RSS Feed

Busy Bee

You know what’s sad?

What’s sad is that my stated goal is to blog three times a week.  Just three.  I don’t think I’ve hit that goal in about 6 months.  (and we will not be discussing my gym-going goals……)

Thank you all for hanging in there with me through my sporadic-ness (is that a word?).  And thank you for all your comments and messages – I can’t tell you how much I enjoy them!

My latest excuse for sporadic-ness (it’s a word!) is that it has been good but busy here of late.

As I mentioned in a previous post, CoOp 28 expanded and asked for new designs.  So I came up with my Bathing Beauty Bud Vases along with the Writer’s Block Pencil/Pen holders.Writer's Block and Bud Vase Display

I got them all set up at the CoOp and…..

They sold out in the first weekend!

Awesome!

But I wasn’t quite expecting that so the scramble began to make more and come up with some more varieties.

So, keeping with the theme I played around and madeMusic themed pencil holderThe Music Writers BlockRecipe Block Cheltenham RoadThe Recipe Writers BlockScript Writer's Block by Cheltenham RoadThe Script Writers Block

And a few more.Bud Vases and Writers Blocks at CoOp 28 Los FelizAlso someone suggested that since the bud vases were actually test tubes I should have a science themed flower holder so behold the Periodic Table Flower Holder for the decorative-minded scientist (possibly an niche market, no?)Periodic Bud Vase Holder Cheltenham RoadAnd my initial idea for these was that the sides might look like the big, painted, faded signs on the sides of buildings.  I saw these cool, vintage signs for flour on Breida with A B’s blog (fun blog by the way).Vintage Flour SignAnd tried my own version.  It’s a good first attempt but I want to play around some more.Bud Vase Vintage Flour Sign

Vintage Sign Bud Vase Flower Holder Cheltenham RoadOnce again I got the table set up and……..Cheltenham Road at CoOp 28 DisplayAlmost everything sold out!

I think I may be on to something.

I also think I need to find a faster way to make these.

Happy Labor Day everyone! (I have the worst boss in the world.  Totally making me work).

David

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

15 responses »

  1. You should show that boss and go on strike, oh let’s say early next month.

    Reply
  2. Your designs are so inspired! I am in awe! Keep up you creativity and don’t worry that we will stop following you because that just won’t happen!

    Reply
  3. You are really on a roll! What a clever boy you are:) Don’t be so hard on yourself. Writing a blog daily or even three times a week is work. I only post my blog once a week and it seems to work fine for me. Of course, I’m not selling anything and that might make a difference. Regardless, it makes me smile when I see your email announcing a new blog come in.

    Reply
  4. Oh please, you could post once a month and I’d still be a huge fan!! Your creativity is amazing to watch and so inspiring!! The bud vases are fantastic and it’s not surprising they sold out so fast!! Sounds like it’s time for you to consider an assistant!!

    Reply
  5. Congrats on the success on your new designs. Blog when you can…your creativity and postings always make me smile.

    Reply
  6. Ditto. These blocks are unique and way better than grape trays Modge Podged with burnt edged posters of trees or wildlife…sigh…I asked. Mom barely remembered hers and said Wonder what happened to it? I replied, The garbage. I mean they were so well HUGE! All those dorms filled with burning posters trying to get the edges just right. What copy cats we were. Living at Fresno State with someone supplying us with endless grape trays for free. Sigh. These blocks? Much classier. No fire involved. Portable. Use for flowers, pens or just as a paper weight. I think they are so creative and I do believe they’ve already lasted longer than the Fresno State grape tray craze of ’74&’75!!! Best to you!!!

    Reply
  7. It’s grace under pressure, dear David–those are excellent. I love the way your single idea for something new leads to a whole family of good designs.

    Reply
  8. Awesome! Hadn’t noticed the timing of your blogs but 8 love reading them. These are great and there are endless themes once you start looking. Happy happy for you that they are selling so fast!

    Reply
  9. I love the writer’s blocks! Hi there! I just noticed that I got a few referrals from here today! Thanks! And I can’t believe that you did your own version of those signs! How cool is that??!!
    See you around!

    Reply
  10. Love the periodic table vase, you could always call it inspired by “Breaking Bad” (my favorite show)! Keep up the good ideas!

    Reply
  11. Fab as always. The people that blog everyday are not making anything. Creating something should come first… we’ll wait for the occasional update on your successes! Are you using standard 2 x 4s? I only sold one of my map ones… they are wider with two rows of holes, (I’ve also done plain ones), but seeing yours I think I’ll try something else on them instead of maps.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

