RSS Feed

Tiny Bathroom Makeover: DONE!

So.

A long time ago in a makeover far, far away I started work on the teeny tiny bathroom just off my office.

I got the ball rolling, got it pretty much all the way done and then, as I often do, got distracted by something sparkly.

And there it sat. The most expensive makeover of the smallest room imaginable was sorta stuck in between.

Some of you, very thoughtfully, asked about it a few times.

I ignored you (and I apologize.  I was kind of embarrassed).

But, I’m happy to report that it is now:

DONE!

Almost DONE!…..

Done enough to show you!

To back up, this is the tiny, Keebler Elf outhouse situated between my office and the laundry room. It is 3′ 6″ wide 9′ long, possesses two doors and no storage.  In other words: Perfection!Worlds Dumbest BathroomIt was awkward, poorly thought out and. as you can see, in pretty sad shape.

The initial goal was just to spruce it up. But, as often happens, that goal morphed and “sprucing it up” became “almost gut it and try again!”

Trouble started early when we discovered that the wall was full of giant pipes that did nothing but had be removed – along with the usual old-house-randomly-placed-studs –  to make room for the space-saving wall cabinet.stupid pipes

(warning, the “after” pics herein are a bit goofy. The space is so small that there is no way to back up enough to capture it. In some of these pics I’m, basically, lying on the floor in the next room. In a couple of them I’m actually standing outside on a ladder shooting in through the window and thereby giving my neighbors yet another reason to describe me as “pleasant but odd”)

It was a hassle (and sorta expensive) but the final result came out better than I’d imagined.Between the Studs wall cabinet

between the studs wall cabinetUp next was the sink. Worlds Dumbest BathroomI found a small one at Ikea but, to make the space seem bigger, wanted it to mount to the wall rather than the cabinet they provided. But, I still wanted storage space. A clever cabinet maker came up with this solution. wall mounted sink for a tiny bathroomThe sink sits on a shelf, with a drawer beneath that fits around the plumbing.

The rather iffy shower Stunning Tile Job - Worlds Dumbest Bathroomgot a nice subway tile makeover (the floor got new tile too)Subway Tile Shower

and more wall niches mean bottles and such are available but out of the way in the now stylish, coffin-like compact space.Shower Niches save space

And for a finishing touch, my sister Paula had given me these awesome vintage camera prints (she’s clearly been paying attention) vintage camera print gallery wal Cheltenham Roadland with some black frames they go perfectly with the black/white look of the room.

Tiny Bathroom Makeover

So, makeover done! Now I just need some very tiny people to come over and visit.  Anyone out there connected with the Barnum and Baily operation or a traveling production of The Wizard of Oz?  If so, please give them my number.

REMINDER!

Don’t forget!  Today is the last day to enter my giveway for a copy of  The Big Book of Mod Podge.  Please head on over to the raffle site to enter!

The contest goes until midnight tonight (Monday) and is open to folks in the US and Canada.  No purchase is necessary.

Your Turn To Shine Link Party

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

21 responses »

  1. Love it! Great job, David!

    I have a 10yob, and I”m short, so, we’ll be right over to check it out! (JK–the part about coming over).

    Reply
  2. Dang – I wish I was a little person! 🙂
    Seriously though – it looks amazing now!

    Reply
  3. Wonderful! I love the organized look of the storage. And for a small space it is very light and bright. How satisfying.

    Reply
  4. Your latest little gem led me back to the rest of your “tour” pics. VERY NICE! 5 stars for all the fantastic storage ideas you came up with. Ya gave me hope for my weird walk-through laundry/furnace room. Hhmm 🙂

    Reply
  5. You did a wonderful makeover without much to work with, it couldn’t have been better! You must be happy that the neighbours at least find you to be “pleasant!”

    Reply
  6. You really are a very talented guy! Your bathroom turned out great. One of these days my husband and I are going to tackle ours…not looking forward to that.
    I especially enjoy your commentary as always. It makes me smile. I picture you at odd angles to get the camera shots. Embrace our oddness…it is what makes us unique!

    Reply
    • Thanks Lorrie! I’m not totally sure if I “embraced my oddness” or if my oddness snuck up from behind and tackled me. Either way we’re pretty inseparable at the moment.

      Reply
  7. I love the ‘after’! Just one question…who was doing jumping jacks on the soap dispenser in the ‘before’ pic? Any way to stop that madman before he jumps again??

    Reply
  8. Jackie @ Refurbished Goods

    Bravo!!

    Reply
  9. Great makeover!! Wow!!

    Reply
  10. Very nice! And a pretty little light over the sink too. I like the sink drawer idea–kind of reminiscent of a farmhouse sink from the pics. Nice recessed storage (including the little toilet paper holder), and the shower looks clean and inviting. I like how the bathroom floor matches the shower floor–gives it flow and probably makes it look just a tad bigger. Brilliant, David!

    Reply
    • Thanks! (the shower looks clean and inviting because no one has actually ever used it. I will have to break it one of these days now that I’ve actually covered the window that looks directly into the neighbor’s bedroom)

      Reply
  11. “Pleasant but odd” is my favorite type of person! Guess it’s time to re-open the Cheney-Garcia home for wayward girls.

    Reply
  12. David,
    This is pure MAGIC…my husband (a magician) wants to know if he can have his magic wand back!!! LOL! Turned out perfectly & taking the size of the space into consideration, I’d say a true masterpiece! Sometimes I find that it is better to leave a project and return when the ideas have had a chance to “mature” (like fine wine) before they are written in stone, ah, or in this case tile!

    P.S. My husband will let you borrow that wand again whenever you need to. But to me your magic is lasting, not like his which disappears as soon as it is completed.

    Reply
    • You’re absolutely right about giving ideas room and space to mature. I often find I have to wait and ruminate. I’m not sure in this case that my ideas matured so much as my annoyance with a half finished space overwhelmed me but I do appreciate the perspective!

      Reply
  13. O.M.G. That is amazingly beautiful. You know, I never even realized there was a shower in there! You should sell tickets to let people use it. I think there’s really an app where people rate available bathrooms. You could charge. Another Revenue Stream? A stream from streams….? (Groan. I know – I couldn’t resist.)

    Reply
  14. P.s. that first shot through the door – I love it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

