RSS Feed

A Momentary Digression

Please forgive a minor digression from the (admittedly somewhat vague) stated purpose of this blog.

So, last time I posted pics of my new, Vintage Hollywood Coasters.old-hollywood-drink-coaster-set-by-cheltenham-road

Which appears to have caused a ripple in the Universe in that, I’m suddenly getting auditions again.

(for newer readers here’s the scoop.  Most of my life I’ve been an actor, I lived in NYC for quite a while doing off and off-off Broadway plays and then moved to LA where I landed some roles on TV.  But, once I started Cheltenham Road I discovered that I liked doing this more and while I still have an agent my focus is on CR).

Auditions have always stressed me out (and if you’re interested I’ve done a little side-bar that explains the odds of actually getting a role on TV)the-odds

BUT one of the great joys of going on auditions in LA for someone like me who has always been totally fascinated by “old Hollywood” (hence all the coasters)  is that sometimes the audition takes place on one of the actual factual classic movie studio lots

 

This time my audition took me to 20th Century Fox where I haven’t been since I did an episode of House.stage-22

This place has such an amazing history!

And, once you’re on the lot you can roam around a bit (within reason).

You can look at the giant Star Wars mural they painted on the outside wall of a sound-stage with all the actors trailers parked in front of it (I don’t know what show they are for)star-wars

And I always check out the back-lot sets.backlot

You’d be amazed how often you’ve seen this street and never realized it was the same one you’d seen a million times before.

20th Century Fox’s backlot is pretty small but if you go to Paramount or Warner Brothers they are VAST and awesome (If you ever visit LA I insist that you go on the Warner Brothers Studio Tour – it’s the best!)

But every centimeter of the property is a potential set.

So, is this Lafayette High School?lafayette-high-school

Sort of.  It’s actually the entrance to the 20th Century Fox Administration Building (that whole High School entrance is just tacked on the front of the building temporarily)20th-century-fox

So while the audition went OK (I didn’t get it) I had a great time checking out the lot!

Next time I’ll be back to our regularly scheduled programming but I just thought this might be fun.

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

15 responses »

  1. So cool! They have lots of casting calls for HOUSE OF CARDS here. Mostly for background extras. I have a couch you can sleep on unless you’d prefer the extra bed in one of the boys’ rooms.

    And, if I ever make it back to LA, I hope to go on the Warner Brothers tour.

    Creativity is there in the people who pursue any of the Arts: thespian, visual, tactile, written, etc… Your cup runneth over!

    denise

    Reply
    • Did you just propose a casting couch scenario? 😉
      Have you ever done the “extra” thing. Boy is that a long day and draaaag. I did it once in college and vowed never again.

      Reply
      • No, I was offering you a free place to stay if you are cast on HoC. (nearly spit my tea out)

        No, I’ve only been in two commercials. One SAG, :30 sec; one not, :60 sec. That’s my acting career in less than 2 minutes.

  2. Loved the post and hearing about “your other life”. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  3. When I worked on the lot, I worked in a trailer just to the right of that mural. That and the big door for Reba!!

    Reply
  4. Quite a life you’ve lived! I love people who LIVE and have stories to TELL!
    Catherine

    Reply
  5. Atlanta seems to be growing in the acting scene…lots of casting calls here in the last couple years for Quantico and all the Tyler Perry productions. One day I want to audition. I’ll let you know… 🙂 BTW, I saw your House episode. Very nice!!

    Reply
    • That was my first real TV job! Spent allllll day filming that scene and everyone was really terrifically nice. Kinda spoiled me really (although, in truth, with only one minor -and funny – exception, everyone I’ve ever dealt with on set have been nothing but professional and fun.

      Reply
  6. Such fun to read about this… hope you get a part I can watch and think to myself “I know him, he makes the darnedest coasters.” P.S. Can you tell me the title of the House episode so I can look for it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

