RSS Feed

UWUG Project #5 Vintage Milk Bottle Label Wall Art with Free Printables

Vintage Dairy Label Wall Art Tutorial Cheltenham RoadFor UWYG Project 5 I wanted to make use of some vintage dairy label graphics that I went crazy for a few years ago but never quite figured out how to use effectively.

I get these random ideas about projects. I’m at the gym or grocery shopping and think “wouldn’t it be totally cool if I…….”

Often times that’s as far as it goes. Sometimes I make it and realize that it was not, in fact, cool at all and sometimes I put it together and think “yup. cool!” and then….. I’m not quite sure what to do with it.  Is it just for me? A product? A tutorial?

I’m tagging this as a tutorial but it’s not so much a tutorial as an “I did this. If you are not obsessed with using scrap wood you could do this too!… but more easily.”

I started off with one of drawer fronts from that old dresserTrash To Treasure Dresser Project Cheltenham Road

and cut it into three 8″ squares that I then painted white and roughed up and didn’t take pictures of (write that down.  “Not taking pictures” is a key step in this project).

With yet more scrap 1/4 ” plywood and using my scroll saw I cut three, six inch circles and printed out my favorite Dairy Labels. The circles were painted white on the edges and the dairy labels were Mod Podged into place.Trash To Treasure DIY Wall Art Cheltenham Road

I had some leftover wood lattice (1 3/4″ wide) and after painting them different colors to match the lables I made mitered frames around the squares* to create shadow boxes.Vintage Style Decor.  Dairy Label Wall Art. Cheltenham Road

*Mitered corners are not my friend. I should stick with butt joints. I was contemplating calling this post “I Like Butt Joints and I Cannot Lie” but thought that might attract an iffy crowd.

More scrap wood spacers were glued into place and then the dairy label disk was pin-nailed onto that.

A little hanger in the back and look at that.Vintage Dairy Label Wall Art Cheltenham Road

Dairy label shadow box wall art.  Maybe for a kitchen.Cheltenham Road TutorialOr perhaps just sitting around on a table that randomly has flowers on it.  You know, whatever works for youVintage Dairy Cap Label Shadow boxes.  Cheltenham RoadSo, how you can do it better and more easily?

Here are some of my favorite dairy labels for you to download.  vintage milk bottle cap printable cheltenham road

Vintage Milk Bottle Dairy Label Free Printable

Right click on the link for the high res download.

Some other great vintage milk bottle labels can be found via the super generous and crazily creative Angie at Knick of Time Interiors.

You can pick up small shadow boxes at Michaels or perhaps at one of Aaron brothers penny sales. Pop out the hardwood/cardboard backer and paint it or cover it with scrap book paper. Paint the frame (spray paint is easiest and comes in huge range of colors now).

Michaels also sells bass wood disks of varying size and you can Mod Podge your label to that and BAM! you too can have random milk bottle wall art!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

15 responses »

  1. Love! (My mom has dairy farmers on her side of the family, so I do like some dairy-themed items in my home.)

    Denise

    Reply
  2. You are so creative. These are awesome. But one thing, how can you STILL have drawer fronts left over after all those projects you’ve made? 😉

    Reply
    • I know! That dresser is like the never-ending wood supply. There is still a ton left over!

      Reply
      • Your photo shows 3 drawers and you’ve made so many things. (I hope you know I’m teasing you… jealous about your ideas and productivity)

      • Yes, teasing me ON MY OWN BLOG is a thing. Others have done it before you. Many will do it after. Such is my lot in life. So sad. (ok, I love it actually). The sides of the drawers yielded the trays. I’ve barely begun to touch the fronts! I may end up building a storage shed out of this thing yet! It’s like the Tardis of furniture

  3. Jackie @ Refurbished Goods

    David….compadre (sp) I thought I was the only one who got fabulous ideas….made them and then thought ok…now what do I do with it? Thank you yet again for your honesty, and humour, in your posts. You never cease to brighten me day.

    Reply
  4. So, I’m not trying to start anything here, but could you, like, feed the 5000 with that old dresser? How many projects has it contributed to? (He said, brazenly ending in a preposition.)

    Reply
  5. I now can see from reading the earlier comments that I was not the first to notice the never-ending dresser. (I chair the department of redundancy dept.)

    Reply
  6. I’ve been trying to figure out what to do with all my milk bottle images, so I totally need to copy your idea! Mine will definitely have butt joints, because I completely lack your woodworking skills – straight cuts is my limit! Thanks for the shout-out!

    Reply
  7. Dang…I need to ease up on the exclamation points, don’t I? 🙂

    Reply
  8. I love the look of this project…so graphic and wonderful! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  9. Uncle David – those other joint’s CAN’T deny. When a joint meets up with an itty bitty space and no gap in your face, you get sprung!

    Reply
  10. I have found I can use foamcore boards instead of scrap wood on MANY projects that I would normally (what’s normal???) have to cut into shapes–foamcore board is incredibly easier to cut than wood and lends itself wonderfully to decoupage especially. If I need it thicker than the usual 1/4″ foamboard (1$ for 36″x36″ at 99cents store) it can be found at art supply stores in a multitude of thicknesses for mucho$$$ or one can just use permanent spray adhesive to make the thickness you want with 99cent store foamcore sheets. Of course, there are some applications for which they are unsuitable; anything that needs to be nailed together or requires the capability to bear large amounts of weight or stress. But they are great for adding dimension or shape to many projects!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

