RSS Feed

Hanging Wall for Craft Show Display….the saga continues

I’m not entirely sure when I ceased to be aware of where my head was in relation to other solid objects.

I don’t recall a childhood filled with embarrassing encounters with monkey bars, desks and other seemingly very avoidable obstacles.  (of course “not remembering” could be the first sign of the problem I guess)

But it has become an……issue.  Which brings me to my latest craft show display idea.  Or rather a revision of an older idea.

You may recall that, a while ago, I came up with this plan that allowed me to display my subway signs by hanging them across the top of the tent.Easy to Make Craft Show Display It looked great!

It worked great!

I smacked my head on it!

Incessantly!

I would say to myself “there’s that thing there don’t hit your head on it” and promptly hit my head on it.

I think we can all agree that nothing says “trust my skills and craftsmanship” like greeting your customers with a trickle of blood rolling down you face having just run into your own display.

Sooooooo a change was needed.

(Also I discovered that while it was great it was also a bit long to fit easily in the Fit)

This time around I wanted to display my new, large, Patent Image signs but I also wanted to survive the experience. So, out came the saw and a redesign.

The goal was smaller pieces that would fit in the car and could also be put together in various combinations.

I cut the slats shorter to make a 3′ squareEasy Craft Show Display Cheltenham Roadand, as before, used hook and eye connections to hang them from both the tent and each other.Craft Show Display Wall Cheltenham Road

It worked pefectly!

They are easy to fit in the car and can either be 6 ft. tall or separated into 3′ long pieces.  Craft Show Display Cheltenham Road Project

But best of all they create a very solid looking wall of stuff. No one could possibly run into it.

NO ONE!

OK, I ran into it.

But just with my shoulder! That’s totally different! (It sounded like the world’s worst designed wind chimes – all clanking wood). Didn’t hurt! Didn’t break (me or the product)!

Craft. Show. Display. Nirvana!

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

17 responses »

  1. Were I not so inclined to suffer the same indignities, I’d suggest ‘repurposing’ a bike helmet and saving the redesign fuss. Just sayin’…

    Reply
  2. This is brilliant. Really innovative. I participate in fairs too and this would be perfect for me. Ofcourse i dont make large frames but shadow boxes.
    .

    Reply
    • I thought this booth display of shadow boxes was pretty awesome. Might or might not work for you – or perhaps might just spark an idea (don’t know if the links will work here but you can see it on my Pinterest page about Craft Show Display
      AotG1
      AotG3

      Reply
  3. You always come up with great ideas! I want you to know that you are not alone in the head-hitting category. I bet most of us who do the tent craft shows has hit their head at least once. It’s the problem of trying to cram too much stuff into a small tent that seems large enough when empty.

    Reply
  4. A brilliant idea, but I would expect no less from you. Also, may I introduce to my friends Mr. Foam and Ms. Hardhat?

    Reply
  5. Was just at a fun art fair yesterday (Eagan, MN) and your prop would have been a big help for some of the vendors. We’ll just stay safe and keep following your “solution” projects! Gotta go lay down now, have an awful headache. The bathroom door reached over and smacked me in the middle of the night.

    Reply
  6. great problem solving skills! lol

    Denise

    Reply
  7. That does look substantial and clean–great way to display your boards. I would wonder why the tent doesn’t start tilting backwards with that extra weight… Maybe I can make something similar to hang my jewelry on…Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    • I hadn’t thought/worried about that potential disaster…….thanks…..I think…….
      You could totally make a small one for your jewelry. I saw a cool display online that used a similar hanging wall (I think it was pegboard) but on the wall they’d hung shadow boxes with different jewelry collections in each one. It was really nice – made it look a bit like an art gallery.
      AotG3

      Reply
  8. I guess you just had to knock some sense into yourself, huh? 🙂

    Reply
  9. You always crack me up.

    LOVE those patent signs!!!

    Reply
  10. I love the patent prints and the way you mount and display them. Are they available to download anywhere? I do hope so.

    Reply
    • Hi Sarah! Thanks so much I’m glad you like them. At the moment I don’t really do the digital download thing (although it’s a good idea which I will add to my “to investigate” list). In the meantime I know there are several Etsy sellers that have patent prints for download – just type “Patent print” into the Etsy search and you’ll find tons.
      Thanks again!

      Reply
  11. I love this idea for an upcoming craft show, but have a few questions: how does this attach to the tent? How does
    This not cause the tent to turn over? Thanks for your great idea!

    Reply
    • Hi Lindsey. Sorry if that wasn’t clear. I use the same combo of “S” hooks and eye screws that I use to connect the two sections together to hang it. Just loop the S hooks over the rails of the tent. As to tipping the tent over I have to say I just never thought about that and it didn’t seem to be a problem. If it is a concern then you could just use tent weights to anchor the legs. Hope that helps. Good luck with the show!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

