RSS Feed

That’s A Lot of Mod Podge

That’s A Lot of Mod Podge

I never call…..I never write……

I’m not a particularly chatty person.  I suck at parties actually because my small-talk skills are, um…..lacking.    I seem to have the same problem with blogging.  Although I talk to all of you pretty much all the time in my head (yay!  I’m back to having “imaginary” friends!!!  I told you they were real mom!)  unless I have something specific to report or share I get a bit blog-tied.

I’ve been toiling away on some new Christmassy and other sundry projects that I’ll share in the coming weeks.  And a lot of those projects will include Mod Podge because………

The other day I was emailing with Amy (Grand Poobah of Mod Podge Rocks) about some project ideas I wanted to do for her site.  Amy is great – always encouraging and positive and up for new ideas.  In the course of the conversation I volunteered that I was going to try to incorporate some of the newer  Mod Podge products into my tutorials.  (They’ve introduced a bunch of new stuff but I’ve been kind of sticking with my “mod podge stuff to wood”  style.)  I figured I’d just head to Michaels and pick up a couple of things.

A few days later this arrived.Its a Mod Podge Bonanza

It’s a Mod Podge bonanza!  Seriously – it’s like everything they make.

Every kind of Mod PodgeEvery kind of Mod Podge ProductApplicatorsMod Podge Applicators(That package on the bottom right is called a “Spouncer Set”…I seriously  have no idea what that is.)

Scrap book paperMod Podge Scrapbook Paper

Things to make, I think, charms out of?Mod Podge Products(if I start making charms AND flower holders I really won’t know who I am anymore)

Things that you melt!

It’s like the Creepy Crawlies of my childhood only I don’t think these will scare my sisters. (or given how some of my projects turn out maybe they will!)Mod Podge Melts

I actually couldn’t wait to explore some of it and immediately used some of them (not the Spouncers) for this Thanksgiving sign.  Festive Sign for ThanksgivingAmy will post the full tutorial shortly.

Meanwhile I’ll be over here talking to you all in my head.

 

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

23 responses »

  1. With each new modge podge post you do I keep expecting to see Alec stuck to a piece of wood you just had lying around😜.

    Sent from my own private Idaho

    >

    Reply
  2. You’ve hit the mother-load! Yay! Keep talking to your “imaginary” friends, I talk to mine too…hey we may even have some in common! 😉 Happy Podging!

    Reply
  3. I so need a friend like that! Amy if your looking I’ll take one of those awesome Mod Podge kits! I love the sign btw!

    Reply
  4. Wow. What a bonanza! My son had an imaginary friend called “Problems”. Problems was with us for a couple of years and when I realized that he was no longer around, I missed him. He’d keep my son out of trouble…according to my then 3 yr. old son. I applaud you and your imaginary friends. Looking forward to what you imagination produces with the Mod Podge.

    Reply
  5. I hope you used you 40% off coupons 😉

    Happy Crafting!

    Reply
  6. Darn, I thought I was a real blogging friend.

    Reply
  7. Eons ago, as a geography major putting on airs in the art dept at UCB, I entered a contest that involved creating things from myriad paper supplies, and for free, the entry in the contest included the delivery, to my apartment door, of a large box of paper supplies, corrugated papers, foils, pleats, oh, my! Seriously, that was 43 years ago and remnants still turn up in my efforts at thinning the stashes in my house!!

    You will have bits and pieces of this mode podge collection until you are sharing art supplies with your own grand kids!!!

    But I am intensely envious, as I just taught a class where the students made bowls using mode podge to form the shape on a mold from the dollar store. Good old plastic wrapped cheapie bowls and matte Modge Podge and papers and my specialty, fabrics. I want to create light fixtures next…..a la Murano glass!!!

    Enjoy your stash and happy blogging.

    Reply
  8. Hey spouncers are used for stencilling, usually… You use them to pounce lightly on the stencil surface. Think up and down motion, no dragging. Hope this helps solve your mystery!

    Reply
  9. I’ve seen all those Mod Podge variations at Michael’s and got confused too (still confused, honestly). I like the sign you made. Where did you get that saying? I’ve never heard it before.

    Reply
  10. I am SOOOOO jealous!!! Mod Podge is one of my all-time favorite products! I recently bought their large and small brush applicators, and they make such a difference! I’ve been making tons of my decoupage stone coasters for days now (for a Holiday Arts & Crafts Festival), and they are so much easier to make with these brushes. Have fun with that box o’goodies! 😀

    Reply
  11. Happy that you are back. Your minions missed you!

    Reply
  12. WOOT! I’m so glad it arrived! And that you are already having great fun with it 😀

    Reply
  13. Hey. You’re like an old pair of shoes. You get kind of pushed to the back but then I walk into World market and see letters covered in something and think, Oh that Cheshire Cat blogger’s are sooo much cooler than these and then the old shoe I is in the in box, just like ending up in the front of the shoes and you’re glad because he may not show up often, but its always worth reading, gives us advice and then turns around and makes excuses and then shows us a very nice project.
    Seriously, I’m very lucky Modge Podge chose YOU to send a sample to because I’m wanting to do some “stuff” and it used to be gloss or matte. But I’m needing that hard stuff for a bowl I’m going to try to make out of old jean strips. I guess I will spray it when it is dry with clear spray paint for I could see it disintegrate / melt on a humid day into a sticky pile. Then I see there’s one for photos. I need that too. Antiquing. Yup. Sounds like I could use that. You are a loud and clear Modge Podge spokesperson and you did not write a word!!! You took a picture. A picture paints a thousand words….hey!!! Wear a tee with a painting to your next social! The picture will do your small talk for you!!!!! Oh sometimes I’m just so brilliant. No wonder I was Dan Slanders Advice Column in the jr hi school paper 🙂

    Reply
    • Dear Dan Slanders:
      Actually there was t-shirt in the box! I will wear it next time.
      I’m intrigued by your jean project. I wonder if (and I’m not trying to be a salesman…I get no kickback here) if you could use the fabric Mod Podge and then seal it with the Hard Coat mod podge which would avoid the “sticky mess” issue.

      Reply
  14. I really need to correct you here. We are not ‘imaginary’ we are ‘invisible.’ 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

