RSS Feed

Creepy Halloween Candy Tray Tutorial

DIY Creepy Crawly Hallween Tray TutorialI do realize that some of you may be a bit over-Halloweened at this point.

I also realize that I talked about those candle holders for something like three posts and I apologize.

But, may I beg your indulgence for juuuuust one more Halloween thing? I promise I will then return to our regular programming (OK, there will be more Halloween things but I will spread them out a bit better).

On a whim I bought (using a coupon) one of those coffin shaped trays that they have at Michaels this year.

I wasn’t totally sure what I was going to do with it but then I saw a bag of plastic cockroaches and a plan was born!! (insider secret – that’s how all my plans start – bags of plastic bugs. It’s a quirky creative process but it’s worked so far).

You see, I have very fond childhood memories of making Creepy CrawlersMATTEL_THINGMAKER_TOY_FEATURING_CREEPY_CRAWLERS_SET_4477_BOX_LID

Now, given my, um, less than coordinated proclivities and the fact that a hot plate was involved it’s somewhat surprising I survived the experience and that my memories aren’t of searing pain.LRCreepyCrawlersMIBB_lgBut I digress.

My sisters did not enjoy Creepy Crawlies.

My sisters did not enjoy finding Creepy Crawlies hidden in their sheets.

I very much enjoyed my sisters finding Creepy Crawlies in their sheets!

So, not having actually matured very much since then I thought, “wouldn’t it be fun if when people reached for their candy they uncovered bugs!!!!????!!!!”DIY Halloween Tray TutorialAnd thus my latest Mod Podge Rocks project was born!

It’s pretty dang easy! There is just a bit of patience required as the dry times at various stages can be kinda long.

Also, did you know they still make Creepy Crawlers?! I was amazed. That was one of those toys I thought would be deemed to be far too dangerous these days.

And now I realize I have a trip back home to Ohio to visit my sisters coming up……..oh the possibilities………

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

14 responses »

  1. never too much Halloween!

    creepy crawlers! yay!

    Denise

    Reply
  2. I do remember these! I remember making them with you! I remember finding them in my bed! I remember finding them in my closet! I remember….my dear, baby brother…..I remember some things I did back to you! Looking forward to your visit! Love Halloween!!!

    Reply
  3. chris aka monkey

    so you were one of those brothers huh? revenge is sweet lol cool idea xx

    Reply
  4. I don’t think there is such a thing as too much Halloween, You get to wear a costume if you wish, no presents to buy, no cards to mail and there is candy every where. Sounds like a win, win. I am surprised that that toy is still available since there is some danger involved and nowadays, people act as though children are too stupid and have to be protected from EVERYTHING. I am reminded of Margaret Mead writing that children were given knives to use in their cultures. Children have to be taught to be careful, not just protected and wrapped in bubble wrap.
    Off my soapbox…you sound like a fun little brother, I am the little sister who had a fun loving big brother.

    Reply
  5. Oh I remember playing (and getting burned) with that set in the 60’s…and I still have my kids set from the 80’s (yes I actually bought it for them). I loved Creepy Crawlers. Your candy tray is great!

    Reply
  6. Loving the laughing … AND the tray, of course 🙂

    Reply
  7. WOW flashback! My brothers and I had one of those machines, didn’t it get really hot and have some kind of a unique smell to it… the melting plastic? Headed to see the tutorial.

    Reply
  8. I feel like I must have missed out on an essential childhood experience – I NEVER made Creepy Crawlies! What a fun coffin tray – creepies and all! 🙂

    Reply
  9. If only I had known, I just pitched a Creepy Crawler Set that I had when I was kid. Could have saved parts of it for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

