RSS Feed

Tutorial: Pallet Wood Display Shelf

Tutorial - Turn a Pallet into a Display Shelf by Cheltenham RoadI’ve seen something like a billion pallet wood projects on the web and I was beginning to feel a bit left out when, happily,  the most expensive saw in the world came with its own pallet!

I was eager to use it but didn’t know what to make until I was cleaning some bookshelves  and decided my accidental vintage camera collection needed a  home.

Have you ever done that?  Accidentally started a collection?  I had no idea I collected cameras until I discovered I’d bought three of them.

So, burgeoning camera collection please meet pallet wood!Pallet Wood Shelf ProjectI’m not really good with advance planning so this project kind of “evolved” as I went – please bear with me as I improv my way toward a shelf.

First off I had to take the pallet apart.  I’d seen posts on Pinterest about “how to take apart a pallet” and thought disdainfully  “really?  We need a tutorial for that?”

I should have looked at them.  Those people  are not fooling around when they put those pallets together.

Once I got it pried apart I cut the wood  pieces down to 21” lengths reserving the remainder for the shelving.

It was at this point that I had the idea that it would look cool if I had a frame around the piece so I went digging and came up with the perfect size lengths  of wood (this is the point in other people’s tutorials where I begin to think “I’m so happy for you and your endless supply of perfect materials that you just have lying around.”  I do apologize for being that person but I really do produce a lot of random scrap wood)Tutorial Display Shelf made from an old palletI cut the ends of the frame wood at 45 degree angles and set about painting.

My plan was to paint it white – to contrast with the black cameras – but I did want a little distressing.

So I stained the edges of the wood, rubbed them with wax and then painted them white because…..that’s my move!

How to distress woodChicks dig it!

Once the paint had dried a quick sanding and voila! Semi-instant vintage wood!How To Make New Wood Look Old and Chippy Tutorial Cheltenham RoadI flipped all the pieces over and using my carpenters square to keep it, well, square, I attached them all together with a couple more pieces of scrap wood (sorry!).Simple DIY Reclaimed Pallet Wood Dislpay ShelfI attached the frame using my nail gun and some glue….and then patched the two corners where the frame didn’t quite meet.  Wood spackle for the cornersThe frame isn’t structural and thing was supposed to look rustic but there is a line between “rustic” and “dude can’t measure” and I didn’t want to make it quite so obvious that I have a permanent home in the latter camp.

I laid the shelving pieces out and maked their location – using my carpenter’s square to make sure they would be straight and level.Mark Front for Shelf Placement  I drilled pilot holes  and then screwed the shelves themselves in from the back.

And that’s all she wrote.Reused Pallate Wood Project ShelfI think it shows off the camera’s nicelyDIY Pallet Display Shelf

I’ve got a little space for new cameras …..and I’ll need some because, as I learned on Sesame Street …one of these things is not like the others……Pallet Wood Display Shelf Cheltenham RoadThatDIYPartybutton_zps5b45d013Home Storeis A 2 ZWAW_BUTTONbeyond the picket fence

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

22 responses »

  1. I love it! it’s so much nicer, and visually appealing, than the one I won from an ETSY shop.

    Reply
  2. So cool… yet again. Love the “dude can’t measure” comment! LOL

    Reply
  3. Id like to have like this one at home;) Wow!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  4. You never cease to amaze.

    Reply
  5. That turned out really nice. A perfect spot for your accidental collection. Keep up the great work and thanks for sharing with us.

    Reply
  6. When I read pallet shelf, I thought it was going to be a pallet hung on the wall. This is wonderful!!

    Reply
  7. Love this and sharing it on my facebook page. Thanks for linking up!

    Reply
  8. Its a great shelf…..
    Greetings from Germany
    Uwe

    Reply
  9. I do like your shelf! I have a friend who does not have the internet GASP! so I have to call her and read your posts to her. She loves your posts as much as I do. Thanks for the day brighteners!

    Reply
  10. I so so so love this!!! Awesome!

    Reply
  11. Stopping in to pin. Not only do I like the shelf, I love your choice of items to display on it.

    Reply
  12. Love the shelf–love the cameras!

    Reply
  13. Looks great! Pinning to the Junker United board 🙂

    Reply
  14. LOL at “dude can’t measure” – sadly, I relate, but I’m not a dude! Thanks so much for sharing at the Junker’s United Party – I’ll be sharing you on the Knick of Time FB page today and featuring you on Tuesday at the Vintage Inspiration party @ Knick of Time!

    Angie/Knick of Time/Junker’s United Team

    Reply
  15. This is REALLY awesome! Great work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

