RSS Feed

Unique LA and Booth Design….and swearing

scattered marblesOh those marbles? they’re mine. I recently lost them.

I, um…. went a little crazy (even for me) in the build up to Unique LA.

But first,  I so appreciate all the comments and feedback about what Cheltenham Road is/means. I’m not sure I totally succeeded in transferring all that to the look of the booth but they really got my mind going and I do think it helped me step things up a notch.

As you know I wanted to make my space a like a little shop.  Now the thing with the Unique space is the floor is dotted (randomly it seems) with pillars. Pillars are important since they, you know, hold the building up but they are a total pain! Each time I’ve been messed up by random, unexpected pillar placement.

But this time I got smart! And sneaky!   I snuck into the building (ok, not “snuck” exactly… I walked in the front door and took the elevator up and got lucky cause the floor was open and no one was there but I felt very James Bondy).

The place wasn’t totally laid out but I knew exactly where my booth was. I had an awesome corner spot and, low and behold, there was a pillar! The booth would look like this:Booth Layout

So I measured and planned and came up with a design:The Plan

Tons of display space. Clear site lines.  Lots of  room to move around.  Smart use of pillar! Yay me!

On move in day I loaded up, got to the building, unloaded and proceeded to my spot to discover…..The Reality

What the hell?!  Who puts up walls to make a pillar be two feet in from the front and a foot and half away from the side?!!!!!

All my open air/lots of space plans kinda went out the window but it turned out OK (happily I’d brought supplies for auxiliary plans)Cheltenham Road Booth for Unique LA Spring 2014

Stupid PillarCraft Booth Display Cheltenham Road Unique LA 2014I had some good ideas that worked out – like using an Ikea closet system to create freestanding shelves:Cheltenham Road Tray Display Unique LA 2014

and some good ideas that….didn’t. Actually the whole build up was like some kind of Russian Nesting Doll of FAIL! I kept buying things and screwing it up and buying more things.

I’ll share the details later (Cheltenham Road where I make mistakes so you don’t have to!)Home Sign Display Cheltenham Road Unique LA

I was, however, really happy with these rotating display towers for my candle blocks. They were easy to make (lazy susan base, PVC pipes and plywood) and they come apart for easy transport.Turntable Display Chelteham Road Unique LA

DIY Product Display Towers for Cheltenham Road Unique LA Craft BoothSo, I’ll leave you with a picture my good friend Valerie took of me and my domain!Cheltenham Road Unique LA Spring Show

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

16 responses »

  1. Love it! Love the apple green! You rocked it!

    Reply
  2. It looks amazing! Like a little art shop, not like a craft booth AT ALL. Really! You must have a mean set of muscles to be hauling all of the display in and out, not to mention your collectively heavy wooden art pieces. Mission accomplished as far as the look you were going for. Hope this was a mega hit sale for you. Well done!

    Reply
  3. Dana Nichols

    It looks awesome! Great job with the stupid pillar!

    Reply
  4. I often read your blog (subscribe to it) but I don’t usually comment. Just wanted to say: have you ever considered making wooden cutouts of figures from antique postcards? One of my customers makes them and I’ve always wanted a few myself but I’m not a saw user:) The image (fairy child, toddler, clown, whatever from antique postcard) is glue onto wood and cut out. Then she places them on a little block with wheels. Just an idea!!:) Folks use them to decorate their fireplace mantels or curio cabinets, etc. Of course, I love all the lovelies you already create!

    Reply
  5. It all looks AMAZING!! But I can’t stop wondering how far I could fling candle blocks with one good spin.😉

    Reply
  6. The Cheltenham Road Shoppe looks perfect! I kept expecting to see a big jar full of candy cane sticks. 🙂 You have made soooooooo many items–they must have taken a long time to make. The displays look professional, without looking store-bought, and your outfit so matches the feel of the store. Are you sure you’re not from the ’40’s??

    Reply
  7. HOLY Candle Blocks, that is amazing! How did you make so much stuff??? You completely disguised that pillar and your place looks so inviting with all the colours and images. You rock David and look so smart and happy in your spot!

    Reply
  8. I was, indeed, in full factory mode. It’s amazing what you can accomplish when you wake up stressed out a 3:30 AM every day for a week!

    Reply
  9. Awesome, looks fantastic!

    Reply
  10. I can’t thank you enough for all these wonderful blog posts on displays. I’m all signed up for my first vintage market, and I’m relieved to have your site as a resource so I can just focus on getting my goods ready!

    Reply
    • How great! I wish you all the best for the show. And, as you prepare – if you’re making any of my stuff – don’t hesitate to ask if you have questions or something is unclear. Have a great show!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

