RSS Feed

Make a Rustic Wood Sign that Doubles as a Coat Rack. UWUG Project #6

DIY Coat Rack Tutorial Cheltenham RoadI know that none of you will believe me if I say that old dresser is still yielding scrap wood for projects….BUT IT IS! So welcome to Use What Ya Got Project #6.

I’d became fixated on the idea of making a vintage looking sign that would say “Cabins for Rent.” Do you ever do that? Just get an idea in your mind and you must make it? I have no real use for a coat rack but, nevertheless – I have one now and it says “Cabin’s for Rent” so…..check that off my bucket list.

This project proved to be fun not just from a graphic design standpoint but as another step on the “David tries to make his own knobs” journey.

I started out with the side of the dresser which had that great green color along with a lot of chippiness. Trash To Treasure Dresser Project Cheltenham RoadI sanded it as smooth as possible and came up with a graphic in Photoshop.DIY Sign Tutorial Cheltenham RoadI printed it out (backwards) and grabbed the Lenk tool (you can see more detailed Lenk tutorials here). I’m getting better with the Lenk – it’s fussy but it can do a lot.

I’ve taken to peeling away the paper just a bit at a time to make sure enough color transferred but even doing that, as you can see in the pics below, some paper just stays resolutely stuck in place. But a damp cloth and some gentle rubbing and it cleans away quite nicely.Rustic Sign Tutorial Cheltenham Road

On rough wood like this the transfer is going to be equally rough which, in this case is just what I wanted.  It’s super-chippy and the heat of the Lenk actually melted through in spots to an older color which was OK with me.

So, with my image chippily transferred I turned my attention to the knobs. I wanted them large enough that you could hang something off them and I also wanted them to stick out far enough that they were useful so regular cabinet knobs wouldn’t do.

Looking around the shop I found two dowels that I had bought for……..well, really who knows – but there they were!

I sliced off a 1/2 thick piece of the larger dowel with my chop saw and a 3″ long piece of the smaller dowel. I wanted a really solid connection between the two pieces so I used my drill with a Forstner bit to drill 3/4 of the way through the disc and then glued them together. DIY Knobs by Cheltenham RoadI’d made appropriately sized images for the knobs (the pic shows an earlier version – I had to go back in and make them a bit more distressed) so now I just painted the wood black and Mod Podged the design into place.Custom Knobs Tutorial by Cheltenham RoadI wanted a shiny, finished look to the knobs so I sealed the end with a coat of Envirotex Lite.  It really only takes a few drops.  You could also use Hard Coat Mod Podge or Dimensional Magic (also by Plaid)

When it came time to assemble I used the same Forstner bit to drill almost all the way through the sign and then glued the knob into the hole. Make a rustic sign that doubles as a coat hanger.  Cheltenham RoadI’d previously sealed the sign with a polycrylic spray so now it was just a matter of hanging it up.

(OK, I’ll admit it’s actually hanging on my back yard fence which is not remotely where one needs a towel/coat rack.  But the fence has excellent light and an appropriately rustic look!….unlike most of the rooms in my house.)Tutorial for making a vintage sign.  Cheltenham RoadI may have gone a bit overboard with the distress on the knobsMake custom wood knobs.  Cheltenham Roadand for some reason, in the pics they look like they are a very different color than the “Cabin” text but it’s closer in real life.DIY Rustic Wood Sign Coat Rack by Cheltenham RoadNow I just need a place to hang it, you know……. inside the house.YTTSMain5hostsKnick of Time Inspiration Party

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

18 responses »

  1. It’s like manna from heaven, that dresser in the way it keeps giving you projects!

    And, they are the most fabulous projects. I lay down my glue gun before you. Not worthy! 😉

    Denise

    Reply
    • why thank you Denise! Although, given my history, laying a glue gun in front of me probably isn’t wise – I’d just step on it and burn my foot. But I appreciate the gesture!

      Reply
  2. Wow, that is really nice and authentic looking. I am impressed that you made your own knobs, bravo!

    Reply
  3. You had better be careful about hanging a “Cabins For Rent” sign on your fence–you will end up starting a second business for tourists who like picturesque vintage accomodations. With a place to hang a towel.

    Reply
  4. Jackie @ Refurbished Goods

    Well done David. Your sign looks great. Kudos on the knob making. Each post that you do where you have used your Lenk tool brings me one step closer to buying me own….what am I waiting for?

    Reply
  5. You even make your own knobs??? What can’t you do? Love this!

    Reply
  6. chris aka monkey

    how much fun is this, i love it hope you can find an inside place ha ha xx

    Reply
  7. You make it look so easy… I do like the font you used for “Lake View”.

    Reply
  8. I really want this hanging in my house. It reminds me of summer and lake houses and it’s just really, really cool looking! I actually have a lenk tool but so far I’ve only managed to melt plastic with it. You’ve inspired me to dig it out and try again.

    Reply
    • its worth a shot. I’ve really been enjoying working with it although I will be the first to say it can be a bit…fussy?…tricky?…not sure what word I want. I should put together a post on what I’ve learned along the way.

      Reply
  9. I.Love.It.! Pinned.

    Reply
  10. As you know, I love your stuff. This particularly makes me smile. I need to buy a house so I can incorporate all your ideas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

