RSS Feed

Christmas Is Kicking My Butt: 2013 Edition

Mine is a close and loving family but not a “chat on the phone” family.  I actually told my sister Phebe if she ever did call I’d probably panic as it could only mean some disaster had occurred.

Last Thursday I received this text:

 “I’m going to call you.  Nothing is wrong.  Love – Phe”

 She was calling because I hadn’t blogged in a long time and she was worried.

The next day my dad called (equally shocking).  Due to my lack of blog posts he had become worried that Zen: Cat Assassin had finally succeeded in making me jump into my table saw and that I had bled out on the driveway unnoticed by neighbors.

So, to my family:  I’m not dead!!! Happy Holidays!!!!

However, Chirstmas is Kicking My Butt!

When I wrote CiKMB last year I didn’t realize I was starting a holiday tradition.  But, apparently, like watching It’s a Wonderful Life or attending The Nutcracker, butt kicking is now part of my holidays.

It started about three weeks ago with the launch of Unique LA.  I had a great show.  I tried out some new designs and my booth locations  was perfect.Cheltenham Road Unique LA HOliday 2013

Custom Trays Cheltenham Road Unique LA 2013 Holiday ShowCandle Display Cheltenham Road Unique LA Booth 2013Now, while I assure you that I think very highly of the folks that run Unique LA  I’m also convinced they have a sign at the entrance that look something like this:The Management

Coasters I had made a ton of sat there while others that are seldom purchased were, apparently, the “Tickle Me Elmo” of the coaster world.

MISTAKES HAVE BEEN MADE

OK, if everyone has a superpower then mine is the dubious ability to misspell words in ways so subtle that the naked eye (or spell check) never notices.  And when I’m under pressure and trying to churn out a lot of product my powers truly kick in.  How else to explain a woman’s custom subway sign detailing her worldly travels and whose last line was to read: “Wanderlust”

The sign went through several drafts back and forth.  It was finally approved and produced and only when she got it from the store did she realize the bottom line read :OOPSWhich, as you can imagine was not, exactly, the inspirational message she was hoping for from her wall decor.

Naturally I took the sign back and fixed it.  I contemplated replacing the last line withALTERNATE 1

OrALTERNATE 2

But in the end just made the correction.

Good News, Bad News, Good News.

Good News.

I managed to make it through Unique LA without banging my head into anything or cutting off my thumb (again).

Bad News:

You should probably stock up on canned goods because me getting through holiday shows without some self inflicted disaster is a confirmed sign of pending apocalypse.Nostrodamus

Good News:

I did manage to smash my skull into the underside of a kitchen cabinet while emptying a dishwasher a few hours before my big, annual holiday dessert party so I may have bought us all some time!

You’re welcome!

Party!

Speaking of the party it went well.

I took horrible pictures as always but mom’s sugar cookies were a hitsanta in a box

along with caramel apple pie pops, mini grasshopper pies, cake pops, layer cookies, brownie shots and red velvet cupcakes in ice cream conesRed velvet cupcakesAnd now, happily, my kicked butt and I shall retire for a bit as I’ve made my last delivery,  sold out of almost everything and have no desire to make another coaster/candle block/sign for quite a while.

Happiest of Holidays to all of you!  And thank you so much for joining me in my adventures this last year.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

15 responses »

  1. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! Happy Crafting! Looking forward to more frequent posts in the new year. 😉

    Denise

    Reply
  2. Merry Christmas!! Read Luke 2!! I will too!

    Reply
  3. I was just thinking about you the other day and wondered if I’d somehow mistakenly became unsubscribed. And, then your blog arrived today and all was right with the world. By all means take some time for yourself. We’ll all be waiting when you’re ready. Have a wonderful Christmas.

    Reply
  4. I just KNEW you were busy! Wanderslut… that is unbelieveably the best misspelling ever!
    Enjoy the quiet time… Valentine’s Day is coming…

    Reply
  5. I guess I am not the only one wondering if you had, indeed, managed to cut off both hands with your table saw. Merry Christmas and a happy and prosperous new year!

    Reply
  6. I think Wanderslut is hilarious and personally would have kept it ‘as is’ just for the laugh every time I looked at it. Although if it was a gift I guess I’d have to have it corrected…wait, no, anyone I would buy it for would think it was hilarious too. Anyway, thanks for the laugh once again, and I’m really glad you are not maimed or dead or anything!. Hope you have the happiest of holidays and a fantastic new year!

    Reply
  7. I know several wandersluts; they are in my book group. What was the problem?

    Glad you are back. I too was wondering. Have a great Christmas, dear David.

    Reply
  8. That’s funny they call me all the time.😉
    Merry Christmas my friend.

    Reply
  9. Thanks for the laugh! Merry Christmas, David!

    Reply
  10. Glad I wasn’t trying to drink a cup of hot tea when I read this blogpost or Sally’s reply!!! I might have harmed myself!
    Thanks for the laughs and Happy Christmas to David and all his followers!
    Phebe

    Reply
  11. What a great post to end the year. Fortunately I had a tissue handy when I got to the part about the wanderslut. I couldn’t stop laughing. Merry Christmas to you, and wishing you a happy and prosperous New Year. ~Doreen

    Reply
  12. Giggles laughs and for some your signs are so fun

    Reply
  13. The only thing funnier than wanderslut???
    Sally’s comment☝️!
    Crying with laughter!😂
    Happy New Year!🎉

    Reply
  14. Read. Write. Mom!

    So great to see an update! I love your blog and looking at all of the pretty things you make.

    Reply
  15. So good to see you back, and with all your fingers attached. I shared “wanderslut” with my mom & dad–it was a hit. Cheers to a safe and profitable new year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

