RSS Feed

Easy Father’s Day Wall Art Tutorial

My dad is the best.

However he’s a bit hard to shop for for Father’s Day and I always get sorta stuck for unique gift ideas (the man needs another book like I need to bump my head on something)

But this year,  I had two  ideas!  TWO!!!!!

The only problem was that I had to make them both and being me (oh-so-very-me) I left it until just a bit late to get going.

Happily, my first idea came together so fast, so easily and so inexpensively that  I thought it might be useful for others and so I made it into my latest Mod Podge Rocks tutorial.   Father's Day Gift Idea

A simple scan of an old baseball ticket

An oversize Engineering print from StaplesEasy DIY Father's Day Wall Art Tutorial

And BOOM! A super-fast, totally customize-able piece of potential Father’s Day Wall Art!DIY Fathers Day Wall Art

I think it’s……..JUST THE TICKET!!!!!

(sorry)

(there’s actually a worse one of those puns on the MPR post)

If you’re keen to make your own head on over to Mod Podge Rocks for all the details.

Oh! and if you’re local don’t forget to visit me at this weekend’s Long Beach Patchwork show (click on the pic for all the details)!Patchwork Long Beach Craft Show

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

18 responses »

  1. I’m channeling Jon Lovitz and “That’s the ticket!”

    Had that been the Yankees… or NFL NY Giants… would have been perfect for my husband.

    Denise

    Reply
    • It also would have been perfect for my girlfriend…..Morgan Fairchild.
      Actually, I almost used an awesome, antique Yankees ticket. I can send it to you if you think you’d like to make one. It really was crazy easy.

      Reply
  2. chris aka monkey

    what a totally cool idea xx

    Reply
  3. Hi David,

    Once again another great idea to “borrow”. Those could probably sell really well
    at shows you go to. I might have to make a few different ones myself. Even old
    photos of baseball teams would work great too. Thank you again for the inspiration.

    Reply
  4. This is fabulous. I can see doing it with any type of ticket, well not a speeding ticket but a movie ticket or concert ticket would be cool.

    Reply
  5. I see a whole new custom-order product line, as people can send you the tickets they’ve kept from games, concerts, etc. And they’d be getting a bargain at $75 to have this made (plus shipping)!

    And the pun on the Mod Podge Rocks page was perfectly dreadful. Perfectly. But also a great marketing tool.

    Reply
  6. That’s cool. And seems easy. I’m wondering what the 2nd thing for Dad was that you thought of…

    Reply
    • Thanks! I’ll have the other one done soon (but it’s more of a “look what I did” than a “make this yourself” sorta thing….also my dad reads the blog so I didn’t want to reveal too soon)

      Reply
  7. Hi David,

    I just started my new blog and I hope you don’t mind I added your
    site to my blogroll. It’s not near as polished and professional looking
    as your site.

    Reply
    • Hey Phil. Congrats on getting the blog going and I’m honored to be on the roll. Send me a link when you can so I can keep up with your activities.

      Reply
      • Hi David,

        I’ve come to a very hard decision to stop making my handmade items and shut down my online squareup store. Not selling anything for 6 months makes it difficult to want to continue. I’m sorry you won’t get a chance to check it out after I asked you just 11 hours ago. Good luck with your own blog and etsy store. I will continue to follow your adventures.

  8. Hi David. Here’s my blog address if you still want to check it out.

    http://shabbyandchicdesigns.wordpress.com

    Reply
  9. Hi David,

    I went to my local Staples to get a oversize engineering print in color, but I can only get it printed in black and white. Do you have any suggestions on where I can get a larger laser print?

    thank you,

    Phil

    Reply
    • Odd, it’s a regular service at my Staples. they offer black and white and color engineering prints. You can even submit them online and then pick up the finished product. Perhaps give Kinkos a try?

      Reply
      • The Staples I went to has a blotter printer that only prints in black and white. Their laser printers only print 11×17. I may have to try online and see what happens.

  10. I just checked at another Staples. Apparently none of them in the state of Washington can print engineering prints in color. I guess not a lot of people were asking for those types of prints in color. I did find a printing shop that can print them out starting at $.33 a square foot though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

