RSS Feed

Happy Halloween! And a happy blogger! (me)

I can’t believe it’s finally, actually Halloween!

I feel like (and I have) been “doing” Halloween since July.happy-halloween-from-cheltenham-road

To be honest, I haven’t always been a big Halloweener.  My Halloween experiences have been a bit hit-and-miss.

For instance, when looking through old pictures recently I came across this:

separated-at-birthNow, while I get some props for doing mash-ups before mash-ups were a thing it’s possible that the Charlie Brown Meets Jason Voorhees  look was a bit too ahead of it’s time.jason-meets-charlie

(Honestly, I don’t really remember this but I’m pretty sure this was a demo and we ditched the plate before the big day.)

This pic also made me realize I have a quite a history with Charlie Brown and Halloween.

I was, of course, the Great Pumpkin in kindergartenThe Great Pumpkin!

(OK, I feel I have to insert here that I swear to god my mom was an awesome costume maker – I’ve just found a couple of off-years to showcase – please consider my subsequent Patrick Henry ensemble to balance out the poor impression I’m giving

My beautiful picture

But, I’ve been CB as an adult too!  And it was the last time I dressed up.

About a decade ago a group of friends decided that we MUST don costumes and go to the big Halloween Parade in West Hollywood.

It’s a huge event with a lot of amazing, elaborate costumes.22730402181_a6c40bea6d_z

I reluctantly agreed (crowds aren’t my thing), pulled together a last-minute costume -sneakers, black socks, black shorts, zig-zag striped shirt, baseball hat and glove and figured I was good.

I had met the requirements (a costume), I hadn’t tried very hard and I could go about my business of people watching in a big crowd.

Nope!

It was like I was some kind of magnet.

People kept shouting:  “Charlie!!!!  Charlie Browwwwwnnnnn!!!!  You’re a good man!!!!!!!!”

which was, ok, kinda nice – I mean one can’t complain about being called a good man.

but as the evening wore on and the crowd got drunker it sort of switched to wobbly people shuffling up to me yelling:

“wha-wha-wha–wha-wha whwhawha!”

and then bursting into laughter with a “did you get it?!!!!” kinda smile.

It was sorta fun but I think I’ll stay in this year.

But before I go, I have to say thanks to all of you for following along with me.  Your comments are the best (you are some seriously funny blog readers!) and I truly appreciate it.  And one of the things that makes it seem even more worthwhile is when I hear that people have actually done a project I’ve created.  I was so happy when Heather sent a note saying she’d made the Glowing Eye Candle Holders for her co-workers.

Don’t they look great!
h-chase-spooky-votive-holders

And I have to find the picture of those two girls on the far left!

Thanks so much Heather for sending the pic.

 

I hope everyone has a great Halloween!

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

6 responses »

  1. Wishing you a broccoli-free Halloween!

    “Give me liberty or give me death!” Patrick Henry. Can’t resist! I know so many quotes verbatim from our founding fathers.

    Denise

    Reply
  2. chris aka monkey

    what do you get when you suck the guts out of a hot dog???? a happy halloweeny xx

    Reply
  3. Oh my gosh, that cracks me up! But seriously…
    you’re a good man, David! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Happy Halloween Charlie Brown lol. I
    mma bit like u with the crowds n such.id rather see what others dress like too than have tbe attention. And yep, moms are the best at home made costumes :-).
    Im gonna give the glowing eyes project a try for next year.

    Reply
  5. Had exactly five trick-or-treaters last night. All seemingly grown adults. One was dressed as Jason Voorhees and didn’t speak at all — just held out his bag. Thank God for the 90-pound German Shepherd going nuts in the background. Would have killed for at least one Charlie Brown or Great Pumpkin, or even a Patrick Henry (although I’m pretty sure we would have thought it was Alexander Hamilton).

    Reply
  6. Why does it seem that for nearly all of your costumes, you are wearing a mask? Anyway, glad Halloween is over and now I’m looking forward to all of your awesome Christmas crafts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

