RSS Feed

Build a Hanging Wall Shelf

I hope everyone enjoyed their Memorial Day weekend!

I spent my Sunday at the Patchwork Festival – more on that later because, in the meantime my latest Mod Podge Rocks project is up and ready for review.

Is anyone in need of a vintage themed shelf for their sewing room?

The Mod Podge Rocks project I teased is up and ready for review today. It was inspired by my mom and sisters and their amazing fiber arts skills.DIY Vintage Sewing Shelf Tutorial Cheltenham Road for Mod Podge Rocks

It’s sort of a continuation of my Use What You’ve Got project -a few pieces of scrap wood (not from the dresser!) and some odds and ends.

The idea started forming when I was home visiting Ohio a few weeks ago. My sisters, (Paula and Phebe, both have these enviably comfy, well stocked, sewing rooms in their homes. I don’t sew at all but even I want to curl up in there and get to work. Anyway, Paula and I had put our heads together for a sewing themed project. If you ever need someone to bounce creative ideas around with ask me for Paula’s number. She’s awesome with this stuff – always up for the creative brainstorming and we have fun doing the “what if?” game.

This one started out with “what if we used old spools as hooks?” and morphed from there. She even provided me with the spools!

And a project was born.

Make a decorative wall shelf Cheltenham Road Tutorial for Mod Podge Rocks

DIY Sewing Room Decor Shelf. Cheltenham Road Tutorial for Mod Podge Rocks

It was a pretty easy project and I think my sister(s) will be pleased with the outcome.Sewing Room Project.  Make a wall shelf.  Cheltenham Road for Mod Podge Rocks

OK, Patchwork.  Firs off thanks very much to all of you for the good wishes. It worked! It was a great day both for weather and sales.

I came up with some new product designs.  These trays were fun to make and pretty easyclassic bathing beauty tray by Cheltenham Roadand continued my obsession with finding new ways to display things.Craft Show Display Idea by Cheltenham Road

I’ll share more pics next time around.  I’m giving myself two days off (I’m an awesome boss!) because although it was great it also kinda wiped me out. The build up was seven days of 5AM -11pm work and although the big day itself was enjoyable it was also long.

As I was hauling the heavy boxes back to the car at the end of the day (seriously, whose dumb idea was it to make everything out of wood!? My next business will be entirely feather based) I kept repeating the manta “I’m not insane I am a creative entrepreneur!!!”…..I almost believed me.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

5 responses »

  1. very cool–would be great for those crafty quilters, too.

    still need to make a table out of the treadle frame I have

    Denise

    Reply
  2. Jackie @ Refurbished Goods

    Glad the Patchwork Festival was a hit. The sewing shelf and the other patent images are tres awesome. I would like your sister Paula’s number please….I am at a standstill with a few projects and need some creative brainstorming 😉

    Reply
  3. Paula is the best!!! 😉

    Reply
  4. shoppeno5 Debra

    I really like your work. Does Paula consult?

    Reply
  5. That patent art is fantastic! Great product.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

