RSS Feed

UWUG Project 4 Knife Holder and a Learning Curve

Vintage Sign Knife Holder tutorialMy parents are Life-Long-Learners. In their 90s they are taking classes at the local college – history, literature etc. Always learning. Very admirable. I, on the other hand, am not a learning fan.  Or, more specifically, not a fan of the learning curve. I want to know exactly how to do everything right out of the box. I don’t want to look at the map I want to know where I am!  I want to come up with an idea for a project and execute it flawlessly. Weirdly, it juuuust doesn’t seem to work that way (I get lost a lot too). For UWUG Project #4 I thought it would be cool to make a knife holder that was a vintag-y sign. Simple!  Totes know how to do that! And then the dreaded learning curve kicked in. OK, supplies: Another piece of that old  dresser (another of the drawer sides like I’d used for the scrap wood trays) painted and distressed.Trash To Treasure Dresser Project Cheltenham Road Some magnets I had lying around for…..no apparent reason (where do these things come from? Who buys them and why do they keep leaving them at my house?) and a few strips of scrap wood.Magnets for DIY Knife Holder Cheltenham RoadI laid out my knife collection on the board and drew around them just to get a rough placement.How to make a vintage sign and knife holder Cheltenham Roadthen came up with a simple graphic – just textVintage Sign Knife Holder Tutorial Cheltenham Road I printed it out in reverse and, using the Lenk tool, transferred it to my painted wood base. I used scrap wood strips to make a little red frame around the sign just to give it some pop. Just strips of wood painted red and glued around the edges – butt joints again – nothing fancy. I marked where I wanted my magnets to goHow to make a vintage sign and knife holder Cheltenham Road drilled shallow holes with a forstner bit Scrap Wood Sign and Knife Holderand glued them in place using trusty E6000. Done! Nope! It turns out that the wood surface is a bit uneven so my carefully drilled holes weren’t all the same depth. That wasn’t a problem for the knifes that only had one magnet to hold them in place but for the bigger knives I’d used two magnets which were now at different levels and….no worky. So I drilled them out and did it again.  All nice and level. Done! Nope! All the knives gave a solid, reassuring click when placed on the magnets and then, when I tilted the sign up like you would on a wall, all the knives just gently slid down and crashed to the floor (no I did not stab myself in the foot…..I came close to stabbing myself in the foot which is VERY DIFFERENT!….Nicki…..) Awesome. Why hello drawing board. I have returned!  Did you miss me? I had some more magnets (still no clue why) – smaller, more intense. More holes were drilled. Small magnets were glued.knife holder tutorial Cheltenham Road Done! Nope! These magnets were so magnetty that when I put the big knife on it it defeated the glue and yanked the magnet out of the wood. More glue and more drying time solved the problem. Done! For reals! I had learned. I had curved. And next time will be super easy.Vintage Sign Knife Holder Cheltenham RoadNo, the knife on the end didn’t fall off.  I had created a tableau – cause I’m artsy like that.  I picked flowers!  I baked banana bread!   But then realized I couldn’t quite get the tableau in the picture. Better. Make a vintage sign and use it as a knife holder  Cheltenham Road tutorialOK.  Learning Curve Summary.  Notes for next time.

  • Small, super strong magnets are better.
  • Two magnets per knife
  • Drill all magnet holes to the same depth
  • I sealed it with wax which is great…..just do it perhaps, I don’t know,  before you glue the magnets in place (I got ahead of myself)
  • Give E6000 lots of drying time
  • wear shoes.  just in case.

YTTSMain5hostsHome Stories tutorials-tips-button

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

22 responses »

  1. Kathy hartzell

    Another way is to I bed the magnets from the rear of the board…..but it takes practice to come up with the depth (and not destroy the front of the board!) and the niobium strength…
    Then it is a magic holder….mine has 2 rows of them across….

    Oh, but I gave up as I grew tired of drilling into the plybo……after getting it to work….it was just over my tolerance for time/product!!

    Reply
  2. Jenniffer Dorsett

    I always look forward to your posts!! You are not only very creative, but absolutely hilarious!! I like to read blogs that are honest and funny!

    Reply
  3. You are always learning, you just don’t do it in a classroom. May I ask why “Boucherie?” I looked up the definition (n: the savage and excessive killing of many people) Egads David, what goes on in your kitchen?

    Reply
    • Julie, don’t ask questions you don’t want the answer to.
      (actually, when I looked it up it said it meant: butcher shop. – but I kinda like your version more)

      Reply
    • Dear Julie,
      “Boucherie” is, at first translation and use, a place where you buy your meat.
      By extension, for sure, during the War, you’ve got a “boucherie” because of many deaths.
      Cheers from Switzerland … a sweet country with no boucherie 🙂

      Reply
  4. I have a knife block, but now I think I need to turn it into something else, because I MUST HAVE a vintagey knife sign! No big surprise that I love this! I do hope to see at it this week’s VIP!

    Reply
  5. Magnetty is my new favorite word. Thanks! Awesome project–

    Reply
  6. I love this! I shouldn’t be laughing at your knife mishaps, but I couldn’t help myself.

    Reply
  7. Great idea–I could use it now that my boys are older. My mom had one which worked the same way back in the 70s. Not as pretty, though.

    Reply
  8. Okay first I have three words for you, “Steel Toe Shoes!” Just in case. But I must say, learning curve aside and the realization that you probably should not become a professional knife thrower, this project ROCKS! Love everything about it (except the possibility of injury). BTW is that a new logo?? I don’t know if I have missed it in the past, but it’s terrific. Great branding graphic!

    Reply
  9. “no worky” and “magnetty” made my day, but especially…
    Done!
    Nope!
    (Gold!!!)

    Done! Nope! will be my new project mantra, just sayin’.

    Reply
  10. Hello David,

    I’m a huge fan and have bought many items at local OC/LA craft fairs.

    I have a question about decoupage for you. Can I contact you?

    Thank you!

    Marilouise Carlisle

    Reply
  11. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE–sharing on Facebook right now. Thanks for linking up!

    Reply
  12. It looks great – I love the image you added to it. I found your post on the Vintage Inspiration party and I had to check it out – I just posted a magnetic knife rack made from a vintage ruler! After reading your post, I had to smile as you tested it out. I, too, had quite a few sliding knives off of mine, and I had to keep adding more magnets. Finally, I got it to work. Nice work on yours, I really like it!

    Reply
  13. Pingback: Vintage Inspiration Party | Picket Fence

Leave a Reply

