RSS Feed

Once Every 100 Years

I’ve begun to think of Cheltenham Road as the Brigadoon of blogs.* It will pop up every now and again and if you’re lucky (or Gene Kelly) you’ll see it!

* (If you’re not up on your 1950s musical references, Brigadoon is a show about a magical Scottish village that, due to a curse, only appears for one day every 100 years.  There is a movie version with Gene Kelly.  In my formative, childhood years, there was only one music-playing device in our house and it was located in the living room.  My family loved musical theatre so while other kids were blasting, I don’t know, AC-DC, I was becoming fully conversant in The Music Man, The King and I, Camelot and an odd one called Tenderloin about prostitutes in turn-of-the-century San Francisco.  I and my sisters happily sang along even though we really didn’t understand what the lyric “hitting the streets again” implied till much later). soundtrack-brigadoon

 Of course, Brigadooning (it’s a word!) the blog isn’t my goal at all but I’ve been waylaid by both my own issues and computer issues.

 On the “I did it to myself” front I thought Jan/Feb would be slow so I totally tore apart the garage…you know, where I do all my work.  But I was wrong and it has been crazy busy with store orders and the garage has remained in the “worse before it gets better” phase for longer than I anticipated and I CANT FIND ANYTHING!!!!

 But, on the plus side, I also bought the world’s most expensive table saw.Saw Stop Table Saw

The Saw Stop has really astounding technology that will stop the blade if it senses, perhaps, your finger is about to be cut off.  Here’s a demo if you’re intrigued – it really is amazing.

It does cost a lot but I decided that, since I work by myself most of the time and am dealing with my own, um, uncoordinatedeness (it’s a word!) in combination with the potential of Zen: Cat Assassin popping up it was a very good investment.  As a bonus it would also relieve my father’s concerns about me ending up lying dead on the driveway.  So Win-Win.  But it has taken me a week to put it together.

its a pallet

image from Heritage Pallets.com

 Bonus!  It came on a pallet so I can make some pallety sort of thing……someday….as soon as I make the saw work……

 On the “not my fault” side my computer is toast. 

Not totally toast yet, more like really warm bread.  But, bottom line it ain’t gonna recover and I have to get a new one.  So, in the meantime it takes about 5 minutes to save a document or make a change and my internet connection is excitingly random.  The computer also refuses to “live in the moment” and keeps reverting to thinking it is August of 1994 which means it can’t connect with websites because, and this is the actual text from the Failure Screen, they “exist in the future.”  Which is kind of cool in a time-travel sort of way but also really annoying. 

So that’s me.  Look for a post tomorrow (internet connection willing) about my latest mod-podge-rocks project which will look familiar to you regular readers….familiar yet more mod-podgy.

Thanks for your patience.

I am not being compensated by Saw Stop for this post.  However, I’m REALLY open to the idea.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

11 responses »

  1. Congrats on the new Saw!

    Reply
  2. Daaaang, nice table saw! Lucky 😀 I do the same thing, I’ll post a bunch, then silence for a bit…. whatevs 🙂

    Reply
  3. Sounds like your computer needs a flux capacitor.

    Reply
  4. Can’t wait to see what you do with that fabulous saw!

    Reply
  5. NICE saw! I hope that you aren’t going to put it to the test by sticking your finger in it, though. And no using Zen’s tail as a stand-in (I knew that you would appreciate the acting term!) Zen does not want to be a Manx cat.

    Reply
  6. Very nice saw purchase. I used my mini table saw (read: job site) for the first time last week, nearly lost a finger because I don’t know what I’m doing, and decided to go online for some Youtube tutorials. I saw the SawStop in my research and thought that would have been the better buy. O well, who needs fingers anyway? Fortunately for you, a new laptop will cost next to nothing in comparison. Good luck!

    Reply
  7. Good call on letting SawStop know you are open to whoring out your blog for free gear. (Or, I guess that would be, letting your blog hit the streets again). I hope you get all kinds of goodies.

    Reply
  8. I thought I knew all the movie musicals. Tenderloin…never heard of it. That’s one to request to be on TCM.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

