RSS Feed

Craft Show Display Project

Craft Show Display Idea Cheltenham RoadAs I was getting ready for the Santa Ana Patchwork Show I went a bit into overdrive on my new passion – Patent Graphics.Vintage Patent Prints Cheltenham RoadI’d made large ones but I’d also made some smaller ones that I thought might be appealing.

I wanted some way to display the small ones without having to hang them up on a wall and while I was poking around Michaels I saw this, I don’t know what it is actually…..shelving unit?Michaels Hanging Shelf

It was too small for my needs but it did get my mind going.

So, as I was maniacally trying to finish up all the various coasters, trays, signs and projects for the show I decided that now, YES NOW! was an ideal time to launch into a new display project.

And so, a somewhat unofficial, Use What You’ve Got Project was born  because, you see, there is STILL leftover wood from the dresser.Trash To Treasure Dresser Project Cheltenham RoadThat thing is clearly magical and I’m growing concerned that it was actually a portal to Narnia or something and I’ve totally screwed up.

So I started out with this motley pile.  It’s a piece of the top, one of the supports that held the drawer up, a drawer front and a couple of drawer sides.

Scrap Wood for Craft Show Display Project Cheltenham RoadI used the larger pieces for the base and backer  and I used the rail for the front retaining piece (25″ long). I cut the other piece of wood down to make four dividers.Michaels Display Idea Knock off Cheltenham roadA quick assembly with glue and screws and it was looking OK.  Craft Show Display Project Cheltenham RoadI gave it a quick, light, once-over with some watered down white paint just to cover up the raw wood.  And, since I hate to miss an opportunity to use the Lenk tool these days I decided some text would make it look more official (and cooler).

I just typed out some text, reversed it and attached it to the front and Lenked away!Transfer Text to Wood with the Lenk tool  Cheltenham RoadAnd it worked!  Craft Show Display Idea Project Cheltenham Road It let people flip through their options quickly and because the wood was so old and dried out it is quite light considering its bulk.Image Transfer for Craft Show Display Cheltenham Road Project(Is putting patent images in a Patent Office box a bit too on-the-nose?  I can’t decide.)Craft Show Display Project Cheltenham RoadIt was up front in my booth and the signs got looked over and purchased quickly – mostly sold out by the end of the day.

And now my mind is spinning on a totally new look for my booth in the future.

However, that “future” is soon because up next is the other Patchwork show in Long Beach this coming Sunday!  Lots to do!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

12 responses »

  1. Patent images in a Patent Office box? Definitely perfect! Thanks for the idea and directions. With slightly altered dimensions it’s just what I’ve been looking for, and I (think) I could make one similar for my studio. Glad you’re doing well at your sales! …and while dismantling a Narnia portal would be a major screw up, you would have had sooo much bad juju befall you by now that I don’t think you need to worry.

    Reply
  2. So cool!

    So glad you’re not falling through time by recycling/upcycling up a potential portal–I’m friends with several authors who write time travel and/or parallel universes. Just in case, throw some salt over your shoulder or recite a spell or idiom (“there’s no place like home” sounds good–might even want to click the heels of your favorite Chucks or footwear of choice) to prevent being cursed. (just joking–about the curse; authors are real)

    Denise

    Reply
  3. OMG, I LOVE your blog posts! You crack me up. Whatever obsessive disorder I have, you must have it, too. The busier I am, the more ideas hit my little brain, and then I HAVE to stop and do just this ONE project that’ll make everything perfect!

    Your patent box for the patent signs is fantastic! I love the way you see such incredible potential in an old, beat up piece of furniture. If that was the portal, I have no doubt the Narnia gatekeepers will send you another, because you are awesome.

    Reply
  4. Jackie @ Refurbished Goods

    Patent images in patent box? Winner, winner chicken dinner!!

    Reply
  5. While I’m enamored with your patent images, I’m really in love with the patent image box. I bet the box would be a big seller (but maybe that’s the organizer in me talking).

    Reply
  6. David, these are great. I was just curious where you found the images online. Google patents search or do you have some secret website where you get all your images? Thanks for the inspiration.

    Reply
    • Hi Phil. My apologies for the slow response. Yes, just a google patent search and then a fair amount of photoshopping.

      Reply
      • No problem. I see you’ve been extremely busy with your shows especially thinking you had more time than you did. I’ve done that myself a few times. Maybe one day I will be able to do more craft shows in the near future.

  7. The display box was made perfect when you added the “Patent Office” to the front… genius, I say, genius! I made a similar box with pallet wood once because I don’t have a magical dresser that keeps giving.
    P. S. LOVE the whole patent idea

    Reply
  8. Reblogged this on Mill Bank Farms and commented:
    My very creative friend David makes THE coolest things.

    Reply
  9. This turned out great!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

