RSS Feed

Happy Mother’s Day!

As you know, my mom and I have always been a team!just hanging out and blending in

And while I never learned to sew or embroider I owe my mom pretty much everything about my creative nature (and of course the part I don’t owe my mom I owe my dad but his day is coming – let’s not get ahead of ourselves).

If you were home sick from school you didn’t just sit and watch tv (OK, sometimes you did) but there was always a paint-by-number kit or shrinky dinks or a Popsicle stick project to take on and distract you from feeling lousy.

Got a school project? She was in the trenches with you helping you build, say, an entire Aztec village or a Hardy Boys shoe box diorama.

Wanna have a pie fight birthday party? She made it happen (everyone in swimming suits in the backyard chucking tin foil pans of whipped cream at each other.  AWESOME!!!!).

Need a Patrick Henry costume for the Bicentennial Celebration?Spirit of 1776

DONE!

Suffering from delusions of grandeur and want to be the Great Pumpkin for Halloween?The Great Pumpkin!

Done!

Need a Charlie Brown shirt to go with your handmade 4th of July float?  Charlie BrownDone! (my patriotic shoes are a nice touch, although she could have perhaps invested in some looser fitting shorts, no?)

I also owe her something for my work ethic.

When I called today to wish her a happy Mother’s day I interrupted her work on a felt Christmas ornament.Mom's Santa Ornament

(Ok, her work ethic is still better than mine since I haven’t even thought about Christmas yet)

And she is still going strong! Her handmade felt books keep selling out before she can finish the last order. Moms Felt Alphabet BooksNew embroidery projects roll out all the time (even teeny tiny ones – note the quarter).Mom's Stocking Perspective She takes classes goes to seminars (with the assistance of my wonderful sister’s who are also totally awesome moms!)

So Happy Mother’s Day mom!  You continue to amaze me.

And Happy Mother’s day to all you other hard-working moms out there!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

12 responses »

  1. chris aka monkey

    thank you and your mom sounds amazing xx

    Reply
  2. Your Mom is awesome! I love the pics, especially the mod matching outfits!

    Reply
  3. This mom is a remarkable artist. What a great article!

    Reply
  4. Loved this. And learning more about your dear Mom. Where can I see more detail of her felt books? They look great.

    Reply
  5. How fortunate for you to have such a creative mom, she sounds wonderful!

    Reply
  6. What a wonderful mom you have!

    Denise

    Reply
  7. It takes a wonderful Mother to produce a wonderful son and you are proof of that through the super comments and pictures that you have shared with us today!

    Of course I can’t leave out the older sisters that she raised before you who continue to be a positive influence on you too. Happy Mother’s Day to them also!

    Reply
  8. Your mom sounds like an incredible mother, and clearly she did a great job raising YOU! Your Charlie Brown costume and float are the best, and your flower coordinated outfits, they are, ummmm…unique! 🙂

    Reply
  9. What a great mom you’ve got! She proves that creativity doesn’t have to skip a generation. She did a pretty darn good job if I may be so bold. Okay the Great Pumpkin costume reminds me just a little bit of the Elephant Man, but I’ll bet you were the only one trick or treating in such a cool, and dare I say, creepy costume. You’re a lucky guy!

    Reply
  10. That micro-embroidery is extraordinary!

    Reply
  11. What a nice tribute to your crafty mom! She is incredible, and no doubt did not have all the tools, supplies, and Internet inspiration that we all have now. Wow.

    You’re pretty impressive, too, Mr. Cheltenham Road. That float is the best!!

    (And yes, tight shorts were a sad fact of the 70’s, weren’t they? I still cringe when I see myself in them in photos. Sheesh!)

    So today’s post is just further proof of what a thoughtful, sweet human you are! You can tell your mom I said that!

    Reply
  12. Hahaha! I love the Charlie Brown references! Your mother seems to be a wonderful person!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

