RSS Feed

Children’s Chair Makeover Tutorial and a huge THANK YOU!

First of all a HUGE THANK YOU to all of you who went out and pinned (and favorited which was very kind as well) stuff from Etsy.

Etsy is going through a bunch of behind-the-scenes changes and it’s sort of messing with my views on there but I just have to show you something.

These were my stats for Saturday – which were crazy low:CR Stats March 19

And these were my shop stats after you all got to work!CR Stats March 20And the ripple has continued so, truly, THANK YOU!

In other news.

My hinted at furniture project for Mod Podge Rocks is up and ready for review.Ikea chair makeover by Cheltenham Road

So, some background.

I come from a family of readers.

My grandfather had a full-fledged library in his basement complete with a card catalogue.

As a kid our pre-dinner ritual was to gather around the table and read a book aloud (this devolved eventually into just snacking and drinking martinis* which is an equally valuable use of time).

Some of my fondest memories are of my dad reading to me at bedtime and I still have the abridged Classic Tales books he used. (Of course, being a petulant and not particularly bright child, when I was mad at him I would REFUSE TO ALLOW HIM TO READ TO ME! and I’m sure he was like, “son, you’re an idiot. Go to bed”)

I was also one of those children whose mom had to say “I’m taking your book away and you are going outdoors!” on a semi-regular basis.

Anyway.  Books.  Good!

So, when I saw this little chair at the thrift store I had one of those moments when you know EXACTLY what you’re going to do and you take it home and do EXACTLY what you had in mind.Child Chair Makeover with Mod Podge Ikea Hack Tutorial

I love those moments.

Rare as they are……

As a bonus it was crazy easychair makeover tutorial by Cheltenham Road

and didn’t take very long – most of the time was spent waiting for things to dry.Easy chair makeover idea by Cheltenham Road

I hope you enjoy the full tutorial and thanks so much again for all the support!

*just to be clear I was not allowed to drink martinis as a child.  HOWEVER, as a child I thought I loved olives.  But once, when offered one outside my loving home, I didn’t like it.  So, in actuality, I didn’t love olives….I loved gin – namely the gin-soaked olives I would beg from my parents.  This realization has helped explain a lot.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

12 responses »

  1. We are such kindred spirits.

    BTW, I have three school chairs for you to Mod Podge or at least two.

    D

    Reply
  2. chris aka monkey

    i am glad i could help and i love love this chair, wish i had 2 for my grandsons who get read to every night and the olives were what i liked about martinis also xx

    Reply
  3. I love your chair and I hate olives!
    Now you need to make a grown up one.

    Reply
  4. Glad to help with the Etsy project! Your work is great.
    As a fellow Midwesterner, I also love my books. Your Grandpa had a catalogued library…too cool. My Mom used to tell me to go outside too…I told her it was hot, there were bugs and I would get dirty…ha. Crafts and books….I so enjoy your stories….never had gin……:)

    Reply
  5. I am from a family of book lovers as well. My brother and his wife have a small bungalow in Berkeley, CA. They actually cracked the foundation of their home from the weight of all his books. We had a couple of friends help us unload boxes from our U-Haul rental truck during one of our many moves. And after lugging yet again another box marked, ‘books,” they both declared, “you either need more friends or fewer books!” But it’s a wonderful sickness to have. Real books (with “real” pages) need no batteries, electricity, or the internet. If it all went away tomorrow, I’d have plenty to keep me entertained. Love, love, love the chair!

    Reply
  6. Love, what a great kid’s chair–as a former elementary teacher, I am in love with this! Thank you for linking up to the Talk of the Town link party.

    Reply
  7. Such a cool chair! I’ve always been a huge book lover too. I bet I’d love them even more had they been served with gin :).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

