RSS Feed

New Stuff!

As you may recall CoOp 28 is one of the first stores that carried my wares.  Marci, the owner, has now taken over the space next door and is expanding yet again!   The new wing is really coming together and Marci set aside wall space for a unified display of my HOME signs (I’m making it now pics to follow) and another 6’ table to fill with Cheltenham Road creations.  The trick is she (understandably) wants new creations.

My sister Paula and I brainstormed on some ideas when I went home recently she thought of these bud flower holders.Simple Block Bud Vase Cheltenham Road

You know I’m crazy about my bathing beauties  Vintage Bathing Beauty Bud Vase Flower Holder Cheltenham Roadso I had to use them for the first sample.  But I have big plans for other panoramic photos and graphics.

Of course to make them look this good in the store I’ll need my friend Suzanne to come over and do the flower arranging as she did for this photo shoot!

 And this idea has been floating around my head ever since, according to her, I inspired my blog-friend Julie at  Follow Your Heart Woodworking to create these very cool map pencil holders.Follow Your Heart Woodworking Pencil Holders

 (you should checkout Julie’s blog – she does very, very cool work and gives great insights into the true art of woodworking)

I wanted to do something similar so here is the prototype pencil holder or desk organizer.Gifts for Writers Desk Organizer

I’ve covered it with famous quotes from great novels.  That way it can be aThe Writers Block Pen Holder Cheltenham Road

So  there are my brand new products!  Ok they are still blocks of wood with holes in them and stuff glued to the side but the old products only had one hole.  These have seven.  Seven!  See?  Writer's Block and Bud Vase Display

A totally new idea!

I’m sure my parents go to bed each night thinking “four years of college.  Two degrees.  And he glues stuff to wood.  Things have worked out exactly as we’d always dreamed!”

OK, now I have to go make about 30 more of these cause all this new stuff is due…..Wednesday!

Cheltenham Road:  Where He’s Always Panicking About Something

About cheltenhamroad

I’ve been surrounded by amazingly creative people my whole life. My mom can, and does, make anything. The family has on occasion speculated that she just whipped up my dad one day when she discovered some left over fabric and stuffing. My three sisters have mad skills ranging from needlework to cooking to out and out ART. My father’s desk when I was growing up had a model train set going around it, oh, and he made that desk-from scratch. I’m the youngest and, as you can imagine, it’s a hard series of acts to follow. Truth be told, I’ve spent many, many years suppressing the creative instincts I learned at home. But I realized (rather late in life) that few things bring me more joy than making and creating. For the longest time when I went to stores I didn’t think, “I want that” I thought, “I can make that.” And, with a deep breath and a leap, I’ve started on a very new, kinda scary path. I’ve given up my steady, dependable (dull!) corporate life to spend my days happily humming away in my garage designing, creating, painting, decoupaging and sawing and, since this blog will be an honest take on things, there is also a fair amount of tripping, spilling and swearing. Through this blog I hope to share with you the struggles and (hopefully) triumphs of a very non-businessy business person. I also hope to make this blog a resource for people who like to work with their hands and who are, like me, always looking at things and thinking “I could make that!” I’ve lived many places since I left Cheltenham Road; I currently live in Los Angeles California. So, with this preamble- Welcome to Cheltenham Road! Please come on over and make yourself comfortable – the place is always open.

9 responses »

  1. Love it!

    If you love what you do, and you make your way ($$$) doing what you love–then you have found your calling. Those four years in college weren’t wasted, they led you to where you are. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Awesome, love it! You’re just the bee’s knees, so creative!

    Reply
  3. Wow 210 holes to drill! Your parents will be proud. 🙂
    Got a new tool, Husband bought me a Kreg Jig for my birthday. Haven’t hurt myself with it yet!

    Reply
  4. What great creative ideas…especially the “Writer’s Block”. I love that, especially since I write. May just have to make myself one to jolt me out of that block.

    Reply
  5. Just when I think you can’t amaze me any more……voila! You come up with something like these.

    Reply
  6. You have the greatest ideas and make the best things ever. I’m thrilled you mentioned me and my blog! (P.S. Headed to Shaw Festival again this week, waiting for you to join us sometime!)

    Reply
  7. You and your two degrees. They’re still proud of you!!! Someone once said They can’t take your education from you. And it’s true! You write well. You’re funny. You’re creative and obviously have good family relationships!! Your degrees actually are helping you find a market that is popular and not made in China but by your hands yet not thousands of dollars to own. You market yourself well. You like your job. And personally, I do not think you’d be on this path without your education. Can you tell I was a teacher (who also holds two degrees but my injury makes even writing this hard yet I want to be an encouragement….for I am so not able to do much but maybe the teacher in me can still encourage and say, but ah ha! You DID get the answer right! It just took twenty years in the cooperate world to give you the financial savings to venture out to do this.

    Reply
  8. I love the Writer’s Block. That’s genius. 🙂 Now, if you can just figure out how to make a little slot for one of those tiny Very Useful Boxes…

    Reply
  9. David…one more question. Are you going to sell the “Writer’s Block” in your Etsy shop or will you be doing a tutorial on it? I’m curious as to the dimensions and would like to make one of my own…only if you’re not selling them:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

