RSS Feed

Salted Caramel Nutella S’Mores and Inappropriate Use of Shop Equipment

In my defenseDid you know that Costco sells giant, two packs of Nutella?nutella twopack

This is knowledge I probably shouldn’t have been made privy to.

I mean, how could you NOT buy that!?  Even if you don’t like Nutella someone else you know might! (such as, just brainstorming here,  perhaps a blogger whose work you admire or your mom.  One of those.  Probably the former.  Your mom told me she would prefer to buy her own.)

So my giant, two pack of Nutella was just, you know, THERE.  In the pantry.

And then it rained today.

And s’mores sounded like a really good thing to do.

*Important confession.  It occurred to me to do this as a blog post as I was contemplating s’moredom.  And, while I was truly looking forward to sharing it with you all I was not about to delay the time it took to actually consume the s’mores by setting up pretty pictures of the process.    I mean, you are all totally awesome and worth it but.  S’mores.

So I grabbed graham crackers, aforementioned Nutella, Jet Puff Marshmallow stuff and salted caramel sauce.

I plopped some nutella on one side of the graham crackers.Salted Caramel Nutella S'mores

Added some caramel sauce and  a little extra sea salt (for some reason I never quite get the “salt” in the salted caramel stuff I buy so I add more).salted Caramel S'mores

Jet Puff Marshmellow stuff went on the other sideSalted Caramel and Nutella S'mores

and then……

OK, so I work with Envirotex Epoxy Resin a lot.  I mean A LOTEnvirotex Lite Projects by Cheltenham RoadIf you’ve tried it you know it’s a terrific product but it does produce bubbles as it cures and the only way pop them is to blow on them.  So I spent a lot of time blowing on the bubbles through a straw.  This works great until you are momentarily distracted, forget what your doing but remember there is a straw in your mouth and accidentally inhale rather than exhale and epoxy your tongue.

So

I purchased this little mini blow torch gadget.mini blow torch

It works amazingly well and saves all sorts of time (and your tongue)

AND

whattyaknow! it works on s’mores too!Nutella Salted Caramel S'mores

Question: Is it wrong to claim the blow torch as a business expense if I also used it for s’mores?  I SWEAR it’s only this one time……..

Pro-tip: do not try to take pictures of yourself using a blow torch on marshmallows.  You will note that the corner of that upper-right graham cracker is, perhaps, a bit….redder then they usually are…….1330993075_Fire_Bad_

Moving on!

One good smoosh and.Salted Caramel Nutella S'mores

SALTED CARAMEL NUTELLA S’MORES!!!!!!Rainy Day Snack S'mores Salted Caramel and Nutella

The perfect rainy afternoon diet busting, guilt inducing, tax compromising treat!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

13 responses »

  1. LOL… I think we need to make sure you aren’t left unsupervised in the future!

    Reply
  2. O M G….I’m not even into salt or Nutella and it all looked good to me!
    Life would SUCK without s’mores– summer or winter, rain or shine! But give me chocolate!
    hmmmmmmm……..blow torch. That’s brilliant! I may need to get me one of those–
    Catherine

    Reply
  3. David, you never cease to make me laugh! I thought I liked you before, but now I like you even more because I also love Nutella, in fact I eat it almost every morning on bread with peanut butter! (I’ve also been known to eat it out of the jar with a spoon)

    Reply
    • Picture this: both nutella and the peanut butter jars are open on the counter. You dip a spoon in one and then the other. I’m not saying the I have or would do that. Heaven for-fend. Just, you know…. putting it out there.

      Reply
  4. Karla Karanza

    This is your best post ever. Oh, and I’m on my over.

    Reply
  5. Clearly, you may deduct/depreciate the blowtorch ONLY if you blog post every consumption of torch-enhanced S’mores. Problem solved!

    Reply
  6. ChrisinanRVinMN

    I did not know that it was possible to set a graham cracker on fire. You teach me so much, David! (And make me hungry for large quantities of Nutella)!

    Reply
  7. You’re killing me – these sound SO good!

    Oh wait, I have Nutella and marshmallows in my pantry too! I sure hope I’ve got some graham crackers, or I might need to make a midnight run to Walmart!

    Reply
  8. It is raining and in the house are nutella, graham crackers, hershey bars, marshmallows and condensed milk (from which comes salted caramel) and a brulee torch. Hmm….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

