RSS Feed

Vintage Sign Coat Rack Version 2.0

DIY Vintage Sign by Cheltenham RoadI hope everyone had a fun, safe 4th of July.

The ball is rolling on Plaid Ambassador projects but in the meantime a few other ideas are coming down the pike.

However, I do apologize.

You may experience a bit of deja vu as we go along.  For instance this is yet another:

  1. vintagy sign
  2.  coat hanger
  3.  project involving slats
  4. project involving diy knobs
  5. Lenk tool graphic transfer

OK, here’s the deal.

I need some new products -both for my own sanity (possibly too late) and to keep the shops that sell my wares interested.

New products are kinda tricky to develop because whatever they are they need to be: unique,  easy to replicate, in keeping with what I already make, affordable (both for me, the shops and the final customer) and….not a nightmare to put together.

Oh, and people have to love it.

Easy!

So, over the next few weeks I want to zero in on some options, refine the ideas and figure out better techniques.

Won’t you join me?!

Thanks!

Up first is Coat Rack 2.0.

Folks responded well to that Santa Monica sign I madeDIY Vintage Sign by Cheltenham Road but I need a version that is a bit more affordable.

So I’ve played around with this smaller version to see what I could do.

The actual sign-making process was the same as the Santa Monica sign (click HERE for the full tutorial and image transfer instructions).

The size is a bit smaller (14×12)

The new(ish) thing here are the knobs so I thought I’d share how I did them this time around.

I found these little spools at Michaels and thought they had possibilities.DIY Wood Hangers

I added a piece of of 1/4 dowel in the bottom of each one.DIY Knobs by Cheltenham Road

I then glued a wood disc to the front (I made the disc by using my chop saw to cut slices off a dowel I had but they also sell just plain wood discs)Inexpensive DIY Knobs by Cheltenham RoadI pained them out with white craft paint and sanded/distressed the edges.

I used the  Lenk tool to transfer the graphics (I was going for the signs on a pool that tell you depth of the water).

And they are sealed with polycrylic for durability.Handmade Knobs by Cheltenham Road

To assemble it I pre-drilled holes for both the shelf and the knobsVintage Sign Coat Rack Cheltenham Road Tutorial

And then simply drilled the shelf into place from the back

And glued the knobs in place.Image Transfer Vintage Sign

I’m happy with the design and ease of assembly.  The knobs are easy to make and looking pretty good.Handmade Knobs by Cheltenham RoadThere are some minor tweeks to make (the knobs need to be a bit lower, I need to stain the MDF slats before I paint them.Coat Rack by Cheltenham Road

My brain is already whirring on different design ideas.

Maybe a typewriter graphic with typewriter key knobs?

Or a dairy (sorry) graphic with milk label (sorry) knobs?

Baseball with baseball knobs?

Soda with soda pop knobs

etc etc.

More to come.  And thanks for bearing with me during this.  I assure you I will  mix in new stuff with the reruns!

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

21 responses »

  1. Love all your new sign ideas. The knobs are the best !

    Reply
  2. Love the whole concept. The spool knobs are awesome! As for a dairy theme, some of those way cool milk bottle lid graphs would be great. The soda pop idea is great too. I’ve seen some neat vintage soda pop metal caps on the Hobby Lobby site that would make terrific knobs. They are I think about 1.25″ in diameter. Here’s the link to the page if you wanted to check them out. (http://www.hobbylobby.com/Scrapbook-Paper-Crafts/Embellishments/Trinkets/Vintage-Bottle-Caps/p/112371)

    Awesome work!

    Reply
  3. You are a flipping genius–and this should sell with the Summer Olympics right around the corner!

    You could do a mini-soccer ball (probably could decoupage the pattern onto a half-round) knob. Baseball is always cool, but in rec leagues, it’s a dying sport with kids. Even the average age of MLB fans is older than us (53)! Soccer, LAX, and to some extent rugby, plus a bit of ice hockey are the “hot” sports.

    Denise

    Reply
  4. A Nonny Moose

    I’m all about the vintage typewriter idea.

    Reply
  5. ….I have GOT to try that lenk tool……after I check my health insurance policy…..
    Catherine

    Reply
  6. If you found any old recipes, cooking items, you could make tablespoon, teaspoon knobs or something with ounces or pounds if it was something to do with meat, fish or fowl for the kitchen.’
    You are such a clever one!

    Reply
  7. Hi David,

    Just curious where you found the really cool clip art. Awesome sign by the way.

    Reply
    • The honest answer to that is: years of sorting through piles of paper ephemera at flea markets accompanied by years of improving my Photoshop skills. It’s a mix of my text, some clip art and some combined graphics from various vintage images.

      Reply
  8. You could do a knife holder, with magnetic strips down the front. If you paint the strips, that would be even cooler, although the paint would probably wear off with use.

    Reply
  9. Love the new version. The typewriter idea sounds great, as does a vintage camera, or an old TV set with tuning knobs. What about an old Singer sewing machine with (gasp) spools!! 😀

    Or my all-time favorite: something British…

    Anyway, I really love the swimming theme and the spools being depths of the water. Very creative.

    Reply
  10. Is “But first…coffee” copywrighted? (copywritten?) People are obsessed with coffee these days (me too). Any cute coffee saying plus some hooks for mugs would be marketable. Or something with a wine theme, and a place to hang stem glasses upside down. I love the swim sign/hooks!

    Reply
  11. Lovely as usual. Might I offer an observation… I think you have an obsession with women in bathing suits! LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

