RSS Feed

DIY Display Stand Tutorial

I know what you are all thinking.  You are saying to yourselves:

David – didn’t you just finish up a show? Shouldn’t we have gotten a post about some new way you found to display things?”

And you would be right! I did just finish a show and I did find a new way to display things!

And now some of you are thinking

“Great!”

And a lot of you are thinking

“For the love of god man! Shouldn’t you have figured this out by now!? How many different ways can you display the four things you make?”

And you would be right! I really should have it down by now but somehow I don’t and my obsession with finding the right display continues.

So, welcome to another Craft Show Display Post.

A few years ago when The Great Indoors was going out of business I bought several of these display stands.Wood Display Rack

They are great and I’ve kicked myself for not buying more. I use them for everything from displaying trays or holding up signs or pretty much anything.

The only have two downsides.

1) they are kind of expensive unless the store you’re shopping at is going out of business

2) They don’t pack well. They’re a weird shape and they don’t fold flat or anything.

I’ve been stewing for quite some time and looking for substitute versions when it suddenly dawned on me that “wait! I have carpentry skills! And these are really simple! I CAN MAKE THEM!!!!!” (Yeah, I’m slow but I do get there eventually).

My version is very simple to make from scrap wood or purchased pieces. And, best of all, they come apart for easy transport.

SuppliesSupplies for DIY Display Stand

  • 2.5 x 3/4″ wood lengths
  • 1.5 x 3/4″ wood lengths
  • 5/8″ dowels
  • Drill with 5/8″ bit
  • Screws
  • Wood Glue
  • Chop Saw (optional but faster)
  • Paint

The base consists of a center piece and two legs.

I cut the center piece down to 5.5″ long  and I cut the legs to 6″ long.Milled Parts for DIY Craft Show Display

For the dowels I cut two of them at 5 3/4″ and two of them at 3 3/4″

I used my drill and the 5/8″ bit to drill holes for the dowels into the legs on center 1″ from the back and 1.5″ from the front.

A piece of painters tape wrapped around the bit helped me make sure all the holes were the same depth.Tip for Drilling Same Depth Holes Cheltenham Road

Next I drilled pilot holes in the sides of the “legs” and glued and screwed together the base (pilot holes are really key to keep the wood from splitting).

Tip: Make sure, when you screw it together that the dowel holes you have so carefully drilled are facing the same way on both sides…. otherwise you will feel like a total dope (just a warning I, of course, have never experienced this problem)

I decided to paint them but I didn’t want paint on the ends of the dowels where they would go into the holes (the fit was rather snug and the paint would have made it…snugger) so I taped those off ahead of time.Painting Dowels

After some drying time I was good to go (if by “going” I mean setting up a display in my backyard).Easy Display Stand for Craft Shows

I made several of these at once and the whole process took about an hour (not counting drying time for the paint).Tutorial for DIY Craft Show Display StandDIY Display Stands Cheltenham Road Craft Show Display

Best of all the dowels are can be removed so the everything stores flat and the dimensions can be varied to suit whatever it is you want to display.

So thank you Great Indoors for going out of business!  And thank you brain for waiting something like 3 years to get into gear!

Now if I can just figure out how to display the rest of my stuff………

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

10 responses »

  1. Don’t you just love those head slap moments when you figure something out and the solution is relatively simple? I always liken that realization to the moment when someone at the M&M factory uttered the words, “We can change the colors of the candy to correspond to the holidays” or when someone also figured out that changing the colors of the candy packaging could fit the holiday…simple, yet brilliant.

    Reply
  2. Shouldn’t you also be making some of these to sell as well? Painted up pretty to go with the wonderful items that you make? Just saying.

    Reply
    • I do occasionally think I should probably be in the display building business rather than the product building business. I wonder if people would buy these? Thanks Christ I will ponder it!

      Reply
  3. I feel so much better now. I have been doing shows this past year and so far I have changed my set up every show trying to get it to be right. Plus I am always on the lookout for better displays I can use/re-purpose at every thrift store I go to. Glad I am not the only one.

    Reply
  4. You made that look so easy. Thank you!

    Reply
  5. I love to read (stalk) your blog!! You have a great sense of humor and it comes through on your posts. I appreciate that you put your life out there for all of us to join in. Keep the post coming!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

