RSS Feed

New Products, Puttering Around and PIE!

Thanks very much to all who entered the Big Book of Mod Podge raffle!

I had added the question about “where did you hear about Cheltenham Road?” out of pure curiosity and had anticipated that most people would say “I’m your sister’s friend.”

I did not anticipate that many of you would simply say really, really nice things (I didn’t expect you to say mean things either I just didn’t expect the compliments). It wasn’t my intention to go fishing but boy the fishing was fine and VERY much appreciated.

The lucky winner (randomly chosen by Rafflecopter) was Suzanne who did admit that her husband is an actual factual magician so there may have been some Harry Potterness going on there but I’m not going to question it.

July is usually a pretty slow for me but this year has been a good balance of steady sales (keeping my one-man-factory chugging along) and time to toy with new ideas.

The latter is truly the most fun – just puttering away and playing the “what if I…..” game.

Would you like to play along?

I’m getting ready for the big Scare LA show in a couple of weeks so my thoughts have turned to Halloween.

I love the graphics on Ouija boards and thought they’d make fun coasters. But I can’t decide if I like the ones I made that show the full boardvintage Ouija Board Coaster Set by Cheltenham RoadOr if I prefer the style that just captures a section of the board.fun Halloween Coasters by Cheltenham Road

Thoughts?

All I know for sure is that the packaging should say something like, “useful for summoning dessert.”

Well, actually it should be “useful for summoning spirits” (meaning alcohol but I can’t figure out how to make the joke work).

Or perhaps just “not for use at graveyard dinner parties or in homes where the host has recently been murdered.”

I also wanted to try a slightly different version of the Glowing Eyes Luminaries I created for Mod Podge Rocks last year Last Minute Mod Podge Halloween Decoration Tutorial Cheltenham Road

but use smaller candle holders.spooky, glowing eye Halloween candle holders by Cheltenham road

I played around with adding glitter to one but I’m not sure I’m ever actually in favor of glitter. I was hoping it would make them kind of ethereal but it strikes me as more of a “yay! Unicorns and ponies!” effect than a “creep me out” effect at the moment.

I do kinda like the “blood” dripping down the side though – always pleasant.

I’m a bit stuck as to size. Small tea light size or bigger so they have more impact?

Of course, not everything was Halloween based as I was getting my next Mod Podge Rocks project goingDIY Photo Display Tutorial Cheltenham Road for Mod Podge RocksAnd finally, though this is not a food blog I did make these beauties for a Sharknado 3! viewing party.peanut butter pretzel chocolate pies

It’s a long standing gathering – a group of us have hooted through all previous versions and I’m often in charge of dessert.

Chocolate, peanut butter pretzel pie.chocolate peanut butter pretzel pie in a jar

I put them in jars to make life easier.

The recipe was courtesy of Becky Sue at Baking the Goods  and it was very easy to make.

OK, back to puttering – and perhaps the gym since I ate about four of those pies (good cooks test their food!)….I should probably clean the house too.

Or I could putter some more!!!!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

22 responses »

  1. Don’t tell Baker Beth, but you’re dessert looks amazing! As good as her frosted brownies!

    I like the full Ouija board–it was invented in Baltimore! The actual board–the game itself is ancient! The other ones are fine, just prefer the full board.

    Love those glowing eyes centerpiece.

    I’ve made a variation of your DIY easy photo display using small clipboards, covered in card stock and printed paper, and then attached extra mini clips (for more photos) and ribbon to decorate it up. place it sideways for another way to display!

    Happy Crafty Sunday!

    Denise

    Reply
  2. I’m with Denise – go with the full board!!! And I love the “useful for summoning spirits” tag line! Very apropos!!! About the votives, why not offer both sizes?? And the glitter – while not exactly unicorns and ponies, I don’t think it adds a ghoul factor either.

    Reply
  3. I think you get the best effect with using the full boards. And I too love the “useful for summoning spirits” line…very clever! I love glitter but in this case I don’t feel it agrees with the tone of your votive project. As far as what size candleholder, you can do both. If you do the taller ones you can get battery votives that are taller, not tealight size. You want the flicker flame to reach high enough to get the effect in the eyes.
    As always, your postings show your talent and your witty repartee makes me smile!

    Reply
  4. I’m on the full board side and the no glitter group. The dessert looks amazing…are you cooking the next time you are with us? Also, even if all your followers were actually my friends, that wouldn’t diminish their love for your blog…you are great! And now we are all friends because of you!
    Phebe

    Reply
  5. I prefer the full board showing and no glitter on the candle holders. You could make the small votive jars have lower eyes, like rats and crows towards the bottom, and the big jars with people-faces, like you’ve already done (magnificently, I might add).

    I keep staring at the dessert you made, wondering if I’m missing a secret homage to sharks or tornadoes, but I see no connection?

    Reply
  6. Jackie @ Refurbished Goods

    Thank you for cheering up my Sunday 🙂

    Reply
  7. Full board, no glitter. Love

    Reply
  8. Wow you’ve been busy, but GLITTER, David? Really! LOL
    (Full board, tall candles, spirits!)

    Reply
  9. Viewing party.
    uh-huh…

    Anyhow — one option with the Ouija board is to make a single board comprised of six coasters. Sell the set for a bit more, maybe even with a divining piece, and the coasters are both fun and useful.

    Reply
  10. Hmmmmmmm. I am the odd duck. Usual, per my life. I like the partial board, as long as it has the ouija logo that eludes to it. Hello?? Ouija is about mystery and not giving you the whole picture. But, you have to think of sales, so guess you better hope this duck flies south soon,

    I have actually been a stalker since I found you on Pinterest a year or so ago. First time caller! Then, I subscribed and then I favorited your Etsy shop. You not only inspire me through your creativity but I enjoy your humor and fun perspective on life. And no, I didn’t enter your raffle, but I will tell you to keep on, keeping on, bc I personally look forward to opening each email as i see it in my inbox. (This one took longer to get to bc I left the hubby and 3 teens behind for a week to travel 2500 miles to the middle of nowhere for a reunion. Don’t blame them for not joining me, as we rented an RV and did the same tour a few years ago. The trip actually became a gift to me to have all this time with myself)

    So, yeah. Like you, I like the partial and I am going to tell you unsolicited compliments, as well as thank you, not only inspiring us, but sharing your brilliant creativity with us. Hope LA and all other shows are positively flowing with sales and that your cup of creativity never empties.

    Resuming stalker status now. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks very much for uncloaking and commenting Terri! I stalk a lot of blogs myself so I totally get it but I also truly appreciate the feedback.
      And, wow! that is a heck of a journey for a reunion but I’m so glad you’re enjoying one-on-one time – those kind of trips can be awesome.
      Have a great time and thanks again.

      Reply
  11. I’m not a fan of the full board. Looks just a bit too perfect. I like the partial images because they make me look a little harder and make it just more fun and playful. As for the glitter…. no, just no. 🙂

    Reply
  12. If you ever do glitter for any purpose, I propose ONE color. The multi-colored glitter smacks of kids-craft or over-zealous raver. But metallics (especially rose-gold) are “in”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

