RSS Feed

Halloween Preview (and a fail)

Hmmmm, well this post is going to be a bit of grab-bag because what I planned to blog about, my latest Halloween decoration idea ended up straddling the wrong side of that line between:

“how charming, rustic and vintage!”

and

“something went wrong didn’t it?”

(and also, in all honesty, it involved image transfer and the other possible phrase that might be uttered upon seeing it would be: “isn’t’ that upside down?”)

Ugh!

So, it’s back to the drawing board but I have hope!!!

In the meantime, my latest Mod Podge Rocks project is up and ready for review.Simple DIY Candle Holder Tutorial

I’ve continued to play around with my scrap-wood candle holders (although I’m going to run out of scrap wood in a second which will change the playing field).

This one was fun to put together and kind of embarrassingly easy.

As I worked on it it seemed to me that the idea could be adapted to a lot of different themes and styles.Simple Scrap Wood Candle Holder

You could go with Christmas paper, it could match wedding colors and be used on a reception table.  It could be made larger, or longer or taller – really the scrap wood sky is the limit!

If you’re intrigued please head on over to Mod Podge Rocks for all the details on the project.

I do have some Halloween stuff to share as I managed to get a few, new Halloween themed items on Etsy.

At the first of my two recent Halloween shows folks really liked the Horror Novel Wine Charms Classic Horror Novel Halloween Drink Tag set by Cheltenham Road on Etsybut a few of them wanted those images as coasters.

So, after a bit of struggle (I wanted to add a Sleepy Hollow graphic and it took forever to design) I put together a set that I’m happy with.Horror Novel Book Cover Coaster Set by Cheltenham Road

I really had fun working on these designs as I tried to boild down each novel to one simple, evocative graphicHorror Novel Coaster Set Jekyll and Hyde by Cheltenham Road

And finally  you may remember my Halloween Subway Sign from years back.  I’ve done a minor update incorporating some of the ideas suggested by customersClassic Halloween Subway Art Wood Sign by Cheltenham Road

And, also, while playing around came up with a variation (I may have been drinking at the time) on the layout that folks seemed to like.Vintage Style Subway Art Halloween Wood Sign by Cheltenham Road

OK, it’s back to work on my failed project and a couple of Plaid Ambassador crafts that I’ve been itching to get to.  Happy (early) Halloween to all!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

20 responses »

  1. I want to buy a laser printer-which one do you use? Or do you have a recommendation?

    Thank you-I love your Halloween stuff!

    Reply
    • Thanks much! I currently use an HP Laser Jet Pro 200 M25LNW.
      My feelings on it are mixed.
      It turns out good prints but burns through a lot of toner and gives very inconsistent and unhelpful warnings about toner level. It will tell you it’s “almost out and needs replacing immediately!” and then print out dozens of perfectly fine pages of color images so it’s just HP trying to get you to waste money on their expensive cartridges. I’m pretty unimpressed with HP in general (my computer is HP as well) so my next purchases will be with a different company.
      I guess, bottom line, it works fine as far as finished product but I suspect there are equally good printers out there that are less expensive to run. Hope that helps a little.

      Reply
      • My Canon (inkjet) printer gives those warnings as well… I can get many good prints, so I just keep going until I see a poor print. Also the cartridges are super expensive. I don’t think there is such a thing as a printer that is inexpensive to use.

      • This is very true. however, my previous HP (same thing just the prior model) was much better with regard to ink use (the cartridges were cheaper too). I only replaced it because it suddenly didn’t work with Windows 10 which I’m pretty sure was HP’s way of forcing us all to buy new printers and more expensive toner.

      • I have a Ricoh color laser printer that I found on Amazon for under $100. I bought it to get my feet wet with this image transfer stuff, and am very happy with it. I believe the cartridges are outrageous ($80 each?) but there’s only three, so…my 2 cents.

    • HP used to be the standard in quality but has deteriorated over the years. Ever notice how success often sits back on its laurels thinking it will magically last forever and suddenly it notices the laurels are rotting? I have Epson and they are now generally considered the standard of quality these days (I unfortunately get nothing from Epson to say that). Ink for all printers is outrageous. They could give away the printers for nothing and still make tons of money on ink sales.We need a “do it yourself” for easy, cheap but still high quality printer ink. On my way to YouTube to search for one. 🙂

      Reply
  2. chris aka monkey

    love those candle holders and like you said the sky’s the limit xx

    Reply
  3. Every single one of your projects is great – I love the all! The candle holder looks easy enough for even me to do! 🙂

    Reply
  4. the most successful people have failed as they ascended to greatness… creative genius is your super power!

    denise

    Reply
  5. Absolutely adore the new wine charms (hint, hint!) Great post–looks like you are all set for the season!

    Reply
    • Thank you dear sister….although you now have a lot of wine charms. Do we need to stage an intervention. Not for drinking of course but possibly for the dreaded Hyper Organized Syndrome. Are you now just wandering the streets tagging people’s wine glasses? I feel like maybe I’ve become an enabler…..

      Reply
  6. You seem to love Halloween as much as me!

    Reply
    • It’s kind of a new thing for me! I must confess that once people stopped telling me I was adorable and giving me free candy I kinda lost interest. But it has been renewed with all the clever stuff people do to celebrate so I’m back on board! (however I’m still a bit miffed that I have to BUY the candy now to give away…..something is wrong with the system!).

      Reply
  7. You are SO good at the graphics! (And combining them with great products)

    Reply
  8. David, I love your Jekyll and Hyde image. It’s perfect.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

