RSS Feed

Scare LA Report

I may have to reconsider Halloween.

I kind of gave up on the holiday once people stopped giving me free candy and my mom stopped making my costumes (it also didn’t help that, being an actor, putting on unusual clothes and parading around pretending to be someone else didn’t seem like much of a change of pace).

But Scare LA was a hoot!  The crowd seemed to be having a great time and, as a vendor, I can say it was beautifully organized.

Set up on Friday was a breeze.

Kind of my usual deal (along with my usual bad photography….sorry!).

I modified a board for coaster display (since I had a limited number there was no need for the big boards)Halloween Coaster Display Cheltenham RoadSet up my blocks (I made a few of my new Bingo Coasters into blocks as well)Halloween Votive Holders by Cheltenham Road

The Halloween Potion Labels looked good all filled with free candy (note to self: never underestimate the power of free candy) (also, stop eating your own free candy)Halloween Potion Labels at Scare LA Convention - Cheltenham RoadAnd I put out the big version of the coasters just as eye-catchers.Fun Original Halloween Signs by Cheltenham RoadI discovered I had lucked into a great booth-neighbor in Silhouettes By Jordan.  (so sad he has such a confusing name for his business.  Doesn’t he know the real key to success is to name your company after an obscure yet vaguely Englishy sounding road in central Ohio?  Poor boy)Silhouettes by JordanIt was astounding to watch him work with his tiny little scissors.  If you have a moment be sure to check out his Facebook page and see all his fun and terrific designs.

As I mentioned previously I wasn’t quite sure what to expect from the crowd.

Would they dig my vintage vibe or would they be all about the blood and guts?

They dug the vintage vibe !!!

The crowd was a great mix of truly elaborate costumesScare LA costumes from LA Weeklyand just plain folk who were into Halloween.

And I’m happy to report I sold out of quite a few things and my stock on the rest is running very, very low.

All in all a great weekend and a great show.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

9 responses »

  1. Jordan Quickel

    First off, congrats on the success of the show. I really enjoy all the Halloween inspired pieces especially the potions labels that you created. I am so happy that this experiment of a show went the way that most benefited you. Secondly I think the name ” Silhouettes by Jordan” is a great name. It both tells what is being done and showcases what a great name Jordan is, although I might be biased. Keep up the good work, I look forward to hearing how the other shows in the near future work out.

    Reply
    • Yes! My opinion that people named Jordan are the best kind of people was 100% reinforced!

      Reply
      • I gotta agree with how great “Jordan” as a name is. (I might be biased tho as I do have a particularly cute mini me name Jordan.) Congrats on having a great show. Your Halloween pieces are great. Even for someone who normally wants blood and guts and scary 🙂

  2. LOVE all your stuff, David. Now, are you ready for Christmas?

    Reply
  3. Congratulations!

    Don’t forget Harvest/Thanksgiving, too! 😉 Quirky pumpkins, pilgrims, and turkeys… right before Santa.

    Reply
  4. Don’t be so down on yourself for the pictures…the booth looks great! Happy that this new venue turned out to be successful for you! Loved the sarcasm (true Davidism) about Jordan’s business name!

    Be sure to keep us “locals” informed about up-coming shows so that we can see your wonderfully creative new creations. Some of us might even boost your sales!

    Reply
  5. The Halloween Potion labels are so clever. Glad to hear the crowds appreciated your work. It is always a great idea to hand out food/candy but you have the same problem I have…I can only buy candy the day of Halloween or else, it disappears.
    You have reminded me that if I want to make some things for Halloween, I should begin now, so thanks!

    Reply
  6. Huge congrats — on the sales and another great blog post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

