RSS Feed

Boo! Halloween in August

Cheltenham Road Scare LA BoothWhew!

Made it through Scare LA and had a great weekend (except for, um…. breaking my toe. Because I think we can all agree I needed a new extremity to smack into things. Bashing one’s head is sooooo 2014).

And now, NOW I’m totally psyched for Halloween!…

In August…..

Which seems a bit early frankly.

I have several project I want to share but….

Would you look at them and think, “interesting but I’m not ready to think Halloween yet David?”

I wouldn’t blame you.

I wasn’t ready either. The show forced me.

I very much appreciated all your insights about the Glowing Eyes Candle holders (I get it! No glitter! What can I say? I was going through an experimental phase!”) – thank you very much!

And after some more toying around (paper, paint technique and color) they really worked out well.

They look suitably Victorian and grim in regular lightHaunted Halloween Candle Holders by Cheltenham Roadand suitably creepy in dim light!Glowing Eyes Candle Holder for HalloweenI can so see these in rows along a mantle or clustered on a table at some really cool Halloween party.Glowing Eyes Candle Holders for Halloween by Cheltenham RoadOne of my customers said she was going to leave it in her bathroom to freak out her guests. Glowing Eyes Candle Holders for Halloween by Cheltenham RoadAnd, best of all, they sold out at the show!

Happily, I took pics along the way for a tutorial but…..too early?

I also worked up some new displays.

The tea light holders got a new little cubbyhole display.Halloween Candle Blocks by Cheltenham Road

OK there are a few finishing touches for it that I ran out of time to complete such as, you know, a back……but I’ll get it done!

And this… whatever it is….mail sorter? from MichaelsGalvanized Metal and Wood Mail sorter

was easy to change over into a display for my magnets and labels with a little paint and some hinges.Magnet and Label Display Rack by Cheltenham Road

So it’s all “on deck” so- to- speak. And my brain is stuck in Halloween mode and new ideas are coming.

But it’s August!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

11 responses »

  1. Looking good! Not too early for buying Fall items! I’ll be putting them up as soon as my kids go back to school on the 27th–maybe not the Halloween items, but who knows?

    I forgot to put my Halloween magnets (ones you made) away last year–they’re still on my refrigerator. My husband thought I did it on purpose. I just missed them as I went room-by-room collecting items to put away.

    Denise

    Reply
    • we are clearly kindred spirits – that one dumb ornament is still sitting on the buffet in the dining room and now it seems truly pointless to put it away since Christmas will be here so soon……

      Reply
  2. Never too early for Halloween! What fun. I always love seeing your creative displays. I wish my brain worked like that. Happy sales!

    Reply
  3. It isn’t too early to be thinking about making things for Halloween or Fall. I’m working on several projects now so that they might actually be finished before rather than after! Love your little cubbyhole display (even without the backing).

    Reply
  4. David, LOVE the glowing eyes candles! I for one, would love to see a tutorial asap. Thanks!

    Reply
  5. Well, the toe puts you one up on me in the “bumbling bumps” category . . . but I HAVE been starting Halloween stuff. Like Jackie, I’m trying to get things done WAY before the holiday 🙂
    As usual, your projects are VERY COOL!

    Reply
  6. Jordan Quickel

    I say leave the cubbyhole display as is. It will allow you display them from both sides, and place them so people coming down either side of the aisle will be able to see your handwork.

    Reply
  7. chris aka monkey

    awesome just plain dam awesome xx

    Reply
  8. Of course I love your Halloween stuff – and it’s never too early! AAAND the blocks I got from you several years ago are in my Halloween themed bathroom. Yep, I have a bathroom in my studio that has a Halloween theme all year :0

    Reply

Leave a Reply

