RSS Feed

How To Repair Damaged Furniture

Fix Damaged Furniture with BondoThis is the promised follow-up post about poor, patient Geralyn’s little sewing cabinet thingy.

As you may recall – it was in pretty bad shapeSewing Cabinet Makeover Tutorial

Iffy finish and a big chunk taken out of the wood on one corner.
Damaged furniture fix-up tutorial

As you also may recall, several years ago I did a post about repairing damaged furniture with Bondo.Fix damaged furniture with Bondo

It is actually my most popular post!  Which is awesome because nothing says “I’m totally killing it with this blogging thing” like having your most popular post be five years old.

Anyway, I knew I would use Bondo again but I doubted Bondo alone would be a sturdy enough repair to allow the little door to hinge open as it was supposed to do.Bondo Can

So, using an old furniture-fixer trick, I just glued a tooth-pick in the the hollow cavity where the old screw went.Fixing damaged corners on furniture

The toothpick will fill the void and give the new screw something to dig into.  And the wood glue provides a bond that is actually stronger than the the real wood.

After the glue had dried thoroughly, I mixed up the Bondo and applied a pretty generous amount to the damaged corner.  Bondo for fixing furniture

The great thing about Bondo is that, once it dries you can sand and shape it to match pretty much any contour (which I did but nelected to photograph) and then paint over it for a pretty seamless fix.Furniture Fix up with Bondo

After that it was just a matter of drilling a pilot hole for the screw and I was done!fixing up damaged furniture

Folk Art Milk Paint Furniture Makeover by Cheltenham RoadAnd then I got busy (on the other side) with the image transfer and the edge sanding (you can see the details of that effort HERE)Image transfer for vintage sewing cabinet by cheltenham road

OK, to be honest, while I’m satisfied with how the repair looks and functions (and I think Geralyn will be too), I’m still a little anxious about the long-term durability of this fix.

The Bondo trick works great on corners or damaged legs but the fact that this little piece has to “hinge” open is a different kettle of fish.

So I’m going to urge Geralyn to make the part with the new graphic on it her main point of access – just to be on the safe side.

Up next time.  Some new Halloween projects!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

11 responses »

  1. This couldn’t have come at a better time. Thank you! I just received some furniture that needs help and would never thought of bondo or the toothpick idea. Thanks again and love your work!

    Reply
    • Hey Cheryl. So glad it’s useful to you. If you do some repairs and have any questions don’t hesitate to ask. And, of course, send pics when you get things done. I love seeing what people do.

      Reply
  2. I completely forgot about your Bondo fix you wrote about previously. Maybe you need to repost more old projects and us older folks out here will think they are new posts!

    Reply
  3. I’ve never read the Bondo article, but at least I was on the right track with my guess.

    denise

    Reply
  4. Jo Ann Bastanjoo

    Brilliant! I wish I’d known about Bondo when I could have rescued some pieces I declined buying years ago–and some family pieces as well. You are sooo creative. Keep up the good work and postings!

    Jo Ann (former Buckeye now living in Texas)

    Reply
  5. BTDT too–stuff works great!
    LUV your finished piece–I may have to do a double take when I see those now. ; D
    Catherine

    Reply
  6. You are a clever boy! I’m sending this post to a buddy of mine who does furniture restoration..maybe it will go viral and be your new “most popular post”. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

