RSS Feed

When Worlds Collide

In my performing life I have had plenty of Actor Nightmares where you suddenly discover you are onstage and have no idea what play you’re in or what your lines are.

Last night my acting life and my crafting life combined and I had an Actor/Crafter Nightmare.

In my dream I was at the first read through of a brand new series for Fox.  Except I had no idea what part I was playing and the page numbers on my script didn’t match the page numbers on everyone else’s scripts.  I couldn’t ask or I’d look like a total amateur fool.  But WORSE THAN THAT just next to my chair was a huge stack of candle blocks that I had made for some official Fox function and as I looked down the paper was peeling off of them.  So I spent the whole dream panicking about what role I was playing while alternatley trying to figure out if I could get the blocks home and fix them in time  without anyone noticing.

The only positive aspect of the whole affair was that the new show apparently starred John Hamm.  So at least I was about to be fired from a quality project. 

So I didn’t get a lot of sleep but did wake up raring to go (allbeit at 3AM).

I finished up some projects I’ve been working on.

A new coaster set that riffs on vintage Roller Skating Rink graphics

Vintage Roller Skate coaster Sets via Etsy

Vintage Roller Skate coaster Sets via Etsy

I don’t know if these will have wide appeal but I love the look of them.Etsy Coaster Set Vintage Roller RinkVintage Roller Skating Rink Coaster Set Cheltenham Road  Also, I’ve found that people often shop not for the graphics but for whatever city happens to be shown.  So, if any of you are from Columbus Nebraska have I got the coaster set for you!

I also made some revisions and refinings on my Detroit HOME sign.Detroit Wooden HOME sign Cheltenham Road

Vintage Detroit HOME sign Cheltenham RoadOK, I gotta take a nap.

Have a great weekend everyone.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

6 responses »

  1. Hate those panicky dreams. Here’s to fitfull sleep!

    However, those skate-themed coasters are dreamy.

    Reply
  2. Your dream is funny how you combined the two occupations!

    Reply
  3. Well I’m not from Columbus but I’ve been there as a kid. That’s where my Dads New Plymouth had a problem. The back door swung open as we went around corners. Always four kids packed in the back, I called DOOR!! Well around the corner we went, me hangin my head out the window, feeling mighty big shot of seven, when thankfully my older brother was a good brother, and pulled me back in as I started to fall out.
    Not long after that, Dad traded that car, he never ever liked it, for I believe a beautiful used Mercury station wagon!!
    So yes, I guess Columbus, Nebraska does bring back memories!! Forgot about that…as no one lives near there anymore. My brother? Still a good brother to have around !!

    Reply
    • sounds like you were “skating” on the edge of danger! (see what I did there?).
      I have those memories too of really unsafe car behavior in my childhood. Ah the good old days when no one worried about their kids flying out the door.

      Reply
      • “Ah the good old days when no one worried about their kids flying out the door.”
        BWAHAHAHAHAHA! Yep, miss those times.
        On long trips, my sister would stretch out on the back seat of our Buick and I would climb up into the rear window well and sleep there. Nobody died.

  4. I like the Atlanta GA skating coaster. These are pretty, and roller skating is so much better than ice skating. I may have to put these on my wish list.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

