RSS Feed

Busy January

I have successfully taken down my Christmas decorations!

Well, except for that one thing. Do you have that? You pack everything neatly away and THEN discover that one ornament or whatever that you somehow missed. And now it’s a total pain to get all the boxes back out so it just sits there mocking you……all year.that one dang ornament

No? You don’t have that? It’s just me?

Awesome.

So, I’ve moved on from Christmas but I’m always surprised by how busy January is for me.

I tend to think of post-Christmas as a time when nobody would want to acquire anything else.

But apparently that too is just me. I’ve been working on a bunch of custom HOME signs and a family is decorating their new nursery with vintage NY theme (I think I’m gonna like this kid!):Custom Child's Name Sign by Cheltenham Road

On another front, this is what happens to my dining room table when a store decides they need A LOT of subway signs.Custom Subway Art Signs Cheltenham Road

And I’ve been trying to come up with some new designs.

Some are just variations on a theme like these restyled vintage subway graphic tea light holders:Retro Subway Art Style New York and LA Candle Holders by Cheltenham Road

Vintage Subay Graphic Candle Blocks by Cheltenham RoadAnd some are re-designs of current products.

My vintage baseball coaster sets have been some of my better sellers on Etsy.

However, since initially designing them my knowledge of baseball history has grown and I’ve been meaning to revise them to reflect more great Hall of Fame players.

First up is my Chicago Cubs revision featuring the famous Tinker to Evers to Chance triple play (and Mordicai Brown cause, you know….four coasters in a set).Chicago Cubs Baseball Card Coaster Set by Cheltenham Road onEtsy

And then I got to work on my Detroit Tigers set to more prominently feature Ty Cobb and Hughie Jennings.Vintage Detroit Tigers Hal of Fame Baseball Coaster Set Cheltenham Road

This also allowed me to work on my improved Photoshop skills.

You see baseball cards are rectangular and my coasters are square so if you just resize the originals you end up with short, fat baseball players.   Now that isn’t, necessarily, historically inaccurate but still not quite what I’m looking for.  So, every element of the image must be taken apart, resized and then reassembled.

It’s slow going.

Only 10 more teams to left!  Four players to a set…..40 images…….yay!

And, finally, I honing in on a new product that you’ll first see as a Mod Podge Rocks tutorial but here is a little preview. Tutorial Preview Simple Subway Art DIY Mod Podge Wine Charms Cheltenham Road for Mod Podge Rocks

I thought wine charms would be a fun and versatile idea (clearly I’m a subway art kick – the dining room table must be effecting my brain).

I’m thinking these have a lot of potential partly because my mind is exploding with various ideas for graphics and themes. I keep having to stop what I’m doing to write them down or I know I’ll forget.

So, that’s me.  What is everyone else working on?

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

11 responses »

  1. Yes! We found an ornament, too! A little train.

    Love your projects. I need to start a project. Why don’t I decorate for Valentine’s and we’ll call that my project for now? 😉

    Happy New Year!

    Denise

    Reply
  2. I ALWAYS find one or two leftovers too! Now I have an easy attic storage area to just throw it in and find it next December! Love the wine markers…great idea!

    Reply
  3. Always enjoy your posts and the fun ideas you share. By the way, whatever happened to that small bathroom make-over?
    Just an idea, but you mentioned wine charms….why not use the same thing for other things like olive oil, vinegars, etc? Some could even be chalkboard so they could be erased for new uses. Lots of us are not into wine but use that type of bottle of many other things. Even for bath oils, etc. Just an idea.
    So glad you are so busy in January. I live where this time of year is very cold and can be very grey…..the doldrums can set in quite soon after the holidays so this year I determined to stay Very Busy…..digging through closets, and boxes that have been ignored for YEARS! and all sorts of other little projects to be productive and keep the mind and body occupied. It is definitely working. If there is still some of winter left when these things are done then perhaps I can be more creative and have some fun!
    Blessings.

    Reply
    • I totally know how you feel about grey, cold weather – it gets to me too…..which is why Los Angeles has been a bit of a boon for me. Hang in there -your idea to keep busy is very, very smart. And thanks for the alternate ideas about the charms! I really appreciate it.

      Reply
  4. Jackie @ Refurbished Goods

    I too have a mocking ornament that may or may not still be here next November. Kudos on your photoshop technique for resizing from rectangular to square….I need to learn that someday. I am working on some altered books and some shadowboxes. They are the result of some late night tutorial watching on You tube. They are fun and an excuse to express the darker side of myself.

    Once again a great post. Thanks.

    Reply
  5. You could always paint or ModPodge a heart on that ornament and pretend it’s for Valentine’s Day?
    P.S. Always love your stuff, so original and so well made!

    Reply
  6. I really like the Constantin nursery theme–neat application of your home signs.

    I broke a special ornament over Christmas, and set it aside to superglue real quick–alas, it is still on the mantel and all the rest of Christmas is back in the basement, boxed and taped. 😦 It will probably take me a year to get around to fixing it.

    Nice job on the baseball coasters!! I really like them too, not because I follow baseball but because they look so vintage-y. I’m proud of all that you are doing!

    Reply
  7. I just finished taking down Christmas, too! (Gee, that sounds mean.) After packing it all away, including crawling in and out of the crawlspace where it’s all stored, and then found a few little forgotten oopsies.

    Really love your great ideas and the entertaining way you show and tell about them! Wish we were neighbors, or that I was one of your sisters. You’re fun!

    A new post from you is always a treat!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

