RSS Feed

A Minor Set “Back”

So, I’m gearing up for the holidays (yes, I should have already geared but I don’t seem to be very good at pre-gearing).  I’m filled with ideas about what I want to do and I’m in full-factory mode churning out tons of coasters (one store ordered 500 and now speculates that they may have underestimated their need).

So all is good!

And then, foolishly, I got out of my car last Sunday.

And that was all it took for  the herniated disc in my lower spine to decide that, after years of dormancy, NOW was the perfect time to totally freak out.

What followed was an entire week of moving veeeery slowly and sleeping veeeery badly and being veeeery whiny.  It was fun!  You should have come over!

Thoughtful friends offered to share their Vicodin supplies which was sweet but made me really wonder why everyone but me seems to have so many drugs at hand.  However, I’d tried Vicodin years ago and it didn’t seem to have much of an effect.  Actually all it seemed to do was make me care a little less about the pain….. which was interesting if not particularly helpful.  So I muddled through with Naproxin.

So, since lifting things (like the garage door!)  was out of the picture I thought I’d catch up on trying some new designs and playing with my camera.

I’m just not a good photographer but I’m trying to improve.  I can’t decide if I need a new camera or a new me but I usually spend about an hour taking pictures and then three hours working in Photoshop to make them not suck.  I am only occasionally successful.

My pics on Etsy of my New York HOME sign left a lot to be desired – I’m kind of amazed (and grateful) that people took the leap and purchased it.New York HOME sign by Cheltenham Road on Etsy

I think these are a bit of an improvement.New York City HOME wood sign by Cheltenham RoadNYC HOME sign Wooden Sign by Cheltenham Road on Etsy`

I wanted to find some new, vintage nightclub graphics for Bar Keeper (the store that ordered 500 coasters).Vintage Los Angeles Hollywood Cocktail Lounge Coaster Set by Cheltenham Road on EtsyThere is just something about these old matchbook coversVintage Cocktail Lounge Coaster Set Cheltenham Road

I have no idea if some of these places were greatLos Angeles Vintage Cocktail Lounge Coasters by Cheltenham Road

Or just dive barsVintage Hollywood Coasters by Cheltenham Road

(OK The Hangover Room was probably a dive bar)

But somehow the covers make them all seem fun and exotic.Retro Los Angeles Coaster Set Cheltenham Road

But I now have to make a choice.  ballyhooI have five new images but only need four.  Which should I drop? (I’m honestly asking)

I’m happy to report that my back is much better today – so I’m” back” on track.  Which is great as being waylaid there really did get my mind racing with ideas.  Now lets see if I can turn them into reality!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

16 responses »

  1. Oh, no! I hope the back is feeling better soon. Sending good vibes.

    If you really must get rid of one of the coasters from your collection, I guess I would suggest the one which is my favorite, and counter-intuitive to asking you to remove–but the Hawaiian one is just enough different from the others, you might consider removing it.

    Best wishes!

    Denise

    PS. We need an update on the bathroom reno!

    Reply
  2. Sorry to hear about your back. As always you can put a humorous spin on anything. As for the coasters, I’d let the last one (Club Ballyhoo) go.

    Reply
  3. I’d dump Club Ballyhoo. Its catchy, but not in step with the others (no people, unless my unimaginitive eye cannot parse a person from that black-shirt fascist figurine in the middle). Whatever you do, keep the Hangover Room. I wish I could help you with your disk!!

    Reply
  4. Dump club hangover…..I think the idea of glamorizing drinking to point of inebriation isn’t cool today. And yes, I enjoy drinking.

    Reply
  5. So sorry to hear about your back. It’s never a good time, but when you’ve got holiday orders? Hope you’re on the mend soon and life may once again become a ballyhoo. Which by the way, I agree with the majority. Ballyhoo should go. The graphic is okay, but the others are so much more snazzy. Feel better soon.

    Reply
  6. So sorry to hear about your back issues. Glad you are doing better. I got sick a couple weeks ago…lost five productive days. Of course it had to happen during craft show season..ha. And like you, I should have been more productive earlier in the year.
    Congrats on the big coaster order…fantastic for you. I personally would dump Club Ballyhoo. It seems a little blah and less kitschy than the others.

    Reply
  7. I may be in the minority, but I really like the graphics on Club BallyHoo and I like the Sunset Blvd. reference. I would probably ditch either the Hangover or the Singing Waiters. I like them both too, but they are very similar in color & style. Congrats on the big order and I hope you feel better soon!

    Reply
  8. Club BallyHoo is my least fave. Sorry about you back! I missed a day of work yesterday because mine was hurting. Luckily, we were having a big snowstorm here in Minnesota yesterday so missing a day of work was pretty sweet. Unfortunately, I am back at work today.

    Reply
  9. So sorry to hear about your back… hope you are okay. I love the old graphics, all of them.

    Reply
  10. You are so hilarious: “minor set back”, lol. Reminds of that Seinfeld episode where Elaine dates the guy who works at The Lumbar Yard. 🙂 Sorry about your back issues and glad you are healing enough that you will shortly be back in business (grin).

    I agree with the rest that Club Ballyhoo is my least favorite. I really like the NY HOME sign, and I actually like the pic with the green background and just a hint of lamp & sofa–makes it easier to picture it being in my house.

    Congrats on the order of 500–that is SO AMAZING! I am really impressed.How do you do it??

    Well, that’s it for now, I’ll let you get back to work (ha ha! I couldn’t resist….).

    Reply
  11. Hate to hear about your back. I was very glad to hear about your 500 order though. The Ballyhoo is my vote for the kick off. I liked the old HOME photo with the green but I totally understand wanting new pics. Thanks again for always making me laugh with your stories.

    Reply
  12. Holy cow – 500 coasters?!! I can’t imagine getting that large of an order, and I really can’t imagine having to make that many of something! Glad your back is doing a bit better, but don’t overdo it. I vote to ditch the Ballyhoo. It’s cute, but I like the other ones better. I’m a sucky photographer too, and have to shoot about 20 photos to get 1 good one I can use.

    Reply
  13. I understand the logic of each comment and being so wishy-washy, I vacilate which design I would nix. I don’t like the drawing of the drunk for Club Hangover. In my opinion, he should leave. Ballyhoo is such a great word and the colors connect with the singing waiters. What a diverse group of watering holes.
    How is the bathroom coming along? There’s always something to attened to, isn’t there? I sometimes think of my life as trying to keep spiinning plates in the air…oops!

    Reply
  14. Make four coasters and a tray that holds them — boom! Five designs. Also, the HOME sign looks better photographed in…you know…an actual home. Love you, as always. See you soon. I have plenty of “supplies,” if you need more. Good luck pre-gearing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

