RSS Feed

Super Size Me!

I’ve been in full production mode the past week trying to get really ready for the Abbott Kinney Festival which is this coming Saturday.   It’s a huge event and promises to be a lot of fun.

I took an ill-considered break from manufacturing on Saturday and turned on the NATGEO channel just in time for Predator Fest and spent the rest of the day watching Animal Snuff Videos Nature Documentaries.   My day devolved from productive and positive into bouts of yelling:

LEAVE THE EMU ALONE!!!!!

 and

 RUUUUNNNNN!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 But I had to get back to work because not only did I need to make back stock it seems to be the week of the giants.

You may recall I was working previously on a giant BEACH signPatterns for Large LettersIt was for a window display at one of my newer stores Mindful Nest in Santa MonicaVintage Wood Beach Sign Cheltenham RoadMy apologies for the poor picture – I have yet to figure out how to take pictures through glass….Large Letter Wood Beach Sign Cheltenham Road

In truth this is second one of these.  I made the first one but because it’s a ton of work I had to price it so high that I thought “no one will ever pay that much for this but it will look cool on my bathroom wall.”

I was wrong so it was on to giant BEACH sign part II.

Then the good folks at Angelo HOME sold another of the giant LA signs so I had to get on a replacement for that.Large Los Angeles Vintage Sign

And then a customer who had seen my Subway Signs asked if I could make her one that was 3 feet wide by 5 feet tall (they are usually 16” wide).

That’s a lot of sign.

It always seems with things like this that all you’d have to do it make all the measurements larger but it’s never that easy.

Thanks to From Gardners 2 Bergers  (a great site) I knew that Staples offered large black and white print outs called “Architectural Prints” for a reasonable price.Large Wooden Subway Art Sign Cheltenham Road

But I wasn’t prepared for the back of the sign warping when I cut it.  Not badly but enough to be unattractive.

But a good thing came out of it!

I ended up building a frame for the back out of scrap woodLarge Subway Art Sign Backer which not only corrected the warp but also brings the sign off the wall adding dimension and provides a way to hang it more easily.

I’m happy with the final result and I may make a few more for display in the future.Custom Subway Art Sign Cheltenham Road

If any of you are local this Friday is the grand opening of the CoOp’s new space.  It is beautiful!  Please do come by if you can.  CoOp 28 Opening PartyOr visit me at Abbott Kinney if you are more a west side, beachy kinda person.

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

10 responses »

  1. Love these I did a full vintage door one side house rules the other all holiday Christmas . Love your Beach

    Reply
  2. Absolutely LOVE your work! I’ve had the same thing happen before with the larger signs. Than you for sharing your solution!

    Reply
  3. LOVE the LA sign… especially how you used a fancier font, it’s perfect!

    Reply
  4. For once, a supersize that’s healthy:) Thanks for the tip about ‘architectural prints’ at Staples!

    Reply
  5. You are amazing!!! You have become a brand!!! I always love seeing what you are up to!! 🙂 And, I am LOVING the Long Beach street names, too!!

    Reply
  6. Whatever you charged for the 5-foot sign, it wasn’t enough.

    Reply
  7. Love! Still want to order some NOLA signs…I think they would be hot sellers. Or better yet: Who Dat. Ya know for our Saints…the football ones not religious. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

