RSS Feed

Tiny Bathroom. Tiny Progress. UPDATE

It has been three weeks. THREE WEEKS! And, no, it’s not time for the big reveal.

I know, I know, Rome wasn’t built in a day.  But I’m quite sure that by WEEK THREE they had pretty much wrapped it up. Sure they were maybe waiting on a couple of statues and had an orgy or two to organize but, by and large, they were finished.

Not so much with the smallest bathroom in the world.

Oh, progress has been made.

Look MA! no pipes!no pipes

I mean, yes, a big hole in wall but….no pipes!

And a real floor! OK, not the “real” floor but a floor –  which is more floor than there was before.look ma' there's a floorAnd the pipes that are supposed to be there are now there! and the walls are patched.pipes are in place(and don’t worry that I’m being cheated by some conniving contractor. My man Dennis is the best! First off, he looks almost exactly like William H. Macy and he is totally a character William H. Macy would play.  But more importantly , you really couldn’t ask for someone who is more dedicated to doing a job right.  But “right” doesn’t mean “fast.”)

And the shower?!

The shower….well, the shower….not so much.shower still looks scaryBut the guys did the hot mopping yesterday and it seems to be holding the water. And the tile guy comes on Monday (Monday? don’t hold me to that – plans are a bit vague).

In the meanwhile I’ve found something that I want my sisters to make for me from an Etsy store called Threadlineo days without sarcasm

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

7 responses »

  1. I’m not sure it shouldn’t say hours not days. Love you

    Reply
  2. Did your sister enter the comment above? See, I come from a family of wise guys…in fact, literal “Wise Guys” since my mother’s family is from Sicily. I think I would like this in wood, with the little hook for numbers. Sarcasim is something I appreciate, but BOY, some people do-not-get-it, usually people in supervisory positions.
    O.K., off my soapbox. I have been repeating the Rome wasn’t built line a lot here this summer. I am a craft/art/ADD/creative hoarder and my house has been out of control During this teacher’s summer “break” I have been cleaning and purging. What is so ironic, is that once I clean, I can get my fix it guy to come and redo my tiny bathroom! I will be cleaning to have some serious mess happening. So, I feel your pain. I am assuming that you have another bathroom to use? Once things start here, the toilet has to be a quick fix, since I have only one bathroom. Though, a friend once confided that in an emergency, when she had company in her only bathroom, she used the litter box.
    TMI?
    Ha, ha, unless I’ve read you totally wrong, I bet you’re grinning.

    Reply
    • Ha! I brilliant solution! (but did she have the cats before that or did she get cats as an “excuse?”). And I too keep cleaning and then immediately starting a project that messes up all the cleaning. Hang in there!
      And yes, sarcasm must be doled out carefully to receptive listeners. I’ve gotten in trouble more than a few times….

      Reply
  3. love the sampler!

    Thanks for the update on the renovation!

    Denise

    Reply
  4. I am never going to look at my cat’s litter box the same way again. Oh my.

    Reply
  5. That bathroom looks so much bigger now that it’s empty. And it does look like you’ve done a fair amount of work. Can’t wait to see the Big Reveal!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

