RSS Feed

DIY Photo Display and Global Economics

Easy DIY Photo Display Project Cheltenham RoadSo, one of the symptoms of my DIY-illness is that I seldom see something in a store and think “I should buy that!” Instead I almost always think “I want to make that.”

I also want to drop everything and make it RIGHT NOW!

That’s fine but the downside is that I often find myself really, really chomping at the bit to make my version of something that is already being mass-manufactured overseas – which can feel a bit silly. I’m not keen on falling into the category ofwhy make itBUT! (you knew this was coming)

When you DIY it you can customize to make it your own.

That’s my justification and I’m sticking to it.

Such was the case when my friend Aimee pulled me into Michaels, pointed at one of those Maker Market photo display and asked if I could make one for her but in different colors.

“HAH! Perfect justification!” thought I – and got to work. The project also doubled as my latest Mod Podge Rocks Tutorial – so you can see all the steps if you are so inclined.  Spoiler Alert: There aren’t many.

It proved to be fun and sooooo easy and versatile that I actually made several. Some using scrap book paper,Easy DIY Photo Display Tutorial

some using prints of old postcardsPhoto Display Tutorial by Cheltenham Road

and some just painted and distressed.

Shape, size, color – they sky is the limit on these!  So why buy them?!

Cheltenham Road: Undermining the Chinese Economy One Project At A Time

Knick of Time Inspiration Party

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

14 responses »

  1. I absolutely love you and this blog. Highlight of my morning. I know exactly what you mean!!! We just cannot help ourselves can we!?!? Keep calm and craft on!!!
    Jenny

    Reply
  2. Jackie @ Refurbished Goods

    David….I do the same thing. I see something I love in a store and think….’well yes I could just buy it but it seems so simple that I feel guilty for not making my own’ Soooooo numerous hours and dollars later I usually have a replica that looks like it was made by a blind child. But, I soon forget that when I see the next thing that I am positive I can make and so it goes…. glad I am not alone. And girls…I get thirdsies.

    Reply
  3. Man o man, I luv these easy ones. This will be great for all my tween & teen Christmas gifts. Yay! Thanks, David.

    Reply
  4. Love your humor, wit ,imagination and skills = great blog
    Just a little typo on photo title EASY DIY PHOTO DISLAY caught my eye
    Keep on truckin’ Wishin you continued success

    Reply
  5. Only $92 worth of craft supplies! Where does this smart shopper find these deals?

    Reply
  6. You’re my “pick of the week” at the Vintage Inspiration Party, because as usual, you knocked my socks off! 🙂 Love this project!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

