  If you don’t see at least one of these projects done by mid-February you have my permission to start bugging me about them.

In the meanwhile I’m at work on new coaster designs and new product designs for the New Year (and maybe even, finally, getting that long-promised web site up and running)

Happy New Year everyone!

 

*This has proved to be somewhat cathartic for my actor-side.  I didn’t watch Parks and Rec when it was on but I did audition for it five times.  5 times!!!  And I NEVER GOT THE PART!!!!

I thought I must have really sucked but, if I sucked, why did they keep having me come back, right?

Well, while binge watching I keep getting right up to some part I auditioned for and then, poof! it’s not there.

This means that either A) they saw my audition tape and thought “good god! that was terrible! cut that part!!!” or B) more generously, “wow! if David can’t even make that work we should cut it” or C) more realistically, the part(s) just got cut which happens all the time.  I actually arrived at an audition for SuperStore the other day only to discover that the part had been cut WHILE I WAS DRIVING TO THE AUDITION.  Stuff happens.

But, you know, YAY, I didn’t suck!

And also Parks and Recreation is an awesome show!  I can’t believe I missed it the first time around!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

5 responses »

  1. I love those chairs, and I can’t wait to see what you can do with them. Also curious about your dad’s cabinets…. Happy New Year!

    Reply
  2. Cannot wait to see the “after” projects.

    Your role is out there: it hasn’t been written yet, but one day you’ll walk in for casting and it will be yours! Don’t give up your dreams!

    denise

    Reply
  3. Don’t feel bad about not getting to those chairs and things. There are a lot of us that have wood parts hanging around waiting to be used. Now this is a real question for you… Would you feel better if you got the part and then it ended up being cut AFTER you finished filming it? I just LOVED seeing you in House, I smiled throughout your performance and didn’t even watch the whole show.

    Reply
  4. Jordan Quickel

    Love the goals, cant wait to see the finished products. On a side note, I am having Kate watch Parks and Rec for the first time and she had the same thought “Why didn’t I watch this the first time round”. Enjoy 2017, and I look forward to reading more entries and following along in your adventure!

    Reply
  5. David~ 1. The chair. Would look AWEsome upholstered in a wool houndstooth for a man! Too “hot” for LA–?? AND the vanities. I’ve always wanted to do some butcherblock or cool salvaged wood in a waterfall effect on a pair of those! You know~a way to deal with the detached/wrecked sides. ; D I wish you the best of creative success when you get to each!
    2. I like that you listed and pictured what you need to get on. Hmmmm~maybe I should adopt the same “list” to get me on some of my “on hold forever” projects! HaPPy NeW YeaR!
    Catherine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

