RSS Feed

Into the Woods! (or Into the Weeds) A Cheltenham Road Christmas Project Journey

Christmas Tree Tutorial Cheltenham Road for Mod Podge RocksMy latest Mod Podge Rocks project is up and viewable and it’s time for trees!

I’ve been wanting to do these and imagining them but unable to get it really done due to Christmas madness.

Of course, those aren’t the trees I initially planned.

I had planned (and attempted) to make these 3D trees.Dimensional Christmas Tree Centerpiece Cheltenham Road

I thought “I’ll use bits of scrap wood! It will be affordable! Easy! Fun!”The woods are made of wood Cheltenham RoadNOPE!

I kept trying different approaches and each one just became more and more complicated. I could hear all of you saying to yourselves “well, David, listen, it’s been a fun ride but you’re clearly insane so we’re just going to step away slowly”

My problem was I wanted to make them without using specialized tools. I didn’t want to be the Norm Abraham of the Glue-Stuff-To-Wood crowd. Did you ever watch his New Yankee Workshop show? Great stuff but totally frustrating:

“let me show you how to make this. You’ll just need wood and about 5 different, highly specialized power tools that no human being except for myself has and I only have them because my sponsors provided them to me”

So I tried and …..

NOPE!

I just couldn’t figure out how to make them without a scroll saw.  Or a really big miter sawChristmas Tree Centerpiece Cheltenham Road

So I came up with an alternate!

I will make them in scrap wood strips and then they will go on a dowel so you could rotate them, spread them out etc!

Well, first I almost cut my hand off cutting the strips of wood.

And then I almost drilled my hand off trying to drill a hole in the center with a handheld drill (trying to avoid using the drill press).

So……

NOPE!

I did come up with an alternate and I think it’s pretty fun.Vintage Wrapping Paper Christmas Trees Tutorial Cheltenham Road for Mod Podge Rocks

But I really do need to figure out how to make any of these ideas without cutting Santa’s face in half.Santa's face

I’ll keep trying!

Hope everyone is enjoying the holidays!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

13 responses »

  1. Love the part about Norm Abram. That is the same thing that I always thought watching him make something nice. Things like I have never seen that tool at any local hardware store before or I don’t think I could afford to buy that tool even if I did find it. He certainly does have the best. Also, how did you almost cut your hand off. I thought you had the world’s most expensive table saw?

    Reply
  2. You always make me laugh! Merry Christmas!

    Reply
  3. Delightful!!! Love these!!!

    Reply
  4. I do not mind that you cut Santa’s face in half. It adds to the charm. And I like All your trees.
    What a great idea. Easy to set up, easy to store. Cheerful and colorful. Yup. I like ’em.

    Reply
  5. I think your first attempts are charming and a great idea too….so, they LOOK easy to make….but if you say they are not, I will not argue, since you are the expert. But I do like them a lot.

    Reply
  6. Adorable! Merry Christmas!

    Denise

    Reply
  7. Merry Christmas! The trees are beautiful!

    Reply
  8. David these are brilliant! I like the simpler ones better. I also think they are a better showcase for the awesome graphics. I like seeing the terrific images. Big Santa thumbs up on this one!

    Reply
  9. They are all great, but I do like the 3d ones the best. Did you try a jigsaw?

    Reply
  10. Jackie @ Refurbished Goods

    Once again, thank you for the laugh David. I love that you share your failures as well as your successes. Merry Christmas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

