RSS Feed

Holiday Centerpiece Idea

holiday-centerpiece-idea-by-cheltenham-roadI always hope to have a relaxing, hot-chocolate sipping, carol singing sort of Christmas season.

I would have you guys over.  We’d snack on desserts and chat.  I would be mellow yet festive, the perfect, relaxed host.

And then then we’d go ice-skating in hell while a flock of pigs flew overhead because only when those things happen will I be mellow  at Christmas time.

 

I love the season, I really do, and I have a great time but there is nothing laid back about it for me (especially now).

So, with my annual Holiday Dessert Party Extravaganza looming it was time to turn my mind to decorating as this is my only weekend to do it.

This year I wanted to come up with something fun for the center of the dessert table and I had an idea that would use apothecary jars, some scraps of wood, lighted mini Christmas trees and a bit of fake snow.

I cut my scrap wood down into different sized blockssupplies-for-christmas-centerpiece

And then wrapped it with some plain copy paper, kraft paper, mini wrapping paper, ribbon and twine I found at Michaelsmini-christmas-packages

I’d purchased some tiny, lighted  Christmas Trees at a post-Xmas Target sale last year.

I wanted to hide the battery pack so I wrapped it too (after making sure it didn’t heat up when the tree was turned on)disguise

I added some fake snow to the bottom of the apothecary jars and then piled in the presents.christmas-centerpiece-by-cheltenham-road

I thought trio of jars on a galvanized tray might look good.festive-holiday-centerpiece-idea-by-cheltenham-road

And I wound some mini lights in the tray as well for a little extra glow  (though I need to hide the wires a bit better)galvanzied-tray

I’m having a bit of trouble taking a decent “night” photo of them but you get the idea I think.apothocary-christmas-tree-centerpiece-idea-by-cheltenham-road

If you wanted to do something similar I think mason jars would look great.  The packages could also be made out of styrofoam and if you can’t find lighted trees then simple bottle brush version would work and you could layer in some mini lights inside the jar.christmas-decorating-idea-by-cheltenham-road

OK!  That’s one decorating idea down!  Onward!

Oh and Happy (almost) Thanksgiving everyone!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

8 responses »

  1. Love the mini wrapped packages idea! Happy Thanksgiving!

    Reply
  2. You are so creative (and funny!) I love the centerpiece!

    Reply
  3. So adorable!

    denise

    As God as my witness, I will never go ice skating again. Only went once. Never again. Much prefer roller skates. Which I haven’t been on since 2005. So no skating for me.

    Reply
  4. So sweet! I can just picture you wrapping those mini presents while listening to Bing Crosby singing “White Christmas”.

    Reply
  5. Some people get chunks of coal in their stocking…you give chunks of wood in festive packages. That ranks right up there with the apple I got trick or treating. I’m doing something wrong!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

