RSS Feed

Vintage Rolling Pin Bookends Tutorial

Rolling Pin Bookend TutorialIt’s me! Random Blogging Man!

I have a new tutorial over at Mod Podge Rocks that I wanted to share as well as a bit of rumination on the future of this blog.

But first the tutorial.

I’d been toying with this idea for a while as a way to make further use of all those wooden rolling pins I’d collected long ago.Vintage Rolling Pin Bookends Tutorial Cheltenham Road for Mod Podge RocksI’m wondering if it might be a viable product for the Cheltenham Road empire. They are fun and easy to make and the colors could be suited to pretty much any kitchen.Vintage Kitchen Rolling Pin Bookends Cheltenham Road for Mod Podge RocksAnyway, head on over to Mod Podge Rocks for the full tutorial if you’re so inclined.

And now on to ruminations.

I seem to have hit a blog-wall of late. I want to write because I thoroughly enjoy the little community that we have all created here but…..I don’ t have anything to say. Or at least I don’t think I have anything interesting to say.

You see, I like to make things and I like figuring out how to make things.  And I like sharing how I figured out how to make things.  When I go to stores and see something I like I seldom think “oh I want that.” I tend to think “I want to make that!”

When I started this business and this blog I had a great time coming up with new things to make, new pieces of furniture to attack etc. As the business moved more toward the coasters, blocks and signs I ended up spending all of my time making and remaking coasters, blocks and signs. It’s satisfying work and I’m very grateful for it but I get stuck in factory mode a lot and my “creative time” gets curbed…along with my enthusiasm.

But! Happiness is just on the horizon!

For the summer I have employed my home-from-college (Berkeley! thankyouverymuch) niece Olivia who has been terrific. I’m slowly finding myself able to turn some of the “factory” operation over to her and my mind is able to focus on some new ideas (and I seem to be an OK boss from all reports).

Also I just finished my last show for the season. As always the folks that run Patchwork did an amazing job of pulling it all together. My spot was ideal and the weather was beyond perfect. Patchwork Handmade Festival Santa AnaThe only flaw in the plan was that it took place last Sunday. Father’s Day. Oddly, it seems that a fair number of fathers when asked “what do you want to do on your special day?” did not respond “Go to a craft fair!!!!” so attendance as a little reduced from years past.

But that was my last one a for a bit and now I’m eager to get to new ideas and projects.  So bear with me please.  I will get back up to speed!

DavidHome Stories tutorials-tips-buttonThat-DIY-Party-link-party-button

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

18 responses »

  1. Warning: Long Reply!

    Hey don’t stress! This resonates with me, I’m in a similar spot. I love blogging, I love projects to blog about, but sometimes work & “factory mode” work totally takes over. I used to really stress out that I hadn’t posted in a while, but you know what? People will see your posts through their feeds & readers when you DO post, and they’ll read. I look at it this way, post when you want to vs. posting just for the sake of posting. Ya know?

    I always look forward to your posts & when they come in my inbox I always read. There are some blogs that post so much I don’t read each post, because seriously, I’m getting 1-2 updates a day, and that inbox doesn’t empty itself ya know? But when I see a post come through from someone who doesn’t post often, I’m way more inclined to read it – because it must be something good, since they don’t post often. Make sense?

    And on another note, things change. One thing leads to another. Focus shifts. You may have started the blog & business with one intention, but that doesn’t mean it would stay that way forever. Things change, and that’s good!

    Lastly, one thing I love to keep in mind, is Google. I had a friend who worked for Googy a ways back, and they had this thing called 20% time. You had your normal job, get it done, etc, but they required that 20% of your time was spent on something all your own. Any project you want, any idea. Use it however. Could be 20% a day, 20% a week… however you want to spend it. But that 20% time is what has brought so many new things to Google. All the little projects you wonder “how do they have time to make all these things?” It’s the 20% time, and it’s a great idea. I heard that’s how Gmail itself started 🙂

    Reply
  2. Chris (a minion from Minnesota)

    David, while I always look forward to your posts, I don’t expect you to post every day. Whenever you get the urge is fine with me and I am sure with your other fans. Love your sense of humor and I sure don’t want your blog to become another “job” that you have to do whether you feel like it or not.

    Reply
  3. Ive never replied before, but wanted to let you know I enjoy your posts.I have your blog in my favorites, so I dont miss a notification of a new post.
    Like others have said, certainly not expecting you to post on anyone’s schedule but yours, but when you do post I certainly enjoy reading. You make some wonderful items, very generous to share your methods , and you are a great storyteller. Just wanted to let you know there are some “lurking” fans (in a totally not creepy way ) 🙂

    Reply
  4. Ditto what others have already said. I admit I get a little thrill when I see a Cheltenham Road post because I know it will make me smile and more often than not, crack up & laugh out loud! I love to see what you have made and you inspire me to get off my behind and get one of my many ‘future projects’ going. As a fellow Ohioan, I say do what you can and post when you can…just please don’t stop altogether! I don’t get that many little thrills any more. Does that sound too needy?

    Reply
  5. Love the bookends. Lots of us out here love your ideas and your way of writing. I never miss one of your posts, but as the others say, don’t feel compelled to write one. That being said, I’m thinking that everyday you DO have something interesting to say!

    Reply
  6. Kimberly S. J.

    OMG, I love these! I definitely want to make them. And I’m a random blogger too 😉

    Reply
  7. adorable bookends.

    for the record, I never expected a daily soliloquy. it’s your blog, do what you want–we’ll be here! so create, vent, relax–no apology necessary.

    Reply
  8. I lurrrrrve these. Please tell me they’re for sale.

    Reply
  9. I don’t comment much but I do read your posts and enjoy every one. Those bookends definitely need to join the line of products you sell because they are too cute! I’m looking forward to whatever new ideas you share!

    Reply
  10. Absolutely ADORABLE! Pinning you to the Junker’s United pin board and sharing on my FB page! love, love, love it!

    Reply
  11. Hey, I just found you over at Thistlewood Farm. Your stuff is fantastic! Keep at it! Ditto to Angie . . . will PIN and FB this.

    Reply
  12. David, you are worth the wait!

    Always enjoy your posts, whenever they happen!

    Reply
  13. I love this! My mother decided I needed to collect vintage rolling pins several years ago so I have plenty of them. I also understand about hitting the blog wall. I think everyone hits that wall from time to time. Maybe your new “employee” will help with that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

