RSS Feed

DIY Magnetic Memo Board and…….Halloween?

I, David,  the man who has recently managed to goof up what day he has a big craft show will now speak of organization techniques.

Stop laughing.

Seriously.  It’s one of my (many) summer goals:

  •   Get organized (or re-organized ’cause I was, at one point, pretty well organized)
  •   Get work-flow streamlined, and
  • FIND A PLACE FOR EVERYTHING (desk-piles will no longer be acceptable).

The first stop on that last item is a real-life Pinterest board.

Pinterest has been great but sometimes,  I need to pin actual, tangible, things and have them readily available.

Did you know you could do that?

Now, technically this could qualify as Use What You’ve Got Project 7 but it’s a double agent functioning as my latest Mod Podge Rocks project as well.DIY Magnetic Memo BoardYou can check out the pleasantly simple tutorial over at MPR.

I like the fact that this works magnetically but also serves as a place to jot down notes.Magentic Bulletin Board Tutorial by Cheltenham RoadIt was easy to put together and while I was “using what I had” the same thing could be created with any number of different pieces-parts that you might have around – picture frames, pallet wood scraps etc etc.

Speaking of being organized and getting things planned, did you know that Halloween is coming?

OK, well not super-soon but even before the actual day there is Scare LA!

I did Scare LA last year and really didn’t know what to expect and was completely blown away.  The crowd was large and enthusiastic but, even more importantly, it was a beautifully put together event.  There were speakers and panels, demonstrations and craft areas – truly something for everyone.  And the costumes!!!!  It was pretty awesome.

It’s coming around again this year (August 8th and 9th) to an even bigger venue in Pasadena and I am happy to be participating.

All that was the lead up to say that, if you are a Halloween connoisseur you might want to put it on your calendar (organized!) and, for a while you can get a discount on tickets using the code: SCARECHELT – just click on the pic below to be taken to their siteSCARE LAWhich reminds me, I need to get going….here in June….on Halloween projects!

I also need to clean up these piles on my desk…and make a couple more magnetic boards.  I’m thinking a small one could go right next to my monitor here (in place of the picture) Turn a closet into a desk areathat way I could jot down ideas and keep track of “to-do lists – quickly……because “stop losing your to-do list” should also  be on my To-Do list.

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

9 responses »

  1. I think you and I were separated at birth…I too, wish to be more organized. I envy people who can touch a piece of paper just ONCE and either toss it, file it or take care of it. Frankly, I think with a creative mind comes a mind that sees potential in many, many things. We aren’t black and white, cut and dried, able to purge. I am not judging, because those qualities are ones that I do NOT possess and sometimes wistfully wish for. But, I am who I am and I am not organized. I long to be…I know I don’t need to buy a book about prograstinating because I will not get around to reading it…Hah!
    Thanks for the reminder about Halloween. I adore the holiday and have often thought that it would be an excellent holiday to sell things that I have made. I wish I could come to the sale in Pasadena but I am on the opposite coast.
    Good luck with your summer goals.

    Reply
  2. Hi David, it’s your sister on the coast of Maine. I was just scouring through your site and have a question to ask. I got some fantastic old prints from books that I want to be able to use to make things, but I don’t want to destroy them. I am not very computer savvy. How do I learn how to make copies of fantastic graphics so I can use them again?
    Thank you so much for any help you can provide. When I clean my house, you can come out for a real, Maine vacation!

    Reply
    • Hey Susan…oohhhhh Maine! I loved Maine when I visited there long ago.
      But to the point. Bottom line you want high resolution copies. That means they get scanned at 300-600 DPI (dots per inch), saved as either a JPEG or TIFF and printed on a laser printer. The DPI will guarantee sharp images, the JPEG or TIFF will make it easier to resize the image and the laser print means the colors won’t run if you Mod Podge it.
      If you have a scanner at home you can check the settings. My home scanner has options for what kind of format and for dpi.
      Or, you can take the books and such to Kinko’s or Staples (or any copy place) along with a thumb drive and they can scan them for you, transfer the scan to your thumb drive (so you’ll always have them handy) and also print them to your specifications.
      Hope that helps but if you have any questions don’t hesitate!

      Reply
      • Thanks, sweetie! You are a wonderful teacher. I need to jump into the world of scanning and printing images since there are so many possibilities.

  3. Jackie @ Refurbished Goods

    your monitor mounted on the wall???? What the….that is brilliant….did not know it was possible….that is top of my to do list.

    Reply
  4. I’m the post-it queen for keeping track of stuff.

    Cool office in a closet, David!

    Whatcha making for Old Hallows Eve–do share!

    Denise

    Reply
  5. OMGEE — I made the board. Twice!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

