RSS Feed

There is Always A Day Job And Proper Blog Usage

The Use What You’ve Got scrap wood project has really got my mind exploding with ideas.  I’m having a great time coming up with things but I’m having trouble getting to them because I have orders to fill.  And it is kind of slowly dawning on me that “Oh!  coasters and signs are my day job.  I guess there is always going to be a day job.”

What is kind of awesome is that, for the first time in my life, I really enjoy my day job.

And what is making it even more enjoyable of late is a run of customers coming to me with ideas that make me think outside the David box.

Lindsay wanted a HOME sign but asked if I could find some vintage cherry labels and do a collage that would go with the style of her kitchen.Wood Letters HOME sign with Vintage Cherry Label collage Cheltenham Road

Vintage Kitchen HOME SignIt was such a fun idea and I wouldn’t have thought of it on my own I’m pretty sure.

Next Susan wanted a Subway Sign but with some rules for her family.  Not a new idea really but I’ve never done one before and I like her rules a lot.Custom Family Rules Subway Sign by Cheltenham Road

Custom Family Rules Subway Graphic Sign by Cheltenham RoadAnd finally, Kevin got on a baseball kick after buying some Cardinals Coasters from me and, between us, we came up with these baseball themed coasters as gifts for his friends.  We made a few using the classic subway graphics that I’m so fond ofClass Baseball Field Coaster Set by Cheltenham Road

Subway Graphic Baseball Field Coaster Set by Cheltenham RoadAnd a few using vintage postcard graphics from classic ball fields.Vintage Baseball Stadium Coaster Set Cheltenham RoadEbbets Field.  Classic Baseball Stadium Coaster Set Cheltenham RoadI do feel very, very lucky to have a business where, not only do I get to stretch my imagination on my own but the customers pitch in!

And now a little business to take care of before we part.

I’ve become aware that some of you may be reading this blog with the wrong intentions. Approaching it, perhaps, as others might view the Indy 500. Sure, you say you’re there for the fun of the race but really, in your heart, you’re hoping for a crash.

I became aware of this fact when my friend Nicki told me that she thought of me when she burned her hand on a glue gun and was reminded of my experience with the heat gun.

My friend Nicki then told me that around her house a bozo, injury causing move was referred to as “pulling a David.”

Well, we laughed and laughed and then I said to my former friend Nicki: “former friend Nicki I don’t think you are taking the correct message from this blog” and I asked her to please return her Cheltenham Road membership card and decoder ring.

Admittedly I was perhaps feeling a bit sensitive having just (I’m not kidding) smacked my head into the underside of the giant hinge that holds my garage door open.

Again.

No stitches. But hats will be a major player in my Spring wardrobe.

Anyway. I just wanted to bring to your attention that this blog is not intended to be the America’s Funniest Home Videos of the cyber world.

Thank you.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

18 responses »

  1. lol…

    Love the Cherries!!! So cool! Vintage strawberries would be another great idea???

    My wine charms came yesterday. Love, Love, Love!!!

    Denise

    Reply
  2. To be fair, the giant spring was just recently installed…right?

    Reply
  3. David, I feel your pain…literally. I was sitting on my kitchen floor yesterday, doing some finishing painting on my bathroom vanity cabinet, and I leaned back and cracked my head good on the corner of the kitchen table.

    I don’t know if it knocked any sense into me, but I had a nice headache to show for it!

    There isn’t a single thing you’ve made that I haven’t loved, and your latest creations are no exception! The HOME sign is so fun!

    Reply
  4. Ah David, it’s as if you’re my twin! I get my hair bun caught in my hook boards at my market stall (discount given to customers who release my hair), I’ve shot a nail gun into my thumb, I’ve sanded the cord to my belt sander, and just yesterday whacked my head TWICE on the low hanging branch in my driveway.

    Love reading your blog, you have a wicked sense of humor!

    Reply
  5. Are you kidding? I’m keeping the ring.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Reply
  6. I am having a total blast with your blog! To commiserate (hope that’s spelled right) … yesterday I was trying to take apart a two piece dealy, but it wouldn’t budge. Then of course, it finally did. One hand went flying into the air with the top piece. Smashed my wrist up against a big ol’ cabinet in the shop. Hey … i DID IT WELL though … the bruises are B-U-T-full 🙂

    Reply
  7. I come for the comedy AND the great projects! And I never (well almost never) laugh at your misadventures.

    Reply
  8. Best. Post. Ever.

    Reply
  9. Jackie @ Refurbished Goods

    As always I appreciate your honesty about your misadventures. We all make those sorts of mistakes and we can choose to respond or react to them in a few ways. I like that you share them humorously. Thanks for that. The HOME sign is so awesome. So bright and cheery and cherry 😉

    Reply
  10. Awww, your head! Hope it’s feeling better.

    Just want you to know I’m here for the crafts AND the laughs, but not the accidents! Not funny!

    Reply
    • And also? I once sewed right through my nail bed with a sewing machine. I never thought it was funny, but most people do! Must be that AFHV thing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

