RSS Feed

My Own Hollywood Backlot in the Backyard

I’ve been ramping up the factory this past week getting prepped for two, big, new shows.

First up is Rendezvous MarketRendezvous Market Santa Monica

This is a new one (for me and them – first time!) and I’m looking forward to it.

After that comes the Jakalope Festival in lovely Pasadena.3f6dde38-e134-4175-903d-746c5a8520f8

I’ve heard great things about this show and Pasadena is one of my favorite places.

So, of course, this means that my life of late (and going forward) is all about building up inventory so there are….

coasters  coasters everywhereCoasters Coasters Everywhere

Not my favorite look for the dining room but such is life.

In the meantime (because endlessly detailing the fact that I’m making coasters somehow does not make for compelling blog reading) I wanted to share photo set-up that I put together.

So photography is…not my favorite aspect of all of this.  I’m just not very good at it.

I bought a fancy new camera a while ago and a tome of an instruction book that just sits here on my desk….mocking me.

I mean, I’m improving but it’s all a bit beyond me – so many buttons!!!! So many math-like things to adjust!  So many considerations about where the sun is at that particular moment.

Anyway, I was trying to get a picture of that little chair I did for my last Mod Podge Rocks projectIkea chair makeover by Cheltenham Road but I was having a terrible time.

I couldn’t find a good spot in the house, I couldn’t get a good angle on it.  But I was so pleased with the project and I wanted a good shot.

I decided to go outside but then all I got were horrible shadows and more frustration until I noticed a spot up against the back of the house  that was shaded and I had

AN IDEA!

I wanted to make the chair look like it was sitting in a room so I grabbed one of my work tables, some old boards I had that were painted white and a chunk of beadboard leftover from a show display.

I pushed the table up against the back of my house to hold up the beadboard and just laid the wood pieces down like a floor.

And then got fancy adding another piece of wood as a “baseboard” and clamped another across the top as a “chair rail”.

Easy Photo Shoot set up

Once you crop it down to “edit” out the edges it looks sorta like an actual room.Easy chair makeover idea by Cheltenham Road

It’s a bit bright and still a little flat but so much better than what I was getting and so easy to set up.

I even could swap out the back wall by just using any other random piece of board that was large enough

How about white!DSC_4526

Perhaps blue!Decoupage Kids Chair with bok covers by Cheltenham RoadI settled on green.  I always choose green (Kermit is my spirit animal).

I’m so happy because this could be just the ticket for solving a lot of my photo-taking-problems going forward (there is kind of a list).

I just need to create some fake-but-interesting walls to hang HOME signs and Subway signs on!

It’s like my own little Hollywood backlot!

OK, gotta go make more coasters.

And HOME signs

And Magnets

And Knobs

And Candle Blocks

And Subway Signs

And Patent Signs

And coasters

Or perhaps a nap……..

Life is all about options.

 

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

12 responses »

  1. love the way you “staged” the photo shoot! very Hollywood! cue the song, “Hooray for Hollywood” 😉

    Denise

    Reply
  2. Or donuts?

    Reply
  3. I’ve been pretty desperate many times for a decent backdrop, since my house is too cluttered to use most of the time. Yours sounds like a great idea!

    Reply
  4. Great backdrop! I like how you showed us the whole uncropped view! Quite a few bloggers have made backdrops and it does help make your products look more professional. We are all expected to be pros at everything these days… including professional photographers. I’m with you, I have a lovely camera, but all those buttons just overwhelm me.

    Reply
  5. Hey David–maybe you might want to build a backdrop wall like Gail did- http://www.myrepurposedlife.com/photography-backdrops-and-floors/.
    Or you could always do like lazy me (space issues) and hang a clean dropcloth down and out for total emphasis on the item!
    Good luck with your shows–I LUV Pasadena too! Now, for that nap you suggested….; D
    Catherine

    Reply
    • That wall is amazing! Thanks for the link.
      I usually use a table cloth hung from the kitchen wall onto the kitchen table. It’s ok for smaller things like coasters but I’m hoping this will work well for the larger items I make. It will also help me to stop messing up Every. Single.Room. In. The. House

      Reply
  6. LOVE it!! Think the staging looks great and the chair is fabulous. Makes me sad my kids are too old for such a cute thing… and I hope I’m at least 15 years from having grandkids! I will continue to admire it from a distance!

    Reply
  7. they have backdrops in the party section at hobby lobby. i think the brick one would work great for your signs.

    http://www.hobbylobby.com/p/132750

    they also have wood.

    http://www.hobbylobby.com/Art-Supplies/Project-Supplies/Office-Supplies/Weathered-Wood-48%22-x-12'-Pacon-Fadeless-Roll-Paper/p/101698

    there may be others that would work as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

