RSS Feed

The Cheltenham Road Story?

Floggings will continue

Counted Cross Stitch by Jealous Moon on ETSY

My morale hasn’t been down but I’ve definitely felt it….flagging? I’ve been busy but factory-mode busy.

Etsy has been slow but my wholesale accounts are stocking up for spring.  It has been great (really!) but  it has had me running around re-making what I’ve already made and I’m finding myself keen to get some new stuff going. However, ideas have been few and far between.

But! The there is no time to wait around for inspiration to strike! It’s time to get going and get going I must.

I’ve been accepted to Unique LA again for the spring show.Unique LA Spring Show

Before every show Sonja (the woman who invented Unique LA) has a vendor meeting where she goes over the rules and also manages a bit of inspiration.

This year her inspiration was to think about what your story is and how your booth can tell that story.

So I’m wondering both what Cheltenham Road’s story is and how do I translate that to my booth?

Now, I think we all know “my story” is that I smack my head into things a lot…….but that’s probably not the side I want to present to the general public.

And although my booth design has been improving over the years

Cheltenham Road Unique LA Booth Spring 2013CheltenhamRoad booth display towers for Unique LA Summer Show 2012Cheltenham Road Booth Unique LA

I think the story I’ve been telling with it is “I managed to make it here in one piece and here’s my stuff!”

So, as those of you who follow me on Pinterest have probably noticed, I’ve been pinning booth design ideas like crazy (because that’s so much for fun then actually doing it!).

The goal is to create a cohesive spot that looks like a little store and tells, or at least reflects, the Cheltenham Road Style/Story.

I also need a lot of new product.

I have two weeks.

So join me won’t you!  I’m planning to post projects as I finish them (this will also force me to actually do it rather than daydream about doing it) and I’ve found that all of you have great insights into things.  So please weigh in with thoughts and ideas.  I may not be able to incorporate all of them but anything that sparks an idea will be incredibly valuable!

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

10 responses »

  1. You make great items for people–you help them make a home. You make fun stuff, “out of the box,” and sometimes literally out of a box. 😉 Retro edge without being too kitschy-dated, but yet still fun! You’re fresh! Maybe even cheeky. On trend. You’ve honed your craft as you’ve grown. You know who you are and where you’re going.

    My guess is the items you create reflect your own personal style? I don’t “know” you like most of your followers. I saw you post on Angelo, saw that you have pieces in his store, and started following you, then bought from you. I live on the opposite coast, but yet the items you create work in my home–I’m probably not your typical customer. I’m a suburban SAHM-writer/copy editor/beta reader. (So excuse any grammatical errors, lol.)

    Be who you are–you’re already there!

    Denise

    Reply
    • Wow! Thanks Densie. I need you to come and be my publicist! I love the way you described my stuff. Now, if only I had any idea what a “SAHM-writer/copy editor/beta reader” was – but it sounds very grown up.

      Reply
      • Stay At-Home Mom, writer is obvious, copy editor–I read books in the “copy” stage, for an indie publisher, and edit mistakes pre-publishing; a beta reader is one who reads a book submitted to a publisher–it’s read for continuity, mistakes, fits the publishers requirements, etc… I give my opinion as to whether it’s worth buying. In other words, I read a lot–but now I get paid a little for doing it. Getting my foot in the door to sell my own book. My life’s dream. I also review books and post them online. And, I do a little bit of book promo for a couple of authors.

        Sounds much more glamorous than it actually is. 😉

        Denise

  2. You make such fantastic stuff and I lOVE your alphabet decoupage. Don’t feel low ~ you’ll be just fine.
    Naush from DUBAI

    Reply
  3. If allowed, build a little awning for your booth, to make it feel more like a country general store.

    Also, offer sets of eight coasters (four designs) with a tray to hold them, so that people can use them both functionally and as a display item. Just a thought…

    Reply
  4. Just piecing together what I’ve learned of you from your blog the last couple of years, I’ve seen a Midwest sense of economy and precision work alongside a nostalgia for yester-year that captures the beauty and grace of simpler times. You embody the American dream, leaving the corporate world and finding a way to sustain yourself while being true to your own values and interests. Creativity fueled the birth of America, and you are re-enacting that in your own life. There’s something noble and “right” about a man who even attempts to do that. You are an idealist, another foundational American characteristic, and you use the tools available to you to manufacture good times for others. When I bought the HOME sign, I was so homesick, and your gorgeous work of art gave me somewhere to focus on. I would look at the sign and smile wistfully at memories of the place I grew up and longed to return to. You created a tangible inspiration. 🙂 Hope that helps!

    Reply
  5. Jordan Quickel

    Uncle David,
    If you still have the blueprints of the houses that you made for the family of all the house you grew up in, I would blow the one up that is cheltenham Road house as a backdrop to the booth. A good conversation piece and the jumping off point to where the name came from.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

