RSS Feed

(S)Knob Appeal Handmade Knobs and Forgetting Things

As those of you who have patiently followed along for a while know – I keep trying to make knobs.Cheltenham Road

Custom Knobs Tutorial by Cheltenham RoadFinished Knobs Up CloseAnd I’ve succeeded. I just haven’t succeeded in a way that either:

  1.  made me totally happy
  2.  proved to be not a kind of  messy, pain in the neck.oops

But, through patience (OK, not patience exactly, I just got excited, bought a lot of knobs, got frustrated and then ignored the whole thing for a very long time until I finally found a more workable idea.  It’s a genius business strategy that will surely take me straight to the top!), trial and error, and a fair amount of wasted supplies I think I’ve made a product that I’m satisfied with.

There are round ones and square ones – up first – square.

I thought I’d do a little tribute to the mad skills of  my mom and sisters and make some using vintage measuring tape graphics.  Fun for a sewing room perhaps?measuring tape knobsI grabbed some of the vintage postcard graphics I use on my trays and that dresserVintage Postcard Handmade Knobs by Cheltenham Road

And finally, just for a bit of fun, some vintage romance comic book graphicsVintage Romance Comic Handmade Knobs by Cheltenham RoadI rolled them out at the Long Beach Patchwork Show last weekend.

People liked them!

People bought them!

I have to make more!

I’m very tired!

My full wine charm collection also debuted at Patchwork and sold out!….well, sort of debuted……and sorta sold out.Wine Charm Display

I got to the show and realized that I had totally, somehow, not packed the table everything was supposed to go on.  Bit of a stumbling block. Book Club Wine Charm Collection by Cheltenham RoadI was saved by the very kind people who put on Patchwork who gave me a loaner table. French ABC Wine Charm Set by Cheltenham RoadAfter overcoming that hiccup I discovered that, though I had a few Wine Charm Sets with me – I’d set the rest of them on the kitchen counter when I made a last minute dive for much needed coffee.Art Opening Wine Charm Set by Cheltenham RoadSo “sold out” is a little less impressive when one acknowledges that there were only six to begin with.

But, it was good to know that folks responded to them!

All of them will be available on Etsy shortly.

Now I just have to actually  bring them (and a table) with me to the next big show: Patchwork Santa Ana!

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

11 responses »

  1. Those knobs are totes adorbs!

    I still love my wine charms!

    Denise

    Reply
  2. LOVE! The knobs and charms are adorable. I will be visiting your Etsy shop since I live a long way away from Cali.

    Reply
  3. I love my wine charms too! Very clever knobs, bro! (try not to take that the wrong way…if there is a wrong way…)

    Reply
  4. You could always make a reminder list of “To Do’s and Take With’s”, put it on a card, punch a hole and hang it round your neck until showtime. Knowing you, it would prob’ly be modpodged (is that a word?) BTW, “Take With” is a traditional Minnesota term 🙂

    Reply
  5. chris aka monkey

    you totally crack me up because you are so like me, love love the knobs xx

    Reply
  6. I love your knobs, but am still partial to the British ones. Your knobs-gone-bad photo is so sad! Also, I am loving my book club wine charms too! I liked the art ones you made with the scream as the designated driver–that makes me laugh out loud! 🙂

    Reply
  7. Love the charms (& the humor), but I’ve got to ask–did you misspell “useful” on the display sign on purpose (i.e., I’ve already enjoyed a little of the crafter’s juice my charm’s been guarding, wink wink), or was this one of those Arrgghh, Really?! moments that you made the best of since you were already dealing with an absentee table? Either way, glad the show went well! P.S. The designated driver charms are AWESOME!

    Reply
    • Um….yes? YES!!! totally intentional! Thank you for catching the oh-so-subtle humor……ARgh! Thank you very much for catching that. I really do wish it was on purpose but, unfortunately, no, I’m just a bad typist who was moving too quickly.

      Reply
  8. David you always do such cool original stuff and so well made (except for the blobby experimental ones… but they are still cool and original).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

