RSS Feed

Happy Mothers Day Donuts!

Happy Mother’s Day to all of you mom types out there!

And particularly to my mom!momMom is doing great and, I was informed, will be spending her morning with my nephew Jordan teaching him how to make her famous donuts! (smart kind knows what traditions to make sure carry on)mom and jordan donut making

(note her mixer: I believe that’s the same one she got as a wedding gift!)

My mom’s donuts were one of my favorite things she made when I was a kid.  When I moved out on my own I requested the recipe and even found a “vintage” donut maker just like hers.donut maker

I’ve actually used the recipe card for her donuts in projects.Vintage Kitchen Tools Shadow Box

Vintage Kitchen Rolling Pin BookendsSo, in honor of my mom I decided to make the ultimate sacrifice and make myself a batch of donuts.

I know!  I am a very good son.

So, while, sadly, I can’t be near my mom on this day there is a giant upside.

Unlike my nephew, I don’t have to pretend that sharing donuts with my dad sounds like a good idea!

I Win!mom's best donuts

Happy Mother’s day Mom (and all the other moms!)

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

8 responses »

  1. chris aka monkey

    i am 67 and my mom made donuts with that same vintage donut maker, i remember how good the house smelled and how great the warm goodies tasted thanks for the memory xx

    Reply
  2. Looks delicious and how nice you can recreate that warm-and-fuzzy feeling (and smell)!

    Reply
  3. My parents had the same toaster they had gotten when they married for years! It might have even been fixable if someone in our family was handy. I believe it lasted over 60 years. It was heavy with chrome and made to last. Now, not so much. I understand things can’t last forever but some items are made so shabby, sigh.
    Like the way you incorporated her recipe in your projects. Homemade donuts were not something my mother made, though, homemade cannoli isn’t too shabby.

    Reply
  4. I hope your mom had a wonderful Mother’s Day! And that you enjoyed making her donuts–they look delicious. I’ll have to look for one of those vintage donut makers.

    I did notice her mixer before you pointed it out. My mom has a vintage mixer sitting on her antique dry sink. Very similar to your mom’s.

    (I’ve always wanted to decorate a kitchen in 50s vintage and kitsch.)

    denise

    Reply
  5. Omg that vintage donut maker looks unbelievable! I have got to get me one of those.

    Reply
  6. And then there’s the rolling pin bookends… drooling over that too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

