RSS Feed

The Customer’s Always Bright. And a Small Favor!

So, as you know I’ve been noodling around with new ideas.

I like noodling!  It’s fun!

But while I’ve been noodling my customers have been coming up with concrete requests.

Susan wondered if I could work on a line of coasters with a sewing theme.Sewing Room Coaster Set by Cheltenham RoadYes!  Yes I can!

I’ve been meaning to do something like this for a long time so I truly appreciate  Susan getting me in gear.  And they are now listed in my Etsy shop

Sewing Drink Coaster Set by Cheltenham RoadGeorge – who should probably stay away from sharp needles – had a slightly boozier request.

Could I make patent art bar ware coasters?

Why yes!  Yes I can!

Coaster Set Barware graphicsDwayne changed gears and inquired if I could put together a HOME sign for his home state of Mississippi

Yes!  Yes I can!HOME sign for Mississippi by Cheltenham Road

Mississippi HOME sign on EtsyAnd I have, of course, always had my retro 50s “Advice for Women” coaster set – because they crack me up as they were all written by a man (of course). Retro 50s coaster set by Cheltenham Road

But Theresa wondered if there were a few more options to round out the party favors for an upcoming bridal shower?

Why yes!  yes there are!

Retro 50s Advice Coaster Sets by Cheltenham Road

Because why be content to “have a more successful personality” when you could also,

Make Up – and LIVE!!!Vintage 50s coaster set by Cheltenham RoadAnd now for the favor that was foreshadowed in the title of this post

The FavorPinterest is one of my favorite sites and a huge (actually, main) source of traffic for this blog.  This is awesome!  I love the group that has sprung up here. I love that it’s growing and your ideas, suggestions and feedback really keep me going.

However, Etsy is where my income is generated and, for some reason, I get almost no Pinterest traffic headed to my Etsy shop and Pinterest is kind of a key to success in this scenario.

So, here’s the favor.

If each of you could go to my Etsy shop and just pin a couple of things it would be a huge help!

Just to be clear – I’m not asking you to purchase anything – I’m hoping for the “ripples in the pond” effect where you pin it and your followers see it and they pin it etc etc.

Please pin directly from Etsy (ie not from this blog) so that potential customers are taken directly to my store.

Thanks so much!  I can’t tell you how much I truly appreciate it.

Coming up soon a (minor) return to working on furniture!!  I’ve really  missed doing furniture but I got to work on a fun little project for my next Mod Podge Rocks tutorial and I’m looking forward to sharing it.Child Chair Makeover with Mod Podge Ikea Hack Tutorial

 

 

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

14 responses »

  1. I would love to see the HOME sign for the city of Pittsburgh! There are a lot of Steeler fans that would love it!

    Reply
  2. chris aka monkey

    pinned xx

    Reply
  3. I really enjoy your work and your blog. I was happy to pin a few of your etsy listings.

    Reply
  4. Going to go pin from Etsy now. Have you tried the promoted pins on Pinterest. I don’t know what they cost or if they’re worth it and you probably know about them anyway.

    Reply
    • Hi Lyn! Thanks very much. I will confess I’m a bit baffled by Promoted Pins and how they work. Also I feel like this model the social media platforms have adopted – ie “we’ll provide you all this for free until your hooked and then we’ll ask you to pay for it (FaceBook did the same thing)” is a bit too close to how drug dealers operate for me to feel totally on-board with it.
      But you’re right – I should investigate more.

      Reply
  5. Those instruction to women coasters are fabulous, and a GREAT idea for bridesmaids gifts. Is there some “wedding circuit” you can get into?

    Reply
  6. pinned a few things!

    Denise

    Reply

Leave a Reply

