RSS Feed

Tutorial: Drill Bit Storage and Gauge

Tutorial: Drill Bit Storage and Gauge

Drill Bit Storage and Gauge Tutorial Cheltenham RoadI am not good with numbers.  Really not good.

Anytime numbers come into play some part of my brain checks out.  It can be prices, measurements of weight, inventory numbers…addresses……birthdays….I will die one day because I’ve forgotten some key pin code I’m sure of it.

You get the picture.

I’ve muddled through but I meet my match when it comes to carpentry.

All the fractions just leave me in the dust.  I keep thinking if I just concentrated I could remember that 7/32nds was smaller than 15/64ths.  But those numbers just don’t mean anything to me.  I mean, it makes sense but I just short circuit when I look at them.

So, among other things, I’m always struggling with drill bits (mostly trying to find them as I tend to leave them scattered throughout the garage).  Figuring out which one is the best size for whatever screw I’m drilling or dowel I’m trying to use is always kind of a tedious guessing game.

So, when I saw this picture of a drill bit gauge and storage block  – ie, a way to both store your drill bits AND easily gauge which screws would go with what bits I had to make it for myself.  (the text at the link above doesn’t seem to have anything to do with the picture btw)

It is incredibly easy of course but also really useful whether you spend a lot of time drilling things like me or just want an easy way to save a little time when you work on smaller household projects.

I’m sure there is a commercially available version of this but honestly, it’s just scrap wood and the most time consuming part is switching out the drill bits.

Here is how I made mine.

Supplies1)      Scrap 2×4

2)      Drill bits

3)      Cordless drill

4)      Pencil

5)   Carpenters Square (if you want to be neat)

I started out by dividing my 2×4 into sections (just to make it easier to line up the bits)Mark the 2x4Then using the appropriate drill bit I put a hole in the topDrill Holes in the TopAnd a corresponding hole in the frontDrill the Holes in the FrontI kept going until I’d made spots for all the bits in my case.Easy Drill Bit StorageNow when I have a screw to use I can just keep trying it in the different sized holes until I find a good match.How to match a screw to a drill bitThe same with dowels or anything else.Drill Bit Guide and StorageIt’s already proven to be a big time and stress saver.

Now if I can just discipline myself to put the drill bits back in the proper place each time my plans for world domination will be back on course!

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

12 responses »

  1. I love the idea of the corresponding hole in front. I always have little odds and ends of screws and I have to kind of just eyeball them trying to figure out the right bit to use. I am definitely gonna make me one of these! Thanks, David!

    Reply
  2. Great idea! Im gonna try it as soon as I locate all my bits…lol.

    Reply
  3. I love things like this all out of proportion! Very ingenious. I have never seen a commercial bit storage with a screw gage too.

    Reply
  4. I love that and it looks like something Daddy would make and I mean that most sincerely in a complimentary way!

    Reply
  5. Not only does it look like something Daddy would do , but the numbers could have been written by him. Good idea and execution.

    Reply
  6. Hey this is so practical. A perfect gift for the guys on the list as we’ve given them drill, bits, and this would be handy. So clever. When my folks thought we did a great job they said,
    I give you A+!!!
    So I give you A+!!!

    Reply
  7. Oh I’m reading the posts. So maybe you could make a fortune on these at Christmas? And you know what? I agree with that other comment. I love the pencil marks. And I don’t think I’ve ever ever seen this anywhere but here. Thx again

    Reply
  8. I’m thinking this would be a perfect thing for my 10 year old to make for his Dad for Christmas while learning something too. BTW hubby loved the coasters I got from you for his birthday.

    Reply
  9. Thanks for sharing. Really simple and smart!

    Reply
  10. Love it, thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

