RSS Feed

Flowers! And Candles! And Mod Podge Rocks!

I’m waaaay into flowers. Yup. Flowers and candles. That’s me. Flower and candle guy. If you need me I’ll be over here…lighting flowers on fire arranging flowers and lighting candles.DIY Mother's Day CenterpieceShabby Chic French Flower Box TutorialSimple Block Bud Vase Cheltenham RoadBathing Beauties Candle Block SetOr not.

The odd thing is that, although I keep designing things for flowers and candles I myself do not really partake.

I mean, I’m not against flowers. They are lovely and I appreciate that but it would never occur to me to buy some to put in a room. Likewise although I have a fair number of candles I don’t think I purchased any of them and they’re all in pretty good shape because I don’t light them either.

I do use coasters! (just in case you’re starting to think I’m a total fake.)

Which brings me to my latest Mod Podge Rocks contribution.

The challenge was to troll the aisles at Home Depot and come up with a project using items found there. I came across these various sized drains. Drains for decorative Mod Podge ProjectSo I put them together and made:

A Cigar Humidor!

Ok, no, it’s a flower holder.Easy unique Flower Vase made with PVC Drains

Well, it didn’t start out as a flower holder. It started out as a cool lamp type thing (manly! ……in a decorative paper using sort of way) but I couldn’t take a picture of it.Tiered Table Light - Mod Podge Rocks Project

I tried!  But it just kept looking like I needed to turn the lights on.

(See, you put an electric tea-light under it and it casts all these cool shadows through the grates of the drain!)

So…flowers!

Actually, I do think it’s kind of a fun, versatile project.  You could rig it with a light and a cord and make a cool nightlight that would also look decorative just sitting on a table.  It could hold pens or paint brushes etc etc.

Or you could go all Royal Family on it, add a string and wear it as one of those teeny tiny hats they seem to favor.

Your call.

If you’re intrigued head on over to Mod Podge Rocks and check out the full tutorial.

 

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

6 responses »

  1. OOPS……your middle spool, drain thing has the paper flowers UPSIDE DOWN…….those are leaves and a stem pointing upward…..LOL! Next time call on “someone” to scope out your photo shoot……I happen to know of someone who would have been there in a “flash” (LOL), if you had only asked……probably just a male thing…….maybe a new trend-setting moment…..super tutorial, as always. Love the idea of the British Royal Family liking your Mod Podge suggestion…… so much that they ask you to deliver a case to Windsor Castle and show them what else you can do with this multi-use miracle product LOL!

    Reply
  2. very creative to use the “grate” of the spool as a flower frog–you are an upcycling dynamo!

    Reply
  3. Maybe the flowers are supposed to be dead flowers? My friends and I have a saying that Mod Podge rocks and you can “mod podge” rocks.

    Reply
  4. I think I’ll go with the hat 😉

    Reply
  5. Now who would go into Home Depot and find a drain to decorate? LOL, David you are the best and I look forward to each and every blog post!

    Reply
  6. I like the electric tea light idea…too bad that didn’t photo well, I’d like to have seen it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

