RSS Feed

Let (Me!) Eat Cake!

DIY Cake Stand Cheltenham Road I like cake.

A lot.

I like a lot of cake.

Mathematically the situation this looks like this:

Cake EquationHowever, I am limited for storage of said cake plates

Cake SolutionSo my quest is for the easily store-able cake plate and I think I’ve put one together!

It’s my latest Mod Podge Rocks Tutorial project and you can see all the details over on Amy’s site.

Basically it’s a tart pan and some plumbing pipe.DIY Cake Stand - Cheltenham RoadBut what makes it great (for me) is that I can take it apart so it doesn’t always have to be out.DIY Cake Stand Tutorial by Cheltenham RoadIn truth, while I do like cake I’m actually more keen on these as a way to display stuff at the Craft Shows I go to. I’m enamored of the idea of having everything laid out on all the different levels. I’m going to make more so be prepared (warned) for variations on this theme.

In the meantime I’m on another one of my “clear it out!” kicks. I’m determined that, during what is a very predictably slow time for the Etsy Cheltenham Road store, to make mad use of all the various bits and pieces of stuff (scrap wood, leftover project parts etc) that’s lying around.

First up this crappy dresser that came with my house when I bought it.Trash To Treasure Dresser Project Cheltenham RoadJust plywood and not all that great. It has been in the garage for years but had to go. I was preparing to haul it to the curb and I thought “wait, how many things could I make out of that?” so that’s my challenge.

Question: Can you dumpster dive your own home? (Question: Did you hear that in Sarah Jessica Parker’s voice too?)

Stay tuned (spoiler: the answer is “yes!”…….referring to the dumpster diving part not the sounding like Sex and the City part).

Back soon with my first project.

In the meantime – linking up to a few great parties:

Knick of Time Inspiration Party

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

11 responses »

  1. Another caveat of your cake pan–unbreakable. Most are glass–not only cumbersome to store, they don’t travel easily, and are at great risk for breakage. And, yours looks much nicer than a plastic one. Bravo!

    Denise

    Reply
  2. Jackie @ Refurbished Goods

    totally ripping off the cake stand idea….thanks. 😉

    Reply
  3. Love it, thanks for linking up. i just shared on Facebook!

    Reply
  4. What about putting those ugly old drawers up on legs and giving them a new life as raised flower or veggie beds for those of us who are beginning to feel that age is creeping up on us and that this planting season is no longer something to look forward to (me). I’m sure that you could make those awful drawers beautiful as an inspiration while we wait for the plants to grow!

    Reply
  5. If you make one that’s flat and rotates, I’ll make a demo video with it of how to perfectly frost a cake and you’ll sell thousands of them! Like this one: http://www.williams-sonoma.com/products/4186458/

    Reply
  6. Gotta go find myself a tart pan now! This is awesome!

    Reply
    • Find me some too! I kept seeing them everywhere and thinking “who needs all these tart pans?”…..until, of course, I came up for a use for them and now…poof! gone!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

